Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,461 Members 47,150 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

DOSBox running perfectly on Vibrant!

Tip us?
 
keenerb
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 205
Join Date: Jan 2008
Default DOSBox running perfectly on Vibrant!



It's running inside my old Debian chroot I've migrated from my old Mytouch 3G and Cliq.

It uses a VNC server with geometry 800x480, TWM window manager, and DOSBOX with a config file disabling scancodes, scaler=none, and all audio disabled.

Runs quite well. I haven't tried anything particularly demanding yet, but Moraff's Revenge, some old SSI gold box games, and various Ultima games play just fine.

The Swype keyboard is a GODSEND for emulation on this device. the cursor key input mode is PERFECT for MS-DOS games.
 
Saiboogu
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 305
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Frostburg MD
That's awesome. Haven't touched linux in Android since I played around with it back on my G1. Any tutorials you'd recommend?
Phone - Vibrant with CM7 Nightly
Tablet - TF101 with ARHD 2.1.0
 
Skiddywinks
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Caerwys
If any X-Com or UFO games run nicely, I will never get anything done ever again. Officially.
 
Anderdroid
Old
#4  
Anderdroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 1,198
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Palo Alto

 
DONATE TO ME
Can you post the source for this?
AppLovin Android Developer
Developer of quake3droid



Follow me on Twitter !
http://twitter.com/LeakedDave
 
om4
Old
#5  
om4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 908
Posts: 2,531
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In recovery waiting to be flashed

 
DONATE TO ME
i doubt it would run and if it did, probably not very well but i saw dosbox and suddenly thought about m.u.g.e.n. it ran on dos back in the day, i remember wasting countless hour setting up mugen with various characters and such
 
keenerb
Old
(Last edited by keenerb; 11th November 2010 at 04:00 PM.)
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 205
Join Date: Jan 2008
Sorry everyone, forgot about this thread.



An update: The mouse is seriously messed up; any game that relies on mouse input is basically unusable. Not sure if there's a work around for it. It's also fairly slow, but that's not all that surprising considering this is a cellphone.

I'll try to type up a decent how-to this afternoon.

Games I've run:

Dungeon Master
Ultima Underworld
Ultima 0 - 5
Legacy of the Ancients
Just about all of the SSI gold box games
Telengard
 
mugur24
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Timisoara
Hi, great job, but please post the how-to...thankyou!

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
 
RockHead
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 60
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mugur24 View Post
Hi, great job, but please post the how-to...thankyou!

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
Yes Please! I have an old DOS calculator that's critical for my job, I'd love to be able to run it on my Vibrant and Tab. Then I could finally get rid of the old XP laptop I have to hang on to JUST for this 1 program. (Can't get it to run on my Win7 machines).
 
Humpie
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 699
Join Date: Dec 2010
Wich keys do you use for ctrl and alt?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Get Your Special xda:devcon ’14 Hotel And Conference Rate While It Lasts

By now you’ve definitely heard about XDA’s … more

Google Chromecast Rootable Once Again!

Over the six months, theGoogle Chromecasthas gained a considerable amount of official functionality. … more

YAATA isn’t Just Another Android Texting App

Although our mobile devices today are capable of executingnearly every task we normally … more

MacroDroid Update Brings Android Wear Automation

A few months ago, we talked about MacroDroid. For those who don’t remember, MacroDroid … more