Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,045 Members 38,346 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM] OFFICIAL FROYO 2.2 Rogers/Fido Release

Tip us?
 
aleunge
Old
#1  
aleunge's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 123
Join Date: Aug 2007
Default [ROM] OFFICIAL FROYO 2.2 Rogers/Fido Release

Like the title says, the official Froyo update is finally released! It can be downloaded straight from acer.ca under "Service & Support" and in the "Download Center". Just find our Liquid support page and click the "OS" tab and then choose "Froyo 2.2" under the drop down menu. Apparently you need the stock ROM to use the updates... but if you wait a bit and let the dust settle over at MoDaCo, you can do this on any ROM soon (seems like you already can but better wait for more confirmations from testers)
 
dj_m
Old
#2  
dj_m's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 165
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: montreal
is there some notable improvements compared to the froyo leak a few weeks a go
 
aleunge
Old
#3  
aleunge's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 123
Join Date: Aug 2007
Supposedly, it's older (Oct 5) than the most recent leak from Nov.. but more refined, a real official ROM vs. a leak after all. Reported snappier, better battery, and more stable.

Versions with less bloatware and porting for the A1 are now available:

http://android.modaco.com/content/ac...oms-any-phone/
 
kidoucorp
Old
#4  
kidoucorp's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 406
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Barcelona
Be warned that users who aren't on FIDO/Roger's network will have their phone simlocked, without any solution to sim-unlock
Samsung Galaxy SIII
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 (P7510)
 
aleunge
Old
#5  
aleunge's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 123
Join Date: Aug 2007
Default simlock

Quote:
Originally Posted by kidoucorp View Post
Be warned that users who aren't on FIDO/Roger's network will have their phone simlocked, without any solution to sim-unlock
Someone mentioned: "just find acerril.conf in /etc and change it to 0 from 1"
 
kidoucorp
Old
#6  
kidoucorp's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 406
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Barcelona
Have seen a lot of people saying it doesn't work, but it was some time ago, so maybe now it's working, but take care !
Samsung Galaxy SIII
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 (P7510)
 
a2000rick
Old
(Last edited by a2000rick; 24th November 2010 at 01:45 AM.)
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 120
Join Date: Feb 2008
Default unlock

would this help unlock the phone?
http://cgi.ebay.com/UNLOCK-CODE-ROGE...item2eae40a1e2
Has anyone unlocked a Liquid E yet? How about sim unlocking it and then updating it to 2.2. Would that lock it again?
-----------------------------------------------------
Phone: Nexus 4
ROM: Stock
 
kidoucorp
Old
#8  
kidoucorp's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 406
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Barcelona
Yes, it would lock it again.

The ebay link would not work, as you IMEI won't be a ROGER'S one, so they won't be able to unlock your device. (Not totally sure about this, but pretty sure)
Samsung Galaxy SIII
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 (P7510)
 
split2th
Old
#9  
split2th's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 101
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by aleunge View Post
Supposedly, it's older (Oct 5) than the most recent leak from Nov.. but more refined, a real official ROM vs. a leak after all. Reported snappier, better battery, and more stable.

Versions with less bloatware and porting for the A1 are now available:

The fido rom on that thread has a build date of Oct, 30. Same date as the latest leak. Check it out. It's the one I'll be using.

Sorry I couldn't repost the link, because I'm new here. First page on this thread.
 
split2th
Old
#10  
split2th's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 101
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by kidoucorp View Post
Be warned that users who aren't on FIDO/Roger's network will have their phone simlocked, without any solution to sim-unlock
Quote:
Originally Posted by aleunge View Post
Someone mentioned: "just find acerril.conf in /etc and change it to 0 from 1"
All three of the roms on modaco are already sim unlocked. Have been changed from 1 to 0. Check it out for yourself. I haven't heard of anyone locking there phone with the modaco roms. If you use the acer roms, consider your phone locked. A few people have done that I'm sure.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more

aLogcat Returns Thanks to XDA Love

The developers of Android, that is Google, gave users several great debugging tools that can be used in … more

And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more