Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

DOSBox running perfectly on Vibrant!

OP keenerb

9th November 2010, 09:15 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008


It's running inside my old Debian chroot I've migrated from my old Mytouch 3G and Cliq.

It uses a VNC server with geometry 800x480, TWM window manager, and DOSBOX with a config file disabling scancodes, scaler=none, and all audio disabled.

Runs quite well. I haven't tried anything particularly demanding yet, but Moraff's Revenge, some old SSI gold box games, and various Ultima games play just fine.

The Swype keyboard is a GODSEND for emulation on this device. the cursor key input mode is PERFECT for MS-DOS games.
9th November 2010, 09:37 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Frostburg MD
Thanks Meter: 5
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
That's awesome. Haven't touched linux in Android since I played around with it back on my G1. Any tutorials you'd recommend?
11th November 2010, 12:28 AM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Caerwys
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
If any X-Com or UFO games run nicely, I will never get anything done ever again. Officially.
11th November 2010, 02:00 AM   |  #4  
Anderdroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Palo Alto
Thanks Meter: 105
 
1,198 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Can you post the source for this?
11th November 2010, 03:56 AM   |  #5  
om4's Avatar
Senior Member
In recovery waiting to be flashed
Thanks Meter: 909
 
2,537 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
i doubt it would run and if it did, probably not very well but i saw dosbox and suddenly thought about m.u.g.e.n. it ran on dos back in the day, i remember wasting countless hour setting up mugen with various characters and such
11th November 2010, 04:58 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Sorry everyone, forgot about this thread.



An update: The mouse is seriously messed up; any game that relies on mouse input is basically unusable. Not sure if there's a work around for it. It's also fairly slow, but that's not all that surprising considering this is a cellphone.

I'll try to type up a decent how-to this afternoon.

Games I've run:

Dungeon Master
Ultima Underworld
Ultima 0 - 5
Legacy of the Ancients
Just about all of the SSI gold box games
Telengard
Last edited by keenerb; 11th November 2010 at 05:00 PM.
22nd January 2011, 12:35 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Timisoara
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Hi, great job, but please post the how-to...thankyou!

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
22nd January 2011, 04:35 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mugur24

Hi, great job, but please post the how-to...thankyou!

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App

Yes Please! I have an old DOS calculator that's critical for my job, I'd love to be able to run it on my Vibrant and Tab. Then I could finally get rid of the old XP laptop I have to hang on to JUST for this 1 program. (Can't get it to run on my Win7 machines).
23rd January 2011, 05:25 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
735 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Wich keys do you use for ctrl and alt?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes