Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more
Post Reply

[Q] Focus doesnt find wireless-n network!!

OP lungothrin

12th November 2010, 08:31 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
On the specs it says the phone supports wireless n (802.11n), but when i go to settings and search for networks it wont show my local wireless n network, is it the phone or just wp7 that currently doesn't support wireless n?!
12th November 2010, 11:48 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 198
 
2,506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
No problem with wireless N here. But WP7 doesn't support hidden networks. Make sure your wireless network is visible. Also not clear is whether or not the phone can connect to 5GHz band.
12th November 2010, 11:50 AM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 1
 
93 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lungothrin

On the specs it says the phone supports wireless n (802.11n), but when i go to settings and search for networks it wont show my local wireless n network, is it the phone or just wp7 that currently doesn't support wireless n?!

This is one of those unusual known software issues. The phone is capable of n, but the mediocre wifi software/interface the the phone is packaged with has no options to enable it. This is set to be a first round fix. Chalk this up there with the no hidden SSID's support right now.

There is no good reason as to why your phone cannot do this now and you probably could go into the diagnosis panel and figure it out, but that is not the users responsibility.

MS must have a great reason, but it is not readily apparent.
12th November 2010, 01:22 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
Yeah my router does 2.4ghz G & N plus 5ghz N; so it connects but it would be nice to know what it is connecting at. I am sure it doesn't do 5ghz because that ssid is not found as an option but it would be nice to know it is connecting to the N 2.4 and not the G.
12th November 2010, 07:35 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
It doesn't support 5ghz N. I had to change my router back to 2.4.
12th November 2010, 10:09 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 198
 
2,506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyfreak215

It doesn't support 5ghz N. I had to change my router back to 2.4.

Or you can just let it connect to 2.4 11g instead. There is no benefit for it to be in 11n other than burn your battery faster.
13th November 2010, 03:15 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
My router is set on 5ghz wireless n, so i guess that's why the phone cant show the ssid.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes