How to Fix the Nexus Available Storage Bug – XDA TV

Is your Nexus device only showing half of the available storage as it should? Many … more

Don’t Forget About Birthdays with Birthday Reminder

A person’s birthday is, without a doubt,one of the most important days in his … more

Don’t Fear Flashing with I Don’t Want You!

The XDA message boards are full of various modifications, with many of these helping … more

Quo Vadis, Open {Source, Standards, World}? w/ Jan Wildeboer – XDA:DevCon 2014

Open Source was a big topic at this years XDA:DevCon … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

MT4G now has full root!

OP PolishDude

9th November 2010, 09:23 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Miami Beach, FL
Thanks Meter: 23
 
614 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Check out the development section

link
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=834225
9th November 2010, 09:44 PM   |  #2  
Jeffmeister's Avatar
Senior Member
Laredo, TX
Thanks Meter: 13
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Awesome, I will wait till the root process is safer and easier and rom's are available. Since I don't mind the current expresso 2.2 and have no need for rooted apps at the moment.
9th November 2010, 09:59 PM   |  #3  
2Noob4U's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pueblo, CO
Thanks Meter: 13
 
184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
This is great news. I'm with Jeff on this one. I'm going to wait awhile until the dust settles and we get some good Vanilla ROM's cooked up.

I just bought the phone last night and wow is it loaded with bloatware... It's night and day faster than my Mytouch 3G rooted and running Fasttest w/ the RAM hack.
9th November 2010, 10:04 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Miami Beach, FL
Thanks Meter: 23
 
614 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
i have two left hands when it comes to this stuff and was able to do it in a couple minutes with roots explorer and a terminal emulator on my phone, its really easy...works perfect
9th November 2010, 10:09 PM   |  #5  
Jeffmeister's Avatar
Senior Member
Laredo, TX
Thanks Meter: 13
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Noob4U

This is great news. I'm with Jeff on this one. I'm going to wait awhile until the dust settles and we get some good Vanilla ROM's cooked up.

I just bought the phone last night and wow is it loaded with bloatware... It's night and day faster than my Mytouch 3G rooted and running Fasttest w/ the RAM hack.

What ram hack are you talking about?
9th November 2010, 10:13 PM   |  #6  
Phateless's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oakland
Thanks Meter: 447
 
4,740 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffmeister

What ram hack are you talking about?

Donut ROMs for MT3G have a "ram hack" available that moves about 10mb of ram away from graphics and makes it available for system memory.

Great news for those like me who only use their phone for productivity, but bad news for gamers.
9th November 2010, 10:25 PM   |  #7  
2Noob4U's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pueblo, CO
Thanks Meter: 13
 
184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Agreed. Sorry about the confusion.
9th November 2010, 10:27 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffmeister

Awesome, I will wait till the root process is safer and easier and rom's are available. Since I don't mind the current expresso 2.2 and have no need for rooted apps at the moment.

It literally took me 3 minutes to root the phone and everything is working great. No shame in waiting but I really don't think you have too much to worry about.
9th November 2010, 10:29 PM   |  #9  
HeavyComponent's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 10
 
1,614 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Nice! That was fast cuz the phone just came out.

myTouch4G (Glacier)
9th November 2010, 11:49 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyComponent

Nice! That was fast cuz the phone just came out.

myTouch4G (Glacier)

I think we have similarities between the G2 and the MT4G to thank for that

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes