Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,632 Members 36,768 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW-TO] Flash your at&t Tab to make calls + 1900+850 WCDMA - UPDATED

Tip us?
 
clubtech
Old
(Last edited by clubtech; 22nd November 2010 at 12:30 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 297
Posts: 1,674
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Default [HOW-TO] Flash your at&t Tab to make calls + 1900+850 WCDMA - UPDATED

Please note that i am not responsible if you brick your Galaxy Tab.
This worked for me and i now have a Galaxy Tab, on At&t making calls + 3G data + 850/1900Mhz WCDMA enabled.


**please note you need to have a SIM card with a proper voice plan and DATA plan for this to work. do not try this with the prepaid card that came with the Tab.


1) Download the firmware P1000XWJJ4 from HERE (pass: samfirmware.com)
2) download the firmware P1000XXJK5 from HERE (pass: samfirmware.com)
3) download Odin 1.3 from HERE
4) download the modem_bell_i9000.zip file attached to his post and extract it.


A) put you tab into download mode and flash P1000XWJJ4 with P1_add_hidden.pit and repartition selected. The phone will reboot and will be in Russian.

B) Put the phone into download mode again. flash P1000XXJK5 with NO repartition and NO PIT file. the phone will reboot with the latest euro firmware in english.

C) finish the setup wizard, if you do not get DATA at this point (3G or EDGE) at this point go into APN settings and change the APN from "Broadband" to "wap.cingular"

D) Put the Tab into download mode and flash the attached modem.bin file (the one you extracted) by selecting the bin file under "phone" in Odin. NO repartition and NO PIT file.

E) At this point your phone will reboot and you should have 850/1900Mhz enabled and everything you should work just like the euro version of the Tab.

Done and done.


UPDATE: I found that at&t are disabling HSUPA on the Tab, thus using the at&t original modem will not be ideal. I found that the Bell Galaxy S 2.2 modem is the only modem i found so far that will give us 850/1900Mhz + HSUPA + voice calls.
Please flash this modem instead. it is attached.
Attached Files
File Type: zip modem_bell_i9000.zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.87 MB, 12748 views)
HARDWARE: AT&T 8285 > iPhone 3G > Toshiba TG01 > iPhone 3GS > HD2 > AT&T N1 > EVO 4G > Samsung Galaxy S > Samsung Galaxy Tab > Samsung Nexus S > Atrix 4G > Motorola Xoom > Thunderbolt > Galaxy S II > Galaxy Tab 10.1 > HTC Flyer > E4GT > Galaxy Note > Galaxy S 3 > Galaxy Note II > HTC One > Galaxy Note 8 > Galaxy S 4
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to clubtech For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Raspster
Old
#2  
Raspster's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 1,030
Join Date: Jun 2007
Nice... How come we need to go to the Russian ROM first? Thanks again Clubtech.
 
clubtech
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 297
Posts: 1,674
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Because it is the only real full flash firmware we currently have and that fixes the boot logo problem i had when i didn't do a full flash before.
XXJK5 is not a full flash, but incremental one so we have to flash twice.
HARDWARE: AT&T 8285 > iPhone 3G > Toshiba TG01 > iPhone 3GS > HD2 > AT&T N1 > EVO 4G > Samsung Galaxy S > Samsung Galaxy Tab > Samsung Nexus S > Atrix 4G > Motorola Xoom > Thunderbolt > Galaxy S II > Galaxy Tab 10.1 > HTC Flyer > E4GT > Galaxy Note > Galaxy S 3 > Galaxy Note II > HTC One > Galaxy Note 8 > Galaxy S 4
 
mywingtophone
Old
#4  
mywingtophone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 248
Join Date: Aug 2007
Will this work with tmobile tab?
 
clubtech
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 297
Posts: 1,674
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mywingtophone View Post
Will this work with tmobile tab?
No.
10chars
HARDWARE: AT&T 8285 > iPhone 3G > Toshiba TG01 > iPhone 3GS > HD2 > AT&T N1 > EVO 4G > Samsung Galaxy S > Samsung Galaxy Tab > Samsung Nexus S > Atrix 4G > Motorola Xoom > Thunderbolt > Galaxy S II > Galaxy Tab 10.1 > HTC Flyer > E4GT > Galaxy Note > Galaxy S 3 > Galaxy Note II > HTC One > Galaxy Note 8 > Galaxy S 4
The Following User Says Thank You to clubtech For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mywingtophone
Old
#6  
mywingtophone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 248
Join Date: Aug 2007
Wow you are a real genius , this tab just cameout today and u already found a way to make the voice work compared to the other post here about flashing their tmobile tab still scratching their butt trying to figure out how to make it work. Can you help us tmobile user to make our device working with voice and 3g? I got 3 more days to return it and get at&t.

Great instruction too! Your the man!
 
clubtech
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 297
Posts: 1,674
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mywingtophone View Post
Wow you are a real genius , this tab just cameout today and u already found a way to make the voice work compared to the other post here about flashing their tmobile tab still scratching their butt trying to figure out how to make it work. Can you help us tmobile user to make our device working with voice and 3g? I got 3 more days to return it and get at&t.

Great instruction too! Your the man!
T-mobile are blocking the data plans by IMEI, so there is nothing we can do unless you want to fake your IMEI.
As long as the IMEI stays the same, even if you got 3G and voice to work, data will still be blocked on regular phone plan sim cards so there is no point really.

For blocking by IMEI T-mobile should see all their tabs returned as far as i care.
HARDWARE: AT&T 8285 > iPhone 3G > Toshiba TG01 > iPhone 3GS > HD2 > AT&T N1 > EVO 4G > Samsung Galaxy S > Samsung Galaxy Tab > Samsung Nexus S > Atrix 4G > Motorola Xoom > Thunderbolt > Galaxy S II > Galaxy Tab 10.1 > HTC Flyer > E4GT > Galaxy Note > Galaxy S 3 > Galaxy Note II > HTC One > Galaxy Note 8 > Galaxy S 4
 
shoman24v
Old
#8  
shoman24v's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 1,324
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fresno, CA
Could this work for Sprint?
| Samsung Galaxy Nexus | AOKP |
 
clubtech
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 297
Posts: 1,674
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman24v View Post
Could this work for Sprint?
No. These firmwares are only for GSM models.
HARDWARE: AT&T 8285 > iPhone 3G > Toshiba TG01 > iPhone 3GS > HD2 > AT&T N1 > EVO 4G > Samsung Galaxy S > Samsung Galaxy Tab > Samsung Nexus S > Atrix 4G > Motorola Xoom > Thunderbolt > Galaxy S II > Galaxy Tab 10.1 > HTC Flyer > E4GT > Galaxy Note > Galaxy S 3 > Galaxy Note II > HTC One > Galaxy Note 8 > Galaxy S 4
 
maxtcee
Old
#10  
maxtcee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 1,224
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Jerz
so if i get a att tab do what you posted and unlock it then add my unlimited t mobile sim will i still be blocked?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes