Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP][29-June-11] uTask v1.4 - softkeys enhancement for WM6.5.3

OP ultrashot

13th November 2010, 08:16 PM   |  #1  
OP Recognized Developer
St.Petersburg
Thanks Meter: 2,043
 
1,478 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
uTask v1.4
Author: ultrashot
Compatibility: only Windows Mobile 6.5.3. Any resolution is supported, but I haven't checked this program on any resolution except WVGA.

Functions:
1) Reassignment of virtual keys such as "Windows" and "X"
Supported actions:
  • Standard action
  • Launch *.exe
  • Minimize current program
  • Close current program
  • Show start menu

2) Task Manager icon on "Today" screen.
You can assign any task manager to this button. Later I will make my own interface.

3) Position Fix for old windows.
Attention! Some applications can work in unexpected way with positionfix enabled. They should be added into exceptions list!
Exception list supports masks. For example, if you enter "SPBWEATHER*", all window classes starting with "SPBWEATHER" will be excluded.
Also there is a confurator inside.

The most evident difference from any existing programs is IMMEDIATE reaction to new windows. No timers and unneeded calculations at all. uTask is very battery-friendly because of that.

Available translations: russian, english, german, french, italian (thanks to translators!)

Changes in v1.4 (release: 29.06.11, compilation date: 17.06.11):
-added classes list
-minor changes

Changes in v1.4 (26-Mar-11):
-fixed HVGA display detection.

Changes in v1.4:
-better today button behaviour.
-auto-resize of incorrect button images.
-bugfixes (bug with few HTCMenus versions, bug with EzInput on some devices)
-installer now shows error message if you try to install uTask on unsupported OS. Then, if system refuses to run after utask installation, try to start your phone two or three times. Perhaps, autodiagnostic system will disable utask. But it doesn't mean you shouldn't make a system backup.

Changes in v1.3:
-more accurate vibration
-increased timeout for clock hook
-ability to *.lnk in configurator
-little changes.

Changes in v1.2:
-some fixes for position fix
-configtool fixes
-stability improvement
-auto detector of problematic apps - seems like exception list is useless at the moment.
-taskbar clock hook - clock will have the same as home key function
-implemented internal size\position cache... should work better for all, especially HVGA devices.

Changes in v1.1:
-added immediate position fix.
-fixed all found bugs.
-added special menu for toolbars (hold finger on old-style toolbars and you'll get an action menu).
-added "Open start menu" action.
-SIP position fix (works for Swype, for example)
-support for two softkeys HDMini-like mode.
-settings were moved to new subkey called "Settings" - attention, chiefs!

Make a system backup before installing! I don't take any responsibility for any damage to phone or data on it.
If you didn't read this label, or you aren't able to read at all, that's your problem


About adding this program to custom roms:
If you feel that everything works as expected - feel free to use it in your custom ROM. If not - post a comment about bugs.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screen_12_11_2010.jpg
Views:	7289
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	440476  
Attached Files
File Type: cab uTask_1_3_291210.cab - [Click for QR Code] (115.0 KB, 2068 views)
File Type: zip OEM_uTask_1_3_291210.zip - [Click for QR Code] (118.7 KB, 790 views)
File Type: cab uTask_1_4_260311.cab - [Click for QR Code] (117.8 KB, 1550 views)
File Type: rar uTask_1_4_260311_OEM.rar - [Click for QR Code] (122.8 KB, 706 views)
File Type: rar uTask_1_4_170611_OEM.rar - [Click for QR Code] (101.4 KB, 391 views)
File Type: cab uTask_1_4_170611.cab - [Click for QR Code] (121.2 KB, 1480 views)
Last edited by ultrashot; 29th June 2011 at 04:10 PM.
The Following 34 Users Say Thank You to ultrashot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th November 2010, 08:37 PM   |  #2  
brainmaster's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,516
 
3,930 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Donate to Me
Is there any difference to the xTask? Because you are using the xTask icon.
13th November 2010, 08:59 PM   |  #3  
OP Recognized Developer
St.Petersburg
Thanks Meter: 2,043
 
1,478 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by brainmaster

Is there any difference to the xTask? Because you are using the xTask icon.

uTask is a totally different program without any junk and without battery-eating timers.
The Following User Says Thank You to ultrashot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th November 2010, 08:39 AM   |  #4  
jolas's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 281
 
1,889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
More
Looks a very interesting application.

I'm going to test it with HD2 Artemis v.42.

Thanks!
14th November 2010, 09:09 AM   |  #5  
jolas's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 281
 
1,889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
More
Tested with Artemis HD2 v42.0
It is working flawlessly with every soft key assignment!!!

The only bug I found is the icon of it, it is cutted in the right edge.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot1.jpg
Views:	1899
Size:	38.1 KB
ID:	440823  
14th November 2010, 09:23 AM   |  #6  
OP Recognized Developer
St.Petersburg
Thanks Meter: 2,043
 
1,478 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
jolas, give me your theme and I'll fix it.
The Following User Says Thank You to ultrashot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th November 2010, 09:35 AM   |  #7  
nrfitchett4's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 522
 
6,394 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
overall the app works. For whatever task mgr you use, make sure you put it into the exceptions list (otherwise arkswitch worked once, then errored).
I cannot get the windows long press or the home long press to do anything on my hd2. It doesn't error, it vibrates, but doesn't execute the .exe selected, tried a few of them.

edit: it works for some .exe's and not for others. Overall a very nice 1.0 program.
14th November 2010, 09:37 AM   |  #8  
jolas's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 281
 
1,889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
More
Here is the theme I use and the softkeys images too

Thanks!
Attached Files
File Type: zip theme.zip - [Click for QR Code] (281.2 KB, 399 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to jolas For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th November 2010, 09:47 AM   |  #9  
OP Recognized Developer
St.Petersburg
Thanks Meter: 2,043
 
1,478 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
jolas, please, attach all images for further testing.
I see softkeys have not standard size, that's why they are drawn incorrectly.

Quote:

I cannot get the windows long press or the home long press to do anything on my hd2. It doesn't error, it vibrates, but doesn't execute the .exe selected, tried a few of them.

Two HD2 owners (Korand and AndrewSh) tested it, one with SE X2 (eugene38 from 4pda.ru) and me with SE X1. No issues with long presses. Are you sure you saved settings (silly question, but who knows)?
14th November 2010, 09:51 AM   |  #10  
nrfitchett4's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 522
 
6,394 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultrashot

jolas, please, attach all images for further testing.
I see softkeys have not standard size, that's why they are drawn incorrectly.


Two HD2 owners (Korand and AndrewSh) tested it, one with SE X2 (eugene38 from 4pda.ru) and me with SE X1. No issues with long presses. Are you sure you saved settings (silly question, but who knows)?

yes, I saved settings and even soft reset, could not get it to properly open commmgr.exe.

The Following User Says Thank You to nrfitchett4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
close instead of minimize, softkeys, taskmanager, utask, wm6.5.3
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes