Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,742 Members 37,609 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[RADIO] Update to OTA radio 26.03.02.26_M

Tip us?
 
reukiodo
Old
(Last edited by reukiodo; 11th November 2010 at 08:57 PM.) Reason: update, elaborate, correction
#1  
reukiodo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 144
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tacoma, WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Arrow [RADIO] Update to OTA radio 26.03.02.26_M

!!! ANY RADIO UPDATE COULD BRICK YOUR PHONE !!!
You have been warned

Info:
If you haven't updated to OTA (or can't because you deleted the faulty Google Googles) but still want the updated radio, you can apply the firmware.zip found in the latest OTA.

Setup:
  1. Download and open the OTA (e4aaacea73af.OTA_Vision_TMUS_1.22.531.8-1.1.19.531.1_release_signed.zip)
  2. Extract the 'firmware.zip' file out (to your desktop or some folder)
  3. Rename the 'firmware.zip' file you extracted to 'PC10IMG.zip'
  4. Copy (or move) PC10IMG.zip to the root of your G2 microSD card
  5. Charge your G2 to FULL battery

Flash:
  1. Power off your G2
  2. Plug your G2 into AC power
  3. Boot into the G2 bootloader by holding VOL_DOWN and press POWER, continuing to hold VOL_DOWN until the bootloader screen appears
  4. Wait while it checks the PC10IMG.zip file
  5. Press VOL_UP to flash
  6. WAIT
  7. Press POWER to reboot (it actually turned my G2 off, and I had to turn it back on)

Result:
You will have the OTA radio without updating to OTA. Since the OTA didn't update the bootloader (SPL/HBOOT), you will still have S-OFF if you applied it before. You will need to re-flash a custom recovery if you had one before, as well as reapply Cyanogen's bacon-bits if you had applied this before.

Notes:
I lost WiFi when rebooting into Android. I used RomManager to reflash ClockworkMod recovery, then rebooted into recovery to reflash Cyanogen's bacon-bits. This restored my WiFi.

Reference:
OTA - T-Mobile nationwide OTA UPDATE
S-OFF - [GUIDE] Perma-root and S-OFF!!
ClockworkMod recovery - [RECOVERY] ClockworkMod Recovery for G2
Bacon Bits - [ADDON] Vision BaconBits
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20101111_001356.jpg
Views:	704
Size:	96.0 KB
ID:	438758   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20101111_001411.jpg
Views:	590
Size:	97.8 KB
ID:	438759   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20101111_002056.jpg
Views:	602
Size:	99.6 KB
ID:	438760   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20101111_002207.jpg
Views:	640
Size:	109.1 KB
ID:	438761  
 
Sv3nt3k
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 89
Join Date: Oct 2010
Oh, the irony! I couldn't update the OTA because of Google Goggles being uninstalled. Prior to that, I backed up my phone through Clockworks Recovery, so I applied that (which had Goggles installed), did the OTA update, and then went through re-rooting my phone.

I wish this was posted sooner but oh well. I've got OTA installed after a pre-OTA root and re-rooted it.
 
scribbin
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2010
Thank you for this!

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using XDA App
 
scribbin
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2010
I did everything as instructed, but still couldn't get the ota to work. I have pre ota root and clockworkmod recovery... could the recovery be interfering with it? Been trying to get stock recovery with no luck. I still have the old radio. Pc10img.zip is recognized, but after it says parsing it, just returns to the menu of the hboot... what am I doing wrong?
 
reukiodo
Old
#5  
reukiodo's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 144
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tacoma, WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by scribbin View Post
I did everything as instructed, but still couldn't get the ota to work. I have pre ota root and clockworkmod recovery... could the recovery be interfering with it? Been trying to get stock recovery with no luck. I still have the old radio. Pc10img.zip is recognized, but after it says parsing it, just returns to the menu of the hboot... what am I doing wrong?
This doesn't actually apply the WHOLE OTA, just the boot, radio, and recovery. The radio is the only thing I wanted, but I am unable to make a successful update.zip for just the radio. If anyone has experience with this, please PM me.

A few things to try:
- check the filesize; your PC10IMG.zip (originally firmware.zip) file should be exactly 19,364,782 bytes (windows might report size-on-disk larger)
- use a different microsd card
- format the card fat32
- put PC10IMG.zip as the only file on the card

I flashed this from the S-OFF HBOOT-0.76.2000 SPL. I also retraced my steps and successfully reflashed it over the 26.03.02.08_M radio I already have now.
 
scribbin
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2010
It worked! I found out what I was doing wrong. I didn't unzip the ota. (Thought you were calling it firmware.zip as a shortcut, my bad) Telling me the file size helped me determine what I was doin wrong. Thank you so much!
 
El_Nino9
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 182
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by reukiodo View Post
!!! ANY RADIO UPDATE COULD BRICK YOUR PHONE !!!
You have been warned

Info:
If you haven't updated to OTA (or can't because you deleted the faulty Google Googles) but still want the updated radio, you can apply the firmware.zip found in the latest OTA.

Setup:
  1. Download and open the OTA (e4aaacea73af.OTA_Vision_TMUS_1.22.531.8-1.1.19.531.1_release_signed.zip)
  2. Extract the 'firmware.zip' file out (to your desktop or some folder)
  3. Rename the 'firmware.zip' file you extracted to 'PC10IMG.zip'
  4. Copy (or move) PC10IMG.zip to the root of your G2 microSD card
  5. Charge your G2 to FULL battery

Flash:
  1. Power off your G2
  2. Plug your G2 into AC power
  3. Boot into the G2 bootloader by holding VOL_DOWN and press POWER, continuing to hold VOL_DOWN until the bootloader screen appears
  4. Wait while it checks the PC10IMG.zip file
  5. Press VOL_UP to flash
  6. WAIT
  7. Press POWER to reboot (it actually turned my G2 off, and I had to turn it back on)

Result:
You will have the OTA radio without updating to OTA. Since the OTA didn't update the bootloader (SPL/HBOOT), you will still have S-OFF if you applied it before. You will need to re-flash a custom recovery if you had one before, as well as reapply Cyanogen's bacon-bits if you had applied this before.
hello OP,
erm flash radio through fastboot! you have that option now. why risk a brick?
in my opinion, better instructions would be.

1)download OTA
2)using zip extra the OTA and find the radio.img file
3)Enter phone into fastboot mode (how you checked you had s-off and then using volume down navigate to fastboot)there may be a better way i own a desire hd
4)depending on how you have set up your SDK folder, i.e. if you have added path variables you can adb and fastboot from anywhere. so if that is the case(which is the correct way to set up sdk as mentioned on development site) you can fastboot the radio. all you do is CD to the directory in cmd/terminal i.e.
cd /home/user/Desktop/OTAEXTRACT [then press enter]
fastboot flash radio radio.img [enter]-without the space after the img ofcourse
and it will flash

but you as an OP should show the md5 checksum for the radio.img or even the zip once the user puts it on the SD CARD it should be checked they are not flashing a corrupt file.
you tried and it worked so post the md5sum up of the files
The Following User Says Thank You to El_Nino9 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
g1junky
Old
(Last edited by g1junky; 11th November 2010 at 03:53 PM.)
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 833
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dolton, IL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by El_Nino9 View Post
hello OP,
erm flash radio through fastboot! you have that option now. why risk a brick?
in my opinion, better instructions would be.

1)download OTA
2)using zip extra the OTA and find the radio.img file
3)Enter phone into fastboot mode (how you checked you had s-off and then using volume down navigate to fastboot)there may be a better way i own a desire hd
4)depending on how you have set up your SDK folder, i.e. if you have added path variables you can adb and fastboot from anywhere. so if that is the case(which is the correct way to set up sdk as mentioned on development site) you can fastboot the radio. all you do is CD to the directory in cmd/terminal i.e.
cd /home/user/Desktop/OTAEXTRACT [then press enter]
fastboot flash radio radio.img [enter]-without the space after the img ofcourse
and it will flash

but you as an OP should show the md5 checksum for the radio.img or even the zip once the user puts it on the SD CARD it should be checked they are not flashing a corrupt file.
you tried and it worked so post the md5sum up of the files
to anybody who downgraded to get rid of the vibrating, this radio brings it back
Edit: Downgrading radio to stock fixes it.. just extract radio.img from stock rom and with your g2 in fastboot run:
fastboot flash radio radio.img and reboot and the vibrating should be gone
 
sundar2012
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 556
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manhattan
So this reflashes the OTA kernel?
______________________________________________
Primary Phone
HTC Thunderbolt running Liquid/Jester ICS
Radio: 1.49.00.0406w_1, 0.01.79.0331w_1

Secondary Devices
Nexus 7 running ParanoidAndroid
Jailbroken iPhone 4
Jailbroken iPad 3

Previous Phones
HTC G2/Desire Z
Motorola Cliq (worst device I have ever had the misfortune to own)
HTC G1
 
cparekh
Old
#10  
cparekh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 255
Join Date: Oct 2009
I'm not sure I understand the order of radio releases. This update flashes your radio to 26.03.02.08_M. However, in the photos you have attached, the radio is listed 26.03.02.26_M. 26 is greater then 08, so would not the 26 radio be the later release?

I am sure you completely understand what you are flashing, but if someone could point it out to obtuse, old me, I would surely appreciate it.
Sometimes I forget that I have a photographic memory.

Tags
radio
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Slide Dial Replacement Dialer Lets You Make Calls from Anywhere

If you frequently make phone calls, your dialer (aka phone app)is one of the … more

Navigate with Your Samsung Gear 2 Using DMA Navi Watch

Whether you’re travelling to a new destination or exploring some previously … more

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more