Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more
Post Reply

Android 2.2.1 (FRG83D) Update

OP Sarg92

19th November 2010, 10:43 PM   |  #71  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
the better battery life is in your head.... not better for me, the same- if not worse actually.
19th November 2010, 10:53 PM   |  #72  
DarkDvr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 213
 
1,779 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
It seems any update (be it kernel, ROM or radio) immediately spawns "OMG better battery life" posts everywhere.
19th November 2010, 11:18 PM   |  #73  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by exa_gon

Hi,
i've a question, because i never received any OTA update...Someone can tell me why ?

My android is :

Android : 2.2.1 ( updated manually )
Build : FRG83
Kernel : 2.6.32.9-27240-gbca5320 Android-build@apa26 #1
Radio : 32.41.00.32U_5.08.00.04

then i've rooted the phone by adm and i've installad the clockwork 2.5.1.0

Someone can tell me why ? ( the phone at the beginnin is branded by vodafone italy )

thanks a lot
EXA

Assuming you're not running a custom rom, the reason why is because your original rom is vodafone branded and the vodafone phones don't get the OTA immediately because the updates first pass trough vodafone and they send their own custom OTA updates.

At first I also had a Vodafone rom but now I flashed the American rom (the WWE versions at shipped-roms.com ) and now I receive the OTA's immediately.
19th November 2010, 11:24 PM   |  #74  
Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 2
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
Settings can rotate to landscape with this update.

Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA App
20th November 2010, 12:27 AM   |  #75  
Member
Flag Orlando Area
Thanks Meter: 2
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Settings has been able to do that for a while.

I am still hoping they will address car home lol It's not very safe trying to read or dial sideways, because the car home app simply reuses apps that don't allow rotation. Reorienting the phone to the vertical position when using car home is a pain...
20th November 2010, 12:37 AM   |  #76  
DarkDvr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 213
 
1,779 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by saint327

Settings has been able to do that for a while.

I am still hoping they will address car home lol It's not very safe trying to read or dial sideways, because the car home app simply reuses apps that don't allow rotation. Reorienting the phone to the vertical position when using car home is a pain...

Just as a thought, I tried both and find portrait orientation better - u can see more of what's ahead in the Google Nav. Plus, everything is compatible with portrait mode.

Try it a little more, maybe u'll agree.
20th November 2010, 04:36 AM   |  #77  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by kornball

Does anyone know if the newest SOC (1.5.5) will root FRG83D? Someone on phandroid said it did - the thirteenth comment from Mightytalldude.

I'm hesitant to update based off one single comment, though. Anyone else try this yet??

got it working with rageagainstthecage
20th November 2010, 07:04 AM   |  #78  
jmattp's Avatar
Senior Member
Portland, OR
Thanks Meter: 54
 
316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
In addition to having root explorer access with ES File Manager, did anyone notice the new Places ratings widget? It prompts you to create a public Places nickname when you first launch it.

It uses GPS to guess your location, then you can rate it with or without a comment.
20th November 2010, 10:00 AM   |  #79  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahorriblemess

In addition to having root explorer access with ES File Manager, did anyone notice the new Places ratings widget? It prompts you to create a public Places nickname when you first launch it.

It uses GPS to guess your location, then you can rate it with or without a comment.

that widget was there with map updates few days back.
20th November 2010, 10:56 AM   |  #80  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 0
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Updated and rooted fine with OneClick

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes