Google Play Music Customizations – XDA Xposed Tuesday

If Cyanogen Inc. has its way, you won’t be forced into the Google … more

Sony Xperia Z3 Lollipop Framework Ported to CM12

Android 5.0 for Xperia has a unique look and feel. You don’t have to get a Sony … more

Do You Use Recents as a Task Switcher?

Google introduced a revamped Recents interface with Lollipop in the hopes of making it easier for … more

YU Yureka All-in-One ToolBox (CM12S Only)

This packed toolbox by XDA Senior Member gohel.vishal makes many useful tweaks … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

T-Mobile "Blocking" WiFi Tethering by Detecting & Denying Browser User Agent

19th November 2010, 10:59 PM |#1  
ochlo's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Just thought I'd share my experience. I was surfing on my G2 (running stock w/ the first OTA update installed, phone was not temp rooted) last night and I got this txt:
Free T-Mobile Msg: Phone Tethering & Wi-Fi Sharing access may be blocked unless you add a Phone Tethering & Wi-Fi Sharing plan available at my.t-mobile.com

I didn't think anything of it since I am on vacation and didn't even bring a laptop to tether with... until I got another text later that night:
Free T-Mobile Msg: Phone Tethering & Wi-Fi Sharing access has been blocked. Please add a Phone Tethering & Wi-Fi Sharing plan available at my.t-mobile.com

Sure enough, as soon as that was sent EVERY page I tried in the Dolphin browser I was using redirected to a generic "buy tethering for $10" placeholder! After a few moments I realized they were trying to detect what kind of browser I was using and seem to be blocking certain browsers from getting online. I was surfing on my G2 with Dolphin's "user agent" set to "desktop." I changed the setting to "Android" and have had no issues since. I am able to visit "full" sites and even stream embeded flash movies, java, etc.

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using XDA App
 
 
20th November 2010, 12:50 AM |#2  
smirkis's Avatar
Senior Member
San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 614
 
1,810 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
so u changed dolphins user agent and wifi tethering continued to work without issues? ur last sentence just isn't very clear.

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using XDA App
20th November 2010, 03:42 AM |#3  
x52x58's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
He is saying that browsing on dolphin browser with user agent set to "desktop" was b being blocked. Changing back to "android" fixed it. He was not using wifi-tether at all.



Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using XDA App
20th November 2010, 03:57 AM |#4  
x52x58's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
OP: what rom are you running? Are you stock? I have not had this problem while running Cyanogen 6.1rc

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using XDA App
20th November 2010, 09:08 AM |#5  
Member
Flag Sacramento
Thanks Meter: 3
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
If this is the case, t-mobile may remove the block for you on a per-account basis if you complain about now being able to use your device fully..
21st November 2010, 06:20 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Arlington TX
Thanks Meter: 11
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I just changed my user agent to desktop in the stock browser. If they block me I will call 611 and raise hell, I will not be blocked from using my "unlimited" web plan. I am all stock no root.
22nd November 2010, 01:04 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn, NY
Thanks Meter: 298
 
1,954 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Does anybody encounter similar problem with Skyfire?
It appears the problem happens on Dolphin and I heard nothing on Skyfire (and I have no problem).
22nd November 2010, 06:25 AM |#8  
SoTacMatt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tacoma, WA
Thanks Meter: 20
 
258 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Odd, I was tethering with Android wifi tether, and have not received that message.
22nd November 2010, 09:05 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Flag snailem
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruleftbehind

If this is the case, t-mobile may remove the block for you on a per-account basis if you complain about now being able to use your device fully..

there is no possible way to do that.
22nd November 2010, 09:13 AM |#10  
franky1029's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Why not? Do you work for tmobile? Not challenging you, just saying if this is the case where its now hardcoded into the network, then we should think about raising hell to corporate!

Sent from my T-Mobile G2 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes