FORUMS

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more

Which IM Client on Android is best?

With so many different messengers to choose from, it can be tough to find the best one for you and … more

Android Factory Reset Security Flaw and More – XDA TV

Nvidia is releasing a 500Gb SHIELD TV Pro! That and much more news is … more

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

DOSBox running perfectly on Vibrant!

9th November 2010, 08:15 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More


It's running inside my old Debian chroot I've migrated from my old Mytouch 3G and Cliq.

It uses a VNC server with geometry 800x480, TWM window manager, and DOSBOX with a config file disabling scancodes, scaler=none, and all audio disabled.

Runs quite well. I haven't tried anything particularly demanding yet, but Moraff's Revenge, some old SSI gold box games, and various Ultima games play just fine.

The Swype keyboard is a GODSEND for emulation on this device. the cursor key input mode is PERFECT for MS-DOS games.
 
 
9th November 2010, 08:37 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Frostburg MD
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
That's awesome. Haven't touched linux in Android since I played around with it back on my G1. Any tutorials you'd recommend?
10th November 2010, 11:28 PM |#3  
Member
Flag Caerwys
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
If any X-Com or UFO games run nicely, I will never get anything done ever again. Officially.
11th November 2010, 01:00 AM |#4  
Anderdroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palo Alto
Thanks Meter: 106
 
Donate to Me
More
Can you post the source for this?
11th November 2010, 02:56 AM |#5  
om4's Avatar
Senior Member
In recovery waiting to be flashed
Thanks Meter: 910
 
Donate to Me
More
i doubt it would run and if it did, probably not very well but i saw dosbox and suddenly thought about m.u.g.e.n. it ran on dos back in the day, i remember wasting countless hour setting up mugen with various characters and such
11th November 2010, 03:58 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Sorry everyone, forgot about this thread.



An update: The mouse is seriously messed up; any game that relies on mouse input is basically unusable. Not sure if there's a work around for it. It's also fairly slow, but that's not all that surprising considering this is a cellphone.

I'll try to type up a decent how-to this afternoon.

Games I've run:

Dungeon Master
Ultima Underworld
Ultima 0 - 5
Legacy of the Ancients
Just about all of the SSI gold box games
Telengard
Last edited by keenerb; 11th November 2010 at 04:00 PM.
22nd January 2011, 11:35 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag Timisoara
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi, great job, but please post the how-to...thankyou!

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
22nd January 2011, 03:35 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mugur24

Hi, great job, but please post the how-to...thankyou!

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App

Yes Please! I have an old DOS calculator that's critical for my job, I'd love to be able to run it on my Vibrant and Tab. Then I could finally get rid of the old XP laptop I have to hang on to JUST for this 1 program. (Can't get it to run on my Win7 machines).
23rd January 2011, 04:25 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
More
Wich keys do you use for ctrl and alt?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes