Do You Check for App Updates Regularly?

Do you let app updates happen automatically or do you regularly check for them? We’re … more

Find The Best Apps With Google’s Picks & Other Tricks

The Google Play Store, weighing in with more than 1.4 million apps at last … more

Dynamic Pop for Note 4 (N910T & 910W8)

With the release of the Canadian Lollipop ROM for the Note 4, T-Mobile users can also enjoy the … more

Sunday Debate: Better to Buy Older or Newer Hardware?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on New vs. Old. Come with your opinions and feel … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Focus doesnt find wireless-n network!!

12th November 2010, 08:31 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
On the specs it says the phone supports wireless n (802.11n), but when i go to settings and search for networks it wont show my local wireless n network, is it the phone or just wp7 that currently doesn't support wireless n?!
 
 
12th November 2010, 11:48 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 225
 
2,679 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
No problem with wireless N here. But WP7 doesn't support hidden networks. Make sure your wireless network is visible. Also not clear is whether or not the phone can connect to 5GHz band.
12th November 2010, 11:50 AM |#3  
Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 1
 
93 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lungothrin

On the specs it says the phone supports wireless n (802.11n), but when i go to settings and search for networks it wont show my local wireless n network, is it the phone or just wp7 that currently doesn't support wireless n?!

This is one of those unusual known software issues. The phone is capable of n, but the mediocre wifi software/interface the the phone is packaged with has no options to enable it. This is set to be a first round fix. Chalk this up there with the no hidden SSID's support right now.

There is no good reason as to why your phone cannot do this now and you probably could go into the diagnosis panel and figure it out, but that is not the users responsibility.

MS must have a great reason, but it is not readily apparent.
12th November 2010, 01:22 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
Yeah my router does 2.4ghz G & N plus 5ghz N; so it connects but it would be nice to know what it is connecting at. I am sure it doesn't do 5ghz because that ssid is not found as an option but it would be nice to know it is connecting to the N 2.4 and not the G.
12th November 2010, 07:35 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
It doesn't support 5ghz N. I had to change my router back to 2.4.
12th November 2010, 10:09 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 225
 
2,679 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyfreak215

It doesn't support 5ghz N. I had to change my router back to 2.4.

Or you can just let it connect to 2.4 11g instead. There is no benefit for it to be in 11n other than burn your battery faster.
13th November 2010, 03:15 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
My router is set on 5ghz wireless n, so i guess that's why the phone cant show the ssid.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes