Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Help !!! Phone Call module stopped working

OP Virtualsk

12th November 2010, 07:29 AM   |  #1  
Virtualsk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 275
 
1,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Hi ,

I was using JP6 (via Reg. Hack...), as we know that, Samsung has released official Froyo update... I downgraded to Eclair i.e., (DDJG4) ... Now, i can use all functions of Galaxy S , except Mobile Network.

My Phone application is not working anymore...it just shows me, Not available icon for network signal.... More over, i cannot do Factory Reset from Settings menu...its doing nothing....


Please help !
The Following User Says Thank You to Virtualsk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th November 2010, 08:23 AM   |  #2  
ickyboo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Syd
Thanks Meter: 39
 
831 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
No idea what you did but it sounds like you screwed up your IMEI, do a search for fixes but unless you have a backup file you might be out of luck
12th November 2010, 03:37 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Virtualsk

Hi ,

I was using JP6 (via Reg. Hack...), as we know that, Samsung has released official Froyo update... I downgraded to Eclair i.e., (DDJG4) ... Now, i can use all functions of Galaxy S , except Mobile Network.

My Phone application is not working anymore...it just shows me, Not available icon for network signal.... More over, i cannot do Factory Reset from Settings menu...its doing nothing....


Please help !

I also faced the same problem see this thread. It will solve your problem

**IF YOUR SIMCARD DOESN'T WORK AFTER THIS, EXECUTE THE FOLLOWING**
- adb shell
- su
- busybox chown 1001:1001 /efs/nv_data.bin
- reboot

You can also do this from the Terminal Emulator if you don't have ADB on your PC! Like this:

-su
-chown 1001:1001 /efs/nv_data.bin
-reboot

I hope it's easy to follow my steps, it works guaranteed.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=780509
15th November 2010, 07:16 AM   |  #4  
Virtualsk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 275
 
1,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Smile Solved ... using same link...
Quote:
Originally Posted by seking

I also faced the same problem see this thread. It will solve your problem

**IF YOUR SIMCARD DOESN'T WORK AFTER THIS, EXECUTE THE FOLLOWING**
- adb shell
- su
- busybox chown 1001:1001 /efs/nv_data.bin
- reboot

You can also do this from the Terminal Emulator if you don't have ADB on your PC! Like this:

-su
-chown 1001:1001 /efs/nv_data.bin
-reboot

I hope it's easy to follow my steps, it works guaranteed.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=780509

Last friday, i fixed it using the same command...Actually, few weeks back I also restored by Product code refering to this thread.... Now i am waiting for official Froyo.... :P
29th December 2010, 09:21 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
When I try "chown" I get "no such user" .
28th November 2011, 07:55 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by seking

I also faced the same problem see this thread. It will solve your problem

**IF YOUR SIMCARD DOESN'T WORK AFTER THIS, EXECUTE THE FOLLOWING**
- adb shell
- su
- busybox chown 1001:1001 /efs/nv_data.bin
- reboot

You can also do this from the Terminal Emulator if you don't have ADB on your PC! Like this:

-su
-chown 1001:1001 /efs/nv_data.bin
-reboot

I hope it's easy to follow my steps, it works guaranteed.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=780509


Hi, I tried using this and I got this error:
Quote:

Permission denied
$ busybox chown 1001:1001 /efs/nv_data.bin
chown: /efs/nv_data.bin: Read-only file system
$

Any idea how to remove the read-only for the files in the efs folder?
29th November 2011, 07:33 AM   |  #7  
Virtualsk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 275
 
1,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xCruciaLx

Hi, I tried using this and I got this error:


Any idea how to remove the read-only for the files in the efs folder?

You have to rooted....
27th January 2012, 08:21 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
sori to disturb but....no option.

I am not a techie guy like u...so..please help me out. I am using my samsung i9000 which is bought from Ireland and now I am using in India. Its smifree and unlocked so using it nisely. But unfortunately...i lost ime imei and network when I tried to upgrade my firmware or something. I dont know what is the base version and i dont know what to do now....?

please help me guys.....as my phone not ringing due to missing imei or some other problem.

Thanks & Regards,
Ravi
29th January 2012, 06:21 AM   |  #9  
Virtualsk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 275
 
1,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raviakumarin

sori to disturb but....no option.

I am not a techie guy like u...so..please help me out. I am using my samsung i9000 which is bought from Ireland and now I am using in India. Its smifree and unlocked so using it nisely. But unfortunately...i lost ime imei and network when I tried to upgrade my firmware or something. I dont know what is the base version and i dont know what to do now....?

please help me guys.....as my phone not ringing due to missing imei or some other problem.

Thanks & Regards,
Ravi

Try to follow the thread and see if that helps. If not than there is one thread in sgs ii section check that out.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
froyo, galaxy s, india, jg4, jp6
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes