Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Connecting Galaxy tab to Ad hoc Network?

OP davlav4210

17th April 2011, 05:02 PM   |  #61  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
292 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
it does not surprise me that the P1010 won't work with the moded wpa_supplicant found here. I have the sprint version and a few updates ago samsung and sprint disabled the possibility to connect an ad-hoc to the tab.

maybe they did the same to the P1010

it's a shame that the ipad can connect/tether even to a blackberry using bluetooth and samsung is still stuck on whether ad-hoc is allowed or not
17th April 2011, 05:09 PM   |  #62  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellokomen

it does not surprise me that the P1010 won't work with the moded wpa_supplicant found here. I have the sprint version and a few updates ago samsung and sprint disabled the possibility to connect an ad-hoc to the tab.

maybe they did the same to the P1010

it's a shame that the ipad can connect/tether even to a blackberry using bluetooth and samsung is still stuck on whether ad-hoc is allowed or not

? Was anyone able to fix the sprint version of Sgt? Do I think someone in time will be able to hack the Sgt p1010 to work with ad hoc?
17th April 2011, 07:14 PM   |  #63  
donetus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag n3k0-ville
Thanks Meter: 35
 
374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
but isn't this an Android OS "problem"?? this is also the same thing that happens on my x10 mini pro.

if this is the case, then shouldn't the OS do the fix for us?
27th April 2011, 06:37 PM   |  #64  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Worked for me.. thank you.
28th April 2011, 08:59 AM   |  #65  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Galaxy Tab (P1010) and wpa_supplicant issue
Hi Vixlen,
Glad that it worked for you...can you share what you did differently if anything?
Also, please confirm that you've got the P1010 (Wifi only version)?
Regards,
Andy
28th April 2011, 09:04 AM   |  #66  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Oops
Sorry, that should have said Nixlen!
5th May 2011, 11:51 AM   |  #67  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
352 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
only worked ONE time
Hi guys

I've got a strange problem. Using method from thread_1, can see the notebook's WIFI transmitting OUT, the "ad-hoc" word appears on SGT, hoo-ray!!!

But, stuck at FINDING-IP.... looping none-stop.

After many days of trying, finally WORKED ONE TIME, so beautifully !!!!

now in FINDING-IP... looping none-stop.

Any tips as to what went wrong and what went right?

Notebook is IBM Thinkpad Lenovo T60 Genuine Win7 Enterprise fresh install.

Thanks in advance for advice to come!!!
6th May 2011, 06:56 AM   |  #68  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
I've been following all the threads and done as most advised. I have the GT-P1010 model (wifi only). It doesn't work. Wifi would not turn on with the new wpa_supplicant file.
6th May 2011, 12:57 PM   |  #69  
bthoven's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 28
 
330 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
The well-known wpa_supplicant won't work with p1010.

Go to Market and install the free zt-180, by this free app, you can switch between adhoc and normal wifi. It does work for me on iPhone 3gs+Mywi tethering with p1010.

Sent from Galaxy Tab Wifi using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to bthoven For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2011, 11:16 AM   |  #70  
Malicieux's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by bthoven

The well-known wpa_supplicant won't work with p1010.

Go to Market and install the free zt-180, by this free app, you can switch between adhoc and normal wifi. It does work for me on iPhone 3gs+Mywi tethering with p1010.

Sent from Galaxy Tab Wifi using Tapatalk

This worked perfectly for me with SGT P1010 via wifi router on HTC Diamond Just set the Diamond's wifi router SSID, security type WEB and the password for the adhoc network it creates in the settings of zt-180 (while it is set to infrastructure mode), then switched to adhoc and it connects to the adhoc network. Cheers

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ad hoc network, galaxy tab, wifi
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes