Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

*WARNING* Unlocking to other network BREAKS MMS

OP scoob101

19th November 2010, 10:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
To anyone intending to buy an Omnia7 and unlock it to put on another network...

BEWARE - MMS WILL NOT WORK.

Theres no way to change MMS settings for your new carrier.

I bought one a couple of days ago, and fell into this trap. The phone is going back as a consequence.
20th November 2010, 01:01 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
MMS and other network settings can usually be configured via SMS. I'd call the new provider first and ask them to send you such a message. The phone should act on the information automatically.

Let me know if this works.
20th November 2010, 10:39 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by at45

MMS and other network settings can usually be configured via SMS. I'd call the new provider first and ask them to send you such a message. The phone should act on the information automatically.

Let me know if this works.

Good suggestion, but we already tried that. They sent two SMS, neither were received. Standard SMS works fine.

I assume Wp7 cannot be configured in this way
20th November 2010, 02:16 PM   |  #4  
Necroman_AI's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
310 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
You must use an app that can configure those options or try to find them on the test app of the Samsung...

This is because carriers block the auto configuration that WP7 makes use with the card you have inserted.

HTC made an app for that and i think LG can be configurated on the MFG app...
20th November 2010, 02:27 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Necroman_AI

You must use an app that can configure those options or try to find them on the test app of the Samsung...

This is because carriers block the auto configuration that WP7 makes use with the card you have inserted.

HTC made an app for that and i think LG can be configurated on the MFG app...

it appears Samsung also made an app, but me, and all the reviewers on the marketplace cannot get it to work. I'm left with a phone which can't support MMS. Very frustrated :(
20th November 2010, 02:30 PM   |  #6  
Necroman_AI's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
310 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoob101

it appears Samsung also made an app, but me, and all the reviewers on the marketplace cannot get it to work. I'm left with a phone which can't support MMS. Very frustrated :(

Thats really bad! Well i'm sure carriers will eventually get a WP7 configuration later, but can you try to obtain support from Samsung on the non working app?
20th November 2010, 04:38 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Necroman_AI

Thats really bad! Well i'm sure carriers will eventually get a WP7 configuration later, but can you try to obtain support from Samsung on the non working app?

I will have a go with Samsung, but I`m not holding out much hope. It appears the carrier (Three) is blocking the configuration application from working. The only other thing I can think of is flashing the firmware with a stock samsung version. Anyone know if thats a possibility??


I`ve just been down to the 3 shop, and they won`t accept the phone back, because its been unlocked, funnily enough they didn`t mention this when I bought the phone and told them I`d be using it on O2.... I`ll speak to trading standards as well.

The saga continues.
20th November 2010, 10:41 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
466 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoob101

I`ve just been down to the 3 shop, and they won`t accept the phone back, because its been unlocked, funnily enough they didn`t mention this when I bought the phone and told them I`d be using it on O2.... I`ll speak to trading standards as well.

If you bought it in store and it's not faulty and is fit for purpose then they don't have to do anything as far as I'm aware. If you bought it remotely (online/phone) then you can return it without giving a reason within 14 days.

But since you've unlocked it that returns guarantee won't apply anymore as it's not in the condition it was in when sold. Your only grounds would be a fault or not fit for purpose, and the purpose was to work on the 3 network which I assume it does. And in neither case would they be obliged to give you a refund, just a replacement (which presumably would be locked to 3 again).

If I were you, I'd ask your preferred service provider (the new one) to re-flash it in their service centre, as that'll probably be their version of the firmware with their MMS settings. There will probably be a charge since they didn't supply the phone.

Have you checked if the Samsung Diagnostics tool can help you out?
20th November 2010, 11:35 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
I have a T-Mobile UK phone unlocked and I'm using it on AT&T in the US. I have the same problem.

Everything else works great on the phone (including 3G) but not MMS.
21st November 2010, 07:44 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
I think I can help you relock it again.
Please try *7465625*638*XXXXXXXX#
which XXXXXXXX is an random number or the code you got from me before

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
mms
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes