Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,637 Members 40,070 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Samsung Kies "Device not Supported" error

Tip us?
 
AdamJC07
Old
#1  
AdamJC07's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 69
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: St. Pete, Florida
Exclamation [Q] Samsung Kies "Device not Supported" error

Hey guys. I have had my Captivate since the beginning of September. I downloaded Samsung KIES and was able to download the update back in Sept. I have checked periodicially for any updates, was able to sync contacts, and all that. Yesterday, I went to check for an update, and there was one available. After downloading the update, KIES could no longer recognize my phone. I shut down my computer and the phone. When I reconnected, KIES told me that the "device was not supported." I have redownloaded it several times, but to no avail. I am trying it again, using advice I found on another forum service, hoping it will work. However, has anyone else had this issue, or is this an issue that seems to be plaguing the new update? I thought I was downloading a new firmware update for the phone, however, It may have been a KIES update...
 
kegobeer
Old
#2  
kegobeer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 509
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Panama City Beach
What update did you install on your phone? Post your firmware, baseband, and kernel versions, along with the build number.

Also, this probably doesn't belong in the development section. You should post this in the general board.
 
AdamJC07
Old
#3  
AdamJC07's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 69
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: St. Pete, Florida
[Update] I downloaded KIES again (the newest version) and it still says my device is not supported. My computer recognizes the phone, just not KIES...Is it still possible to download an older version of KIES, because the issue seems to be the version of KIES, and not my phone...?
 
kegobeer
Old
#4  
kegobeer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 509
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Panama City Beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by kegobeer View Post
What update did you install on your phone? Post your firmware, baseband, and kernel versions, along with the build number.

Also, this probably doesn't belong in the development section. You should post this in the general board.
This info would really help...
 
AdamJC07
Old
#5  
AdamJC07's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 69
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: St. Pete, Florida
I didn't actually update my phone. KIES was downloading the update, and once the update was downloaded, my phone was not recognizable. I will move the forum to the general discussion and post the info there... Thanks!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App
T-Mobile Galaxy Note 3 Running Gummy
 
balishared
Old
(Last edited by balishared; 7th November 2010 at 09:01 PM.) Reason: typo
#6  
balishared's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 135
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: new york city!
i have the same problem on my i897. i m running latest cognition rom on mine that could be the issue?
 
Haitian
Old
#7  
Haitian's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 93
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Les Cayes, Haiti
I have the same issue with Kies. I downloaded an update for Kies and now Kies no longer sees my Captivate. My computer sees the Captivate no problem. I have been looking for an older version of Kies to go back to.
 
grigolla
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default Kies update issue

I had the same problem once my version of Kies updated last week. I tired everything, cleared user setting and cache, formated the INT SD card.

Did a ODIN one click restore to the original firmware and tried the above steps again... Nothing...

I had to uninstall the full version of Kies and go back to the MINI version of Kies, then all was fine...

I'm suspecting that they updated the full version of Kies to exclude certain versions of the Galaxy S (Captivate in my case)...
 
jth747
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2010
I had the same thing happen after I let Kies update, tried everything I could think of, it would not link to the phone. I uninstalled the new version and reinstalled the older version I first had, all is good again. I suspect it was a deliberate move, as Samsung now says the Captivate can only be updated with Kies mini.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App
 
nkrick
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 145
Posts: 810
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jth747 View Post
I suspect it was a deliberate move, as Samsung now says the Captivate can only be updated with Kies mini.
I concur, since AT&T has removed all native tethering and WiFi AP ability from the captivate, I think they pushed Samsung to remove captivate support from Kies. I don't have time to look around, but perhaps Kies has a config file that can be updated/changed to re-add captivate support.
current -
Device: Galaxy Nexus HSPA+ (takju)
ROM: stock

Device: Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9 wifi
ROM: stock, rooted with CWM

previous devices -
Device: Samsung Captivate i897
Hardware Revision: 1007
ROM: CM9
Radio: KG3

Device: HTC Fuze

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes