Post Reply

My new Vibrant's GPS works better than my old one

20th November 2010, 11:33 AM   |  #1  
heygrl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Las Vegassss
Thanks Meter: 42
 
1,959 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
It's no joke. Ignore the accuracy rating because it's just an estimate. Look at the SNR's between the two. It works much better in buildings, with Google Navigation, has no problem getting a lock, reported accuracy when driving is often 5-7 meters vs 10 then 40 then searching for GPS with the old phone. Never loses it's GPS lock, EVER and I've been testing it for a few days now. No big circles (stable lock)..



just fyi, when someone says their GPS works fine - they might be telling the truth
Last edited by heygrl; 20th November 2010 at 11:38 AM.
20th November 2010, 11:41 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Just curious, why did you get your phone replaced?
20th November 2010, 11:42 AM   |  #3  
heygrl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Las Vegassss
Thanks Meter: 42
 
1,959 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf2883

Just curious, why did you get your phone replaced?

The headset jack
20th November 2010, 03:13 PM   |  #4  
lqaddict's Avatar
Senior Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 69
 
1,343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by heygrl

The headset jack

The replacement you got is JI6, correct?
Also if you leave it stationary, does the SNR jumps up and down or stays relatively stable?
Last edited by lqaddict; 20th November 2010 at 03:15 PM.
20th November 2010, 04:14 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
798 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by heygrl

It's no joke. Ignore the accuracy rating because it's just an estimate. Look at the SNR's between the two. It works much better in buildings, with Google Navigation, has no problem getting a lock, reported accuracy when driving is often 5-7 meters vs 10 then 40 then searching for GPS with the old phone. Never loses it's GPS lock, EVER and I've been testing it for a few days now. No big circles (stable lock)..
just fyi, when someone says their GPS works fine - they might be telling the truth

I see you're using 3G on the new one, and wifi on the old one. I get faster locks with wifi off. Can you try them both setup exactly the same? Not saying this accounts for the difference, but I like to see exact comparisons on things like this.

Thanks.
20th November 2010, 04:17 PM   |  #6  
heygrl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Las Vegassss
Thanks Meter: 42
 
1,959 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
It's the same with or without WiFi on. It was tethered to the other phone. aGPS data was already downloaded. I've tested it both ways and there is no difference, the new phone reports higher SNR's
20th November 2010, 04:53 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
798 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by heygrl

It's the same with or without WiFi on. It was tethered to the other phone. aGPS data was already downloaded. I've tested it both ways and there is no difference, the new phone reports higher SNR's

Cool. Thanks.
20th November 2010, 06:20 PM   |  #8  
heygrl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Las Vegassss
Thanks Meter: 42
 
1,959 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lqaddict

The replacement you got is JI6, correct?
Also if you leave it stationary, does the SNR jumps up and down or stays relatively stable?

It's much more stable (obviously because of the increased SNR) but I don't know what the reasonable range is. Like I said below, it's cloudy so they should be unstable

Furthermore: off of WiFi for both like requested


It's cloudy today. The new Vibrant's GPS performed admirably when going under clouds while driving but accuracy did decrease. The old Vibrant is probably so bipolar because they are passing clouds. Maybe 2 minutes before I took that pic it had a better lock and as you can see, 4 minutes inbetween shots and the SNR has lowered and shifted on the new Vibrant but the older one completely lost it's (inaccurate) GPS lock.
Last edited by heygrl; 20th November 2010 at 06:29 PM.
20th November 2010, 10:42 PM   |  #9  
lqaddict's Avatar
Senior Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 69
 
1,343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by heygrl

It's much more stable (obviously because of the increased SNR) but I don't know what the reasonable range is. Like I said below, it's cloudy so they should be unstable

Furthermore: off of WiFi for both like requested


It's cloudy today. The new Vibrant's GPS performed admirably when going under clouds while driving but accuracy did decrease. The old Vibrant is probably so bipolar because they are passing clouds. Maybe 2 minutes before I took that pic it had a better lock and as you can see, 4 minutes inbetween shots and the SNR has lowered and shifted on the new Vibrant but the older one completely lost it's (inaccurate) GPS lock.

You should be pretty much on the dot if your SNR is between 30 and 45, the higher the better obviously.
20th November 2010, 11:00 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
heygrl-
Just so I'm clear...are both of those phones set up identically, i.e., stock 2.1 JI6, etc.? No other differences in settings?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes