FORUMS

Samsung Galaxy S6 To Receive Major Camera Update

When the Samsung Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge were launched, they became the prime focus for … more

Tactile: An Addicting Game with Beautiful Material Design

The game industry has been around for decades, catering to a wide … more

Android’s Consistency and The User Experience

This is a site of power users, and it is fair to say that most of us are more … more

Which Manufacturer (And Device) Made You Choose Android?

The beautiful thing about Android is that there is so much to choose from. … more
Thread Deleted Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[ROM] OFFICIAL FROYO 2.2 Rogers/Fido Release

17th November 2010, 09:31 AM |#1  
aleunge's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Like the title says, the official Froyo update is finally released! It can be downloaded straight from acer.ca under "Service & Support" and in the "Download Center". Just find our Liquid support page and click the "OS" tab and then choose "Froyo 2.2" under the drop down menu. Apparently you need the stock ROM to use the updates... but if you wait a bit and let the dust settle over at MoDaCo, you can do this on any ROM soon (seems like you already can but better wait for more confirmations from testers)
 
 
20th November 2010, 12:04 AM |#2  
dj_m's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag montreal
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
is there some notable improvements compared to the froyo leak a few weeks a go
20th November 2010, 12:50 AM |#3  
aleunge's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Supposedly, it's older (Oct 5) than the most recent leak from Nov.. but more refined, a real official ROM vs. a leak after all. Reported snappier, better battery, and more stable.

Versions with less bloatware and porting for the A1 are now available:

http://android.modaco.com/content/ac...oms-any-phone/
22nd November 2010, 02:37 PM |#4  
kidoucorp's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Barcelona
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Exclamation
Be warned that users who aren't on FIDO/Roger's network will have their phone simlocked, without any solution to sim-unlock
22nd November 2010, 11:23 PM |#5  
aleunge's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
simlock
Quote:
Originally Posted by kidoucorp

Be warned that users who aren't on FIDO/Roger's network will have their phone simlocked, without any solution to sim-unlock

Someone mentioned: "just find acerril.conf in /etc and change it to 0 from 1"
23rd November 2010, 12:52 PM |#6  
kidoucorp's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Barcelona
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Have seen a lot of people saying it doesn't work, but it was some time ago, so maybe now it's working, but take care !
24th November 2010, 01:41 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
unlock
would this help unlock the phone?
http://cgi.ebay.com/UNLOCK-CODE-ROGE...item2eae40a1e2
Has anyone unlocked a Liquid E yet? How about sim unlocking it and then updating it to 2.2. Would that lock it again?
Last edited by a2000rick; 24th November 2010 at 01:45 AM.
24th November 2010, 01:24 PM |#8  
kidoucorp's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Barcelona
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Yes, it would lock it again.

The ebay link would not work, as you IMEI won't be a ROGER'S one, so they won't be able to unlock your device. (Not totally sure about this, but pretty sure)
25th November 2010, 01:09 AM |#9  
split2th's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aleunge

Supposedly, it's older (Oct 5) than the most recent leak from Nov.. but more refined, a real official ROM vs. a leak after all. Reported snappier, better battery, and more stable.

Versions with less bloatware and porting for the A1 are now available:


The fido rom on that thread has a build date of Oct, 30. Same date as the latest leak. Check it out. It's the one I'll be using.

Sorry I couldn't repost the link, because I'm new here. First page on this thread.
25th November 2010, 01:16 AM |#10  
split2th's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kidoucorp

Be warned that users who aren't on FIDO/Roger's network will have their phone simlocked, without any solution to sim-unlock

Quote:
Originally Posted by aleunge

Someone mentioned: "just find acerril.conf in /etc and change it to 0 from 1"

All three of the roms on modaco are already sim unlocked. Have been changed from 1 to 0. Check it out for yourself. I haven't heard of anyone locking there phone with the modaco roms. If you use the acer roms, consider your phone locked. A few people have done that I'm sure.
Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes