FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 30)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Google No Longer Sending Calendar SMS Notifications

In a not entirely surprising move, Google announced that it’s putting an … more

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

[GUIDE] 11/22/2010 - Restore Swype after upgrading to CyanogenMod

Thanks Meter: 14
 
By oldsk00lz, Senior Member on 16th November 2010, 10:31 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
If you were like me, you rushed right into installing CyanogenMod. Whoops, found out there is no swype installed. What to do?

Hopefully you made a nandroid backup like me. I didn't want to do a full nandroid restore just to extract the files. So I did this...

+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-
UPDATED 11/22/2010 - Okay, some people have requested a "newbie friendly" solution. I have created an APK which will help automate this procedure, without the need for ADB. If you have already applied CyanogenMod, then use this APK to select an older Clockwork Backup that has your licensed Swype. It will then extract and install the files for you. I have only tested on the G2.

http://www.mediafire.com/?j7dnv321ej0mrch

I'll possibly do some updates to:
a) cache swype for future installs (to make restores super quick)
b) add other extractions of 'your' saved files (i.e. google apps)
c) add more options for handling cache/files/etc.

I hope this helps. Enjoy!

+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-

# --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# How to recover your swype files from your nandroid backup
# Quick and dirty extract

# Prepare a staging area on your computer
mkdir nandtmp
cd nandtmp
# Copy your old nandroid (pre CM) backup to your staging area..........
# i.e. /androidbackups/clockworkmod/backup/2010-11-01.02.02.02
cp $WHEREVER_OLD_IMAGE_IS/system.img .
# extract files...
unyaffs system.img
adb remount
# Push the swype files back to your Android device
adb push ./system/lib/libSwypeCore.so /system/lib/
adb push ./system/app/Swype.apk /system/app/
# Some users have had issues with not seeing Swype in the options (possibly non read/write system?), so they just installed the APK. If you install it, make sure the lib file has been pushed first.
# i.e. adb install /sdcard/Swype.apk

# Update permissions for good measure (may not be needed)
chmod 644 /system/app/Swype.apk
chmod 644 /system/lib/libSwypeCore.so

# I rebooted, but have heard reports that it is not necessary
adb reboot

# Now in Menu>Settings:Language & keyboard unselect the Android keyboard and make sure Swype keyboard is checked.

A similar process can be done directly on your phone.

# --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hope that helps others restore Swype (or other files they desire) without having to do a full Nand restore.

-oldsk00lz
Last edited by oldsk00lz; 22nd November 2010 at 11:57 AM.
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to oldsk00lz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
16th November 2010, 01:57 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Flag Richmond
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
getting force close on swype as soon as I uncheck the android keyboard, not a huge deal but I do kinda miss swype
The Following User Says Thank You to ranyvern For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th November 2010, 03:53 PM |#3  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 988
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranyvern

getting force close on swype as soon as I uncheck the android keyboard, not a huge deal but I do kinda miss swype

Did you push libSwypeCore.so to /system/lib yet?
16th November 2010, 03:54 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Flag Rockland County, NY
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
For some reason it still doesn't show up in the keyboard list, any idea why?

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using XDA App
16th November 2010, 04:16 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Flag Rockland County, NY
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Ok, what you're supposed to do is, you actually have to install the swype.apk. its not enough to copy it to the /system/app directory adb install Swype.apk or use root file explorer click on the apk file and choose install.

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using XDA App
16th November 2010, 04:18 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
or you can open up cyanogenmod(unzip) and download a stock g2 rom and then just put the files in the proper places, then zip cm again and flash(i did this all from my phone ast night because i was too lazy to go to the computer)
16th November 2010, 04:19 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
have you tried to go to swype.com and signing up for there beta testing. Not sure if still open but does not hurt to try. I reinstall from the beta testing website and is working great on CM6.1 on my G2
16th November 2010, 04:21 PM |#8  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 988
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by k50aker

For some reason it still doesn't show up in the keyboard list, any idea why?

Be more specific. What have you done so far? Did you go into Settings > Keyboard and enable Swype yet?
16th November 2010, 04:46 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
I tried a few times before but could never get this dumb unyaffs to work for me.

i get

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]

C:\g2orgsys>unyaffs systemg2.img
28852 [main] unyaffs 3212 _cygtls::handle_exceptions: Exception: STATUS_ACCESS
_VIOLATION
30677 [main] unyaffs 3212 open_stackdumpfile: Dumping stack trace to unyaffs.e
xe.stackdump
348883 [main] unyaffs 3212 _cygtls::handle_exceptions: Exception: STATUS_ACCESS
_VIOLATION
375003 [main] unyaffs 3212 _cygtls::handle_exceptions: Error while dumping stat
e (probably corrupted stack)

Idk im pretty lazy sometimes, if you can provide some help on this, i would GREATLY appreciate it.

oh and I tried, quickly, to get the emulator working but failed! Im sure its probably something ez I missed. :/
16th November 2010, 05:10 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Flag Rockland County, NY
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryder5

Be more specific. What have you done so far? Did you go into Settings > Keyboard and enable Swype yet?

Yea, it wasn't there, again, in my case pushing it in to the /app folder did NOT work, I had to intall the apk maually like any other app. Of course only after pushing the lib file.

adb push libSwypeCore.so /system/lib
adb install Swype.apk

Unyaffs is supposed to work on windows? I didn't know that. I use linux, you sould try it and get used to it, it would save you a lot of trouble.


Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using XDA App
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes