Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Video converter

OP pinkice85

24th November 2010, 03:58 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Can someone please point me in the right direction for a really good video converter. The only movie that takes up the whole screen on my Tab is Transformers 2...

sent from Gen's Galaxy Tab
24th November 2010, 11:47 AM   |  #2  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,046
 
1010
7,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
bud, you dont need a converter - you need a better player

look for vplayer alpha on the market, its my fav but theres a slew of others that both play everything and allow you to change fullscreen/ ar settings - only thing to watch out for is the 4gb limit of file size
Last edited by ftgg99; 24th November 2010 at 11:51 AM.
24th November 2010, 12:55 PM   |  #3  
mmace's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Leeds
Thanks Meter: 63
 
750 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
I use Adobe Media Encoder to encode to h.264 1024x576 with stereo AAC and use the ipod mux settings
Occasionally I use Nero which seems to use all 8 threads of my i7
24th November 2010, 03:54 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
318 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
WinFF and Handbrake should work.

For player, have you tried RockPlayer?
25th November 2010, 02:20 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Thanks you guys...Rockplayer works perfect...I use that and Meridian. HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!

sent from Gen's Galaxy Tab
1st December 2010, 09:38 AM   |  #6  
Beards's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 885
 
4,276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinkice85

Thanks you guys...Rockplayer works perfect...I use that and Meridian. HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!

sent from Gen's Galaxy Tab

I find Rockplayer is hopeless at playing .mkv files. They jerk, pixelate and the sound is out of sync. Even the default Video Player is better.

Thanks for the info on vplayer ftgg99, I'll give it a try.
1st December 2010, 12:31 PM   |  #7  
clovis_ll's Avatar
Senior Member
san francisco
Thanks Meter: 14
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
i use handbrake and the default video app. it has an option of filling up the whole screen.
1st December 2010, 01:01 PM   |  #8  
Beards's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 885
 
4,276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clovis_ll

i use handbrake and the default video app. it has an option of filling up the whole screen.

What presets and settings do you use for Handbrake?
1st December 2010, 01:12 PM   |  #9  
clovis_ll's Avatar
Senior Member
san francisco
Thanks Meter: 14
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beards

What presets and settings do you use for Handbrake?

I use the apple universal preset. the ipad preset works too.
1st December 2010, 01:16 PM   |  #10  
Beards's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 885
 
4,276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clovis_ll

I use the apple universal preset. the ipad preset works too.

Thanks... and lastly, what about resolution and anamorphic settings?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes