5,598,011 Members 40,967 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Unlock driod 2 for sprint????

Tip us?
 
Nismo-b15
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default [Q] Unlock driod 2 for sprint????

hey just wondering if i could prehaphs unlock or reflash a droid 2 for sprint? i have an evo 4g getting board.... and kinda want a droid with a board thanks for your help
 
wecramer
Old
#2  
wecramer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 108
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nismo-b15 View Post
hey just wondering if i could prehaphs unlock or reflash a droid 2 for sprint? i have an evo 4g getting board.... and kinda want a droid with a board thanks for your help
Not sure you can do that since Verizon and Sprint have different types of networks. Maybe a Droid 2 Global?
Galaxy Nexus LTE
Galaxy S4 LTE
Nexus 7 (2012) wifi
 
Phoible
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 57
Join Date: Aug 2010
Verizon and Sprint actually do have the same type of network (they both use CDMA), but it would be next to impossible to get a phone from one network activated on the other. Unfortunately, it isn't like the SIM cards, where you can just unlock the phone and put in another carrier's SIM. From what I hear, Verizon won't activate an ESN (device identifier) that isn't from a device they have sold.

Not sure about Sprint, but I haven't heard of anyone successfully doing it in a LONG time.
 
brinox
Old
#4  
brinox's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 62
Join Date: Nov 2009
actually, they dont operate on different network types. sprint and verizon both definitely run on CDMA, and their phones can technically function on either network. the problem is that the IMEI's for each network are only valid on their respective network. If your IMEI is not on the particular network then it will not activate on that network.

the general rule of thumb with sprint and verizon phones: if it doesnt have the corresponding carrier branding on the phone in some fashion, then it will not activate on that particular network.

Also, carrier reps for both of these carriers will not add in your IMEI no matter how much money you say you will throw at them.
 
wecramer
Old
#5  
wecramer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 108
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoible View Post
Verizon and Sprint actually do have the same type of network (they both use CDMA), but it would be next to impossible to get a phone from one network activated on the other. Unfortunately, it isn't like the SIM cards, where you can just unlock the phone and put in another carrier's SIM. From what I hear, Verizon won't activate an ESN (device identifier) that isn't from a device they have sold.

Not sure about Sprint, but I haven't heard of anyone successfully doing it in a LONG time.
My apologies for being misinformed.
Galaxy Nexus LTE
Galaxy S4 LTE
Nexus 7 (2012) wifi
 
lintmail
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 28
Join Date: Sep 2010
I use to have a BB storm and once you "unlocked" it you could use it on other networks. I seem to recall a lively discussion on crackberry.com regarding which networks with which it would work. Now perhaps that's because the storm had CDMA/GSM capabilities, but I'm not sure.
 
Phoible
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 57
Join Date: Aug 2010
I had a Storm as well. When you unlocked it, you could get it to work on AT&T and T-Mobile, because it was a global phone with a SIM card. You couldn't get 3G on any of the US Carriers, since the 3G frequencies are different in the US and in the rest of the world (so the data would be confined to slow 2G rates).

I did see a rumor recently that T-Mobile eventually did something to lock US Storms out of their networks.
http://crackberry.com/t-mobile-killi...-storm-devices

If you get the Droid 2 Global, you should be able to unlock it and run it on AT&T or T-Mobile with a SIM card. You most likely won't be able to get 3G, though. Probably not worth it.

Hopefully, when Verizon switches to LTE some time in the next year, the phones will be compatible across carriers. From what I understand, Verizon, T-Mobile, and AT&T are all switching to LTE. It sounds like Sprint is investigating, and my guess is that they will go that direction (ditching WiMax in the long-term). However, I wouldn't put it past the carriers to lock other US devices out of their networks.

Regardless, this won't help much with getting a device to run on Sprint. I'm sure that there will be some more cool Android Devices coming out for Sprint in the future.
 
dan1431
Old
(Last edited by dan1431; 10th November 2010 at 10:03 PM.)
#8  
dan1431's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 187
Join Date: Nov 2006
A colleague of mine recently activated a DROID X on Sprint, but it was a hassle all around.

Programming the phone through QPST was annoying but doable, it was getting the phone's ESN added to the Sprint database that was a real hassle.

Eventually, my colleague had to work with somebody in Overland Park, KS. (Sprint's HQ) to get it done. After 11 phone calls to Sprint Customer Service (which were totally clueless), he finally sent a FedEx to Steve Elfman's office (President Network Operations) before anybody at Sprint was willing to even consider the addition. A few days after the Fedex was received, somebody from Mr. Elfman's office called my colleague back and worked with him to accomplish the addition.

After all is said and done, my colleague is happy that his DROID X is now on Sprint, but he has said a few times now that it really was not worth the effort that he had to put into it to get it accomplished.

Dan
 
theimpaler747
Old
#9  
theimpaler747's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2628
Posts: 21,289
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Ninth Circle of Dante's Inferno

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan1431 View Post
A colleague of mine recently activated a DROID X on Sprint, but it was a hassle all around.

Programming the phone through QPST was annoying but doable, it was getting the phone's ESN added to the Sprint database that was a real hassle.

Eventually, my colleague had to work with somebody in Overland Park, KS. (Sprint's HQ) to get it done. After 11 phone calls to Sprint Customer Service (which were totally clueless), he finally sent a FedEx to Steve Elfman's office (President Network Operations) before anybody at Sprint was willing to even consider the addition. A few days after the Fedex was received, somebody from Mr. Elfman's office called my colleague back and worked with him to accomplish the addition.

After all is said and done, my colleague is happy that his DROID X is now on Sprint, but he has said a few times now that it really was not worth the effort that he had to put into it to get it accomplished.

Dan
Hmm, interesting that it can be done though!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...