Post Reply

[RECOVERY] ClockworkMod Recovery for G2

OP Koush

10th November 2010, 05:37 AM   |  #1  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 894
 
917 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Installation instructions:
  1. YOUR PHONE MUST ALREADY BE S-OFF. SEE THE OTHER THREADS IN THIS FORUM ON HOW TO DO THAT.
  2. I recommend getting on Wi-Fi.
  3. Download ROM Manager from the Market. You MUST have at least 2.5.0.6.
  4. Flash Recovery.
  5. Choose G2 as your phone.
  6. Accept the Superuser prompt.
  7. Use ROM Manager to create a Backup.
  8. Watch the backup go!

That's it! This is completely painless and safe!

If you appreciate my work, please buy the Premium version of ROM Manager!

If you can't seem to get ROM Manager off the market, you can get it from my homepage:
http://www.koushikdutta.com/2010/02/...ery-image.html
http://koush.tandtgaming.com//recoveries/RomManager.apk

Or to manually install the recovery via fastboot, use this:
http://koush.tandtgaming.com/recover...1.2-vision.img
Last edited by Koush; 10th November 2010 at 05:30 PM.
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to Koush For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th November 2010, 05:39 AM   |  #2  
blk_jack's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 4,011
 
2,061 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Great work!! Would this happen to work on the Desire Z as well?
10th November 2010, 05:45 AM   |  #3  
Dalamak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Newark
Thanks Meter: 8
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Got the premium key off the market, but it doesnt list g2 in device selection

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using XDA App
10th November 2010, 06:02 AM   |  #4  
gravis86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kirkland, WA
Thanks Meter: 149
 
1,118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dalamak

Got the premium key off the market, but it doesnt list g2 in device selection

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using XDA App

I'm not seeing the G2 as an option, either

EDIT: I enabled "Advanced Mode" in settings and rebooted, G2 now shows up. Thanks, Koush!
Last edited by gravis86; 10th November 2010 at 06:07 AM.
10th November 2010, 06:05 AM   |  #5  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 894
 
917 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Get on wifi if you don't see it.
10th November 2010, 06:09 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Purchased, keep up the good work.
10th November 2010, 06:11 AM   |  #7  
John5788's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
instructions for fastboot method?
10th November 2010, 06:18 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I keep getting an error message "can't open cache\recovery\command" upon reboot when I try to create a backup. Any ideas?
10th November 2010, 06:20 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by John5788

instructions for fastboot method?

fastboot flash recovery recovery-clockwork-2.5.1.2-vision.img
10th November 2010, 06:21 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Same problem as yayitzben... Any suggestions?

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using XDA App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G2 and Desire Z Android Development by ThreadRank