Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] my phone doesn't see either of my sd cards using 2.2

OP iflyabeech

10th November 2010, 10:25 PM   |  #11  
iflyabeech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corpus Christi, Texas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wirelessmodz

i thought i had this issue last nite what i did was turn off usb debug then checked ask on connection in the usb setting and let it reboot and waited for it to reread everything then it was fine

I did all this just for fun and its still the same! The phone says there are no sd cards inserted!
The computer still will not recognize it either!
10th November 2010, 10:29 PM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 144
 
1,422 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
I flashed the r10 rom and did a factory restore while still in recovery. No problems since then.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
10th November 2010, 10:29 PM   |  #13  
ELStiko's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iflyabeech

Thanks.. I did see that, and tried it, but it doesn't work still..I made this post after flashing that ROM with the sd card supposedly fixed. I can't use anything that uses the sd card on this ROM that claims the fix or any other 2.2 rom. I would like to run obsidian...

There is a separate SD fix, but that was included with the new rom apparently. I have seen posts that those who pushed that fix had it work.
10th November 2010, 10:30 PM   |  #14  
iflyabeech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corpus Christi, Texas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
If I go to settings>sd card and phone settings

both the sd card storage and the phone storage say unavailable!
10th November 2010, 10:49 PM   |  #15  
iynfynity's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 195
 
3,613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
this only happens when you are using 2.2 right?
10th November 2010, 10:54 PM   |  #16  
iflyabeech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corpus Christi, Texas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
yes.. its only on 2.2 roms.. and every one of them I have tried.. when I flash back to 2.1 it works great.. I am guessing its some sort of kernel issue...
10th November 2010, 11:01 PM   |  #17  
iflyabeech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corpus Christi, Texas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
I did get it rebooted into clockwork and wiped pretty much everything but the sdcard...did not do any good.. also tried moutning the sd card from clockwork with 2.2 installed...the sdcards did show up on the computer, but when clicking on them it said "Please insert a disk into this drive"
10th November 2010, 11:34 PM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Flag dallas
Thanks Meter: 173
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iflyabeech

I have searched and I can't find an answer..

I have installed virtually all of the current 2.2 ROMS and I cannot get any of them to recognize my sd cards...I have odined back to stock, and flashed over and over and every time, the phone will say "no sd card inserted" IT even did the same thing when trying to mount the sd cards through clockwork recovery with the OS not even booted up...

When I flash a 2.1 ROM back to the phone, it behaves perfectly and reads both SD cards normally. Any one else have this problem or know of a fix?

i have researched this for 3 days straight and have found a solution, their is no fix

1.) if you remove your sd card and reboot the phone with it not in there, your internal memory will mount just fine.
2.) so that made me think it was something wrong with my external card, so i went and bought another one, samsung branded, 8 gig class2 card, and what do you know, it mounted just fine.
3.) i did found out that when i flashed back to 2.1 it would see my old sd card, but when i upgraded to 2.2 it wont.

its like 2.2 does not like certain branded sd cards, the one that wouldnt work on 2.2 was made by A-Data
10th November 2010, 11:50 PM   |  #19  
iflyabeech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corpus Christi, Texas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djkdawg

i have researched this for 3 days straight and have found a solution, their is no fix

1.) if you remove your sd card and reboot the phone with it not in there, your internal memory will mount just fine.
2.) so that made me think it was something wrong with my external card, so i went and bought another one, samsung branded, 8 gig class2 card, and what do you know, it mounted just fine.
3.) i did found out that when i flashed back to 2.1 it would see my old sd card, but when i upgraded to 2.2 it wont.

its like 2.2 does not like certain branded sd cards, the one that wouldnt work on 2.2 was made by A-Data

Interesting.. Thank you! I am rebooting without the sdcard now and sure enough the internal card is showing upQ@

Mine is an 8gb class 6 card.. not sure what brand... I am going to format the sd card and see if that helps!
11th November 2010, 12:15 AM   |  #20  
iflyabeech's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corpus Christi, Texas
Thanks Meter: 3
 
281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
that was it.. I put my 2gb card in and it worked great.. the 8gb card worked great before, but apparently was not compatable with 2.2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes