FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

[Q] Focus doesnt find wireless-n network!!

106 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By lungothrin, Senior Member on 12th November 2010, 08:31 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
On the specs it says the phone supports wireless n (802.11n), but when i go to settings and search for networks it wont show my local wireless n network, is it the phone or just wp7 that currently doesn't support wireless n?!
 
 
12th November 2010, 11:48 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 233
 
More
No problem with wireless N here. But WP7 doesn't support hidden networks. Make sure your wireless network is visible. Also not clear is whether or not the phone can connect to 5GHz band.
12th November 2010, 11:50 AM |#3  
Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lungothrin

On the specs it says the phone supports wireless n (802.11n), but when i go to settings and search for networks it wont show my local wireless n network, is it the phone or just wp7 that currently doesn't support wireless n?!

This is one of those unusual known software issues. The phone is capable of n, but the mediocre wifi software/interface the the phone is packaged with has no options to enable it. This is set to be a first round fix. Chalk this up there with the no hidden SSID's support right now.

There is no good reason as to why your phone cannot do this now and you probably could go into the diagnosis panel and figure it out, but that is not the users responsibility.

MS must have a great reason, but it is not readily apparent.
12th November 2010, 01:22 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yeah my router does 2.4ghz G & N plus 5ghz N; so it connects but it would be nice to know what it is connecting at. I am sure it doesn't do 5ghz because that ssid is not found as an option but it would be nice to know it is connecting to the N 2.4 and not the G.
12th November 2010, 07:35 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
It doesn't support 5ghz N. I had to change my router back to 2.4.
12th November 2010, 10:09 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 233
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyfreak215

It doesn't support 5ghz N. I had to change my router back to 2.4.

Or you can just let it connect to 2.4 11g instead. There is no benefit for it to be in 11n other than burn your battery faster.
13th November 2010, 03:15 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
My router is set on 5ghz wireless n, so i guess that's why the phone cant show the ssid.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes