Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more
Post Reply

galaxy tab and a java applet =]

OP jvillejoe

8th November 2010, 11:36 PM   |  #1  
jvillejoe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag In the swamp!
Thanks Meter: 18
 
239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
does it run java or not?

can someone go on a java applet and tell me what it says?or does?

guess ill have to buy one and see...
Last edited by jvillejoe; 9th November 2010 at 12:50 AM.
9th November 2010, 01:08 AM   |  #2  
jvillejoe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag In the swamp!
Thanks Meter: 18
 
239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
will
be posting an update soon
29th December 2010, 11:35 PM   |  #3  
Member
Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 6
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Sorry to kick this one alive.

I was hoping I could run scottrades live ticker aplet on here. No luck so far.

Anyone know a way to run java aplet?

Thanks
20th February 2011, 03:10 PM   |  #4  
jvillejoe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag In the swamp!
Thanks Meter: 18
 
239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Yeah it doesn't support a java applets. Test it on my friends. I wonder if honeycomb supports it?

Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA App
20th February 2011, 06:13 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Mclean
Thanks Meter: 8
 
131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Investigated this myself -- despite android have 'some java' built in (i.e. dalvik VM) it does't have a VM capable of running a java applet.

One of the big missing things in Dalvik is the class libraries that are part of a normal JVM/JRE/JDK. In particular, it doesn't have awt, and/or swing (class libs used for UI type stuff).

So applets -- nope. Sometime? Maybe ... I think the OpenJDK guys have all the needed class libs making it JDK compatible but not having any proprietary encumberances. Maybe using this, there is a snowball's chance in hell that some enterprising organization or person, could attempt to cobble in some sort of support for more vanilla java stuff; maybe even including applets.

anybody have any other info on this?
21st February 2011, 10:57 AM   |  #6  
jvillejoe's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag In the swamp!
Thanks Meter: 18
 
239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fwelland

Investigated this myself -- despite android have 'some java' built in (i.e. dalvik VM) it does't have a VM capable of running a java applet.

One of the big missing things in Dalvik is the class libraries that are part of a normal JVM/JRE/JDK. In particular, it doesn't have awt, and/or swing (class libs used for UI type stuff).

So applets -- nope. Sometime? Maybe ... I think the OpenJDK guys have all the needed class libs making it JDK compatible but not having any proprietary encumberances. Maybe using this, there is a snowball's chance in hell that some enterprising organization or person, could attempt to cobble in some sort of support for more vanilla java stuff; maybe even including applets.

anybody have any other info on this?

Let us know thanks.
21st February 2011, 10:13 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 16
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by fwelland

anybody have any other info on this?

There is Java SE embedded for ARM which should provide JavaSE with all standard libs such as awt and swing.
Don't know if this runs on the Galaxy Tab though, did not try for myself.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes