Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,784,939 Members 49,907 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Video converter

Tip us?
 
pinkice85
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default Video converter

Can someone please point me in the right direction for a really good video converter. The only movie that takes up the whole screen on my Tab is Transformers 2...

sent from Gen's Galaxy Tab
 
ftgg99
Old
(Last edited by ftgg99; 24th November 2010 at 10:51 AM.)
#2  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 2,046
Posts: 7,047
Join Date: Mar 2010
bud, you dont need a converter - you need a better player

look for vplayer alpha on the market, its my fav but theres a slew of others that both play everything and allow you to change fullscreen/ ar settings - only thing to watch out for is the 4gb limit of file size
 
mmace
Old
#3  
mmace's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 739
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Leeds
I use Adobe Media Encoder to encode to h.264 1024x576 with stereo AAC and use the ipod mux settings
Occasionally I use Nero which seems to use all 8 threads of my i7
 
quattr0
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 318
Join Date: Nov 2010
WinFF and Handbrake should work.

For player, have you tried RockPlayer?
 
pinkice85
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2010
Thanks you guys...Rockplayer works perfect...I use that and Meridian. HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!

sent from Gen's Galaxy Tab
 
Beards
Old
#6  
Beards's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 879
Posts: 4,266
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinkice85 View Post
Thanks you guys...Rockplayer works perfect...I use that and Meridian. HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!

sent from Gen's Galaxy Tab
I find Rockplayer is hopeless at playing .mkv files. They jerk, pixelate and the sound is out of sync. Even the default Video Player is better.

Thanks for the info on vplayer ftgg99, I'll give it a try.
.........I don't always get your questions right.... but you'll certainly know I've tried.

P.S. Many thanks for the Thanks votes. Thanks received are converted into a charitable donation.
 
clovis_ll
Old
#7  
clovis_ll's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 396
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: san francisco
i use handbrake and the default video app. it has an option of filling up the whole screen.
_______________________
previous devices:
nokia 8890, n73, n80, n95, 8800, e90, tmobile mda, samsung blackjack, nokia e71, att tilt, iphone (2G), iphone 3G, blackberry bold 9000, blackberry curve 8900, att tilt, 3GS, htc touch hd, blackberry storm, att fuze, blackberry tour, motorola droid, iphone 4, evo 4g, HTC Thunderbolt, Motorola Xoom, Droid Razr, iPhone 4S, Samsung Tab 8.9, SGS3, SGS4, htc ONE, moto X, G2

now:
Nexus 5 - current

Galaxy Nexus (verizon) - back up
 
Beards
Old
#8  
Beards's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 879
Posts: 4,266
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by clovis_ll View Post
i use handbrake and the default video app. it has an option of filling up the whole screen.
What presets and settings do you use for Handbrake?
.........I don't always get your questions right.... but you'll certainly know I've tried.

P.S. Many thanks for the Thanks votes. Thanks received are converted into a charitable donation.
 
clovis_ll
Old
#9  
clovis_ll's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 396
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: san francisco
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beards View Post
What presets and settings do you use for Handbrake?
I use the apple universal preset. the ipad preset works too.
_______________________
previous devices:
nokia 8890, n73, n80, n95, 8800, e90, tmobile mda, samsung blackjack, nokia e71, att tilt, iphone (2G), iphone 3G, blackberry bold 9000, blackberry curve 8900, att tilt, 3GS, htc touch hd, blackberry storm, att fuze, blackberry tour, motorola droid, iphone 4, evo 4g, HTC Thunderbolt, Motorola Xoom, Droid Razr, iPhone 4S, Samsung Tab 8.9, SGS3, SGS4, htc ONE, moto X, G2

now:
Nexus 5 - current

Galaxy Nexus (verizon) - back up
 
Beards
Old
#10  
Beards's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 879
Posts: 4,266
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by clovis_ll View Post
I use the apple universal preset. the ipad preset works too.
Thanks... and lastly, what about resolution and anamorphic settings?
.........I don't always get your questions right.... but you'll certainly know I've tried.

P.S. Many thanks for the Thanks votes. Thanks received are converted into a charitable donation.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more

Keep Track of How Much Your Car Truly Costs with Car Logbook

It’s a very well established fact that cars are expensive. In addition to … more

New Nvidia SHIELD Tablet OTA! Moto G 4G Gets Official CyangenMod 11 Nightlies – XDA Developer TV

The Nvidia SHIELD Tablet gets its … more

Prevent Apps from Locking Screen Orientation with HaveOwnOrientation

Most applications on Android play nicely with both landscape and … more