FORUMS

Devs Beware – Automatic Backup Privacy Risks

One new feature of “Android M” (speculation on potential names welcomed … more

Android M to Bring New App Drawer

It has now been seen that Android M will receive a new app drawer as part of the stock … more

Which IO Announcement Are You Most Excited About?

The keynote we had all been waiting for has just ended and it’s time to enjoy … more

Google Launches Google Photos At I/O 2015 Keynote

While rumors have been floating around for a while, the Google I/O 2015 has made … more

[REQ] Mod HFA activation to think phone is provisioned

Thanks Meter: 411
 
By suzook, Senior Member on 11th November 2010, 11:58 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Wondering if a DEV could figure out how to think my epic has been provisioned for data on HFA? I have an epic working on verizon. The only way to get data working is sending an mms...this in turn makes the phone believe it has been provisioned, and data works. I have to do this on every reboot...I believe it is due to the HFA not telling the phone/rom it is activated. I currently have the HFA "frozen" using titanium, so i dont get the annoying popup. I would greatly appreciate any help or guidance.
Last edited by suzook; 12th November 2010 at 12:14 AM.
 
 
12th November 2010, 02:37 AM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
did you manually program the phone yourself? if so, then make sure the provisioning settings are set on a profile other than 0. If profile 0 is active, then i believe the phone is gonna try to sync with sprint servers
12th November 2010, 04:20 AM |#3  
drewX2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 1,210
 
Donate to Me
More
This is a bit OT, but how did you get it working on Verizon? I don't mean programming wise, rather them allowing the ESN on the network? Is Verizon more lax than Sprint? Is there a similar workaround to get Verizon phones on Sprint?

Lots o' questions...
12th November 2010, 04:37 AM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewX2

This is a bit OT, but how did you get it working on Verizon? I don't mean programming wise, rather them allowing the ESN on the network? Is Verizon more lax than Sprint? Is there a similar workaround to get Verizon phones on Sprint?

Lots o' questions...

Easier than you can imagine. I have my Epic working on SERO also which isn't allowed either.

None of this can be discussed on this forum, however.
12th November 2010, 05:25 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewX2

This is a bit OT, but how did you get it working on Verizon? I don't mean programming wise, rather them allowing the ESN on the network? Is Verizon more lax than Sprint? Is there a similar workaround to get Verizon phones on Sprint?

Lots o' questions...

He most likely changed his MEID to a that of a "donor" Verizon phone. It's illegal blah blah...
12th November 2010, 05:43 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 497
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobloat

Easier than you can imagine. I have my Epic working on SERO also which isn't allowed either.

None of this can be discussed on this forum, however.

4g working?
12th November 2010, 07:44 AM |#7  
drewX2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 1,210
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poryhack

He most likely changed his MEID to a that of a "donor" Verizon phone. It's illegal blah blah...

I've heard of this, but I believe its rarely practiced (and extremely difficult).
12th November 2010, 01:34 PM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muyoso

4g working?

Nope, 4G is an entirely different beast. I'm happy with an Epic with 3G tho... for 30$ a month.
12th November 2010, 04:27 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewX2

I've heard of this, but I believe its rarely practiced (and extremely difficult).

I can't speak for the difficulty of changing providers (as that involves a bit more then just "cloning" the phone) but judging by the fact that at least 3 people in this thread have messed with their MEID I have to disagree on its rarity. It might seem rare because the laws are supposedly stricter on this then, say, warez...
12th November 2010, 06:03 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 411
 
More
Thanks for hijacking my thread guys.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes