5,595,067 Members 40,169 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

ADB shows device offline

Tip us?
 
mleet1980
Old
(Last edited by mleet1980; 16th November 2010 at 08:47 AM.)
#1  
mleet1980's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 156
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CINCINNATI,OHIO
Default ADB shows device offline

adb shows my device is offline. I reinstalled the drivers and updated the sdk.
The only way my cpu will detect it is if it in recovery, It wont detect at fastboot or hboot. Im stuck at the green htc screen. My device wont boot up. Im trying to push system.img.

can any1 help
 
davbran
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 126
Join Date: Jan 2010
Do you have debug enabled in settings > applications?

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using Tapatalk
 
g_grey
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 125
Join Date: Nov 2010
as long as you can see it in recovery you can push system.img, but if you are looking to flash it you need to use the fastboot binary(sorry no link) and use fastboot flash system system.img
 
renn9420
Old
#4  
renn9420's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 284
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bakersfield, Ca

 
DONATE TO ME
@g_grey

I understand what you are trying to say. But his phone is listed as offline in recovery mode. How would he go about on getting adb to recognize his phone. It would his phone id but after that it would say offline. And where do you find these binaries?

Phone: T-Mobile G2/Vision Rooted
Rom: Latest Cyanogen
Recovery: CWM waiting for Amon_RA
Happy Happy Joy Joy!

Phone: T-Mobile HTC One (M8) Rooted SuperCID and S-Off
Recovery: TWRP
HBoot: Latest
ROM: Cyanogen
 
g_grey
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 125
Join Date: Nov 2010
binaries are found with google(pretty sure it's somewhere in with the other android dev stuff), then just put the binary with your adb binary(sdk/tools) and if it is being seen as offline then the recovery he is using doesn't support adb in which case not really sure.

@OP
if you have clockwork installed i believe there is an option to mount sdcard as you would from the os, then it should appear as a drive on your comp and you can copy files over.

why are you trying to push system.img? what end result are you aiming for?
 
renn9420
Old
#6  
renn9420's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 284
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bakersfield, Ca

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks I found it right after I posted. His problem is he's stuck at htc screen and s-on so might push system.img and/or userdata.img. can't do anything else. Tried to flash PC10img but says older version yadda yadda. Any suggestions.

Phone: T-Mobile G2/Vision Rooted
Rom: Latest Cyanogen
Recovery: CWM waiting for Amon_RA
Happy Happy Joy Joy!

Phone: T-Mobile HTC One (M8) Rooted SuperCID and S-Off
Recovery: TWRP
HBoot: Latest
ROM: Cyanogen
 
g_grey
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 125
Join Date: Nov 2010
use the recover from semi brick thread then, didn't know he was with s-on at this point(doh!)
 
renn9420
Old
#8  
renn9420's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 284
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bakersfield, Ca

 
DONATE TO ME
@g_grey

That's what I say. Just downloaded the fastboot binary and hopefully we get some progress

Phone: T-Mobile G2/Vision Rooted
Rom: Latest Cyanogen
Recovery: CWM waiting for Amon_RA
Happy Happy Joy Joy!

Phone: T-Mobile HTC One (M8) Rooted SuperCID and S-Off
Recovery: TWRP
HBoot: Latest
ROM: Cyanogen
 
bcorner
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default Same problem

did you come up with a solution? I can get into recovery mode. tried appling and update.zip for both the original and latest version. I have tried factory reset. I can get the serial number with adb devices but it says offline. I had found a solution where I could put the PC10IMG.zip but it says its an older version. but I found via 14344-how-to-fix-a-bricked-g2-or-root-new-g2s-with-kernel-fix pm cyanogenmod that I could push a new misc.img which would get ride of that error message. but I have to be able to use the adb push and/or adb shell.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more