XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Wearable Apps w/ Andreas Göransson – XDA:DevCon 2014

XDA:DevCon 2014 in Manchester, UK featured quite a few interesting topics as … more

Browse Your Files with Ease using MK Explorer

Google has made quite an effort in perfecting the powerful and multi-faceted OS that we know as … more

How to Fix the Nexus Available Storage Bug – XDA TV

Is your Nexus device only showing half of the available storage as it should? Many … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How to use Root Explorer

OP ejdavis72

19th November 2010, 02:31 PM   |  #1  
ejdavis72's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
367 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Root explorer is pretty straight forward but can be confusing for some people who have never used it before. I have made this list based on the most commonly questions I have read about how to use Rood Explorer. I hope this answers your questions but if it doesn't, post the question and I'm sure I or someone will help you out.

When it won't let you manipulate a file ("this file system is read only") just touch the white button on the top that says "mount r/w"

When you long press files and folders for the sub menu, you can

Extract all
Delete
Rename
Copy
Move
Change Permissions
Properties
Add Bookmark
Send
View as text
Open in text editor
Zip a file
Create Tar
Change owner

You can also press menu for

New folder
Preferences
Bookmarks
Search
Muli-select
more gives you
Home
Refresh
New file
About
Exit

This program pretty much explains itself so just give it a little time and mess with it for a bit.
Last edited by ejdavis72; 17th July 2011 at 08:29 PM.
19th November 2010, 03:02 PM   |  #2  
smtom's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
846 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
That's funny.
When all else fails, RTFM....
19th November 2010, 03:28 PM   |  #3  
ejdavis72's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
367 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smtom

That's funny.
When all else fails, RTFM....

I had to get it out there. I see people asking about it all the time.
20th November 2010, 09:41 PM   |  #4  
Gahh Its Lee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 262
 
2,567 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
The only times I've ever been confused was when trying to edit something but I was too far into a folder to have the R/W option at the top

Sent from my Incredible using XDA App
20th November 2010, 10:27 PM   |  #5  
SteveG12543's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Dover, DE
Thanks Meter: 373
 
2,131 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gahh Its Lee

The only times I've ever been confused was when trying to edit something but I was too far into a folder to have the R/W option at the top

Sent from my Incredible using XDA App

That's what happened to me lol but I figured it out.

Sent from my Droid Incredible running Myn's Warm Two Point Two RLS4.
21st November 2010, 01:47 PM   |  #6  
Smabbage's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lost in Arkansas
Thanks Meter: 25
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
The R/W button, Menu button, and long presses are your friend.
The Following User Says Thank You to Smabbage For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2011, 06:41 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
So say I wanted to use root explorer in order to do the webtop mod.....how should I come about doing that? Sorry im a newb....ive tried countless times to get this working but failed everytime...i also understand that they have a forum dedicated to the webtop mod but they never really gave detailed instructions.....HELP PLEASE!!!!!!
4th May 2011, 07:03 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
What I was wondering is how can I install a system app? I know I can move them into system, but how can I install them? Do I have to flash a zip or put them in the rom zip and flash that?
4th May 2011, 02:47 PM   |  #9  
i8qbert's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
282 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain p1an3t

What I was wondering is how can I install a system app? I know I can move them into system, but how can I install them? Do I have to flash a zip or put them in the rom zip and flash that?

You will need the .apk file for the app you want to install. Put it on your sd card. Then Just copy the .apk file in the system/app folder. you will need to hit the R/W button up top in order to copy/ paste it there. After that it will show up in your app drawer.
4th May 2011, 03:05 PM   |  #10  
wizardofyendor's Avatar
Member
Flag Columbus, OH
Thanks Meter: 7
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
This guide should help people out.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes