Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,784,443 Members 47,758 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

New android tablet kyros tablet mid 7015

Tip us?
 
havic
Old
#621  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 88
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default Whats with Rom development

Hey everyone what's up anyone trying any rom development with this thing yet.
But the factory rom is slow and sluggish.

The Froyo would be nice but unable to mount sdcard is a big turn away for me.
 
adamdietrick
Old
#622  
adamdietrick's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 225
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lakota, Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by stoned99 View Post
Wouhou! It worked! Thanks! In fact the back (cover) wasn't removed completely when the graphics became normal. Just in case, I removed it completely, disconnected the large white connector and connected it back. Powered on the device and everything was back how the graphics should look.

I made some small scratches but barely noticeable, well worth the saving of 30 bucks!

Thanks AdamTrick for that! I owe you one.

Here's a pix in case someone want to see how the board looks like

Glad to be of service!
 
havic
Old
#623  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 88
Join Date: Jan 2009
So has anyone noticed that with the froyo mod you don't need to modify the wifi settings to connect to a tether. It will allow for the connection without it.Another thing is that there was some info about not being able to play video I can't get you tube to work with the normal app but I can stream video using a program called orb. Works very well with a good wifi connection.
 
biggeorgef
Old
#624  
biggeorgef's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 99
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sunny Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by opilion View Post
What are your thoughts? With all of the new A8 based Coby tablets running 2.3 announced at CES, is the 7015 worth buying at this point? Not sure on release dates, but some have suggested as early as March. That said, I can pick up a 7015 for ~ $160 CAD today - not sure how much the new ones will sell for. My other thought is that the general consensus seems to be that the build quality of the 7015 is pretty decent - I guess there is no guarantee that the new ones will be manufactured by the same third party or to the same standards. Also not sure how much resale value the 7015 will have after 6 months. Even $160 looks kinda steep for the specs compared to the Nook Color retailing for $90 more - though Nook would require a trip to the US as I am in Canada. Canada needs more tablets!!

The impulsive side of me wants to jump on this, but I suspect it would be wiser to wait. Just feeling kinda twitchy since my PDN died
I bought this tablet for my 12-year old son for Christmas from Kmart for $140 on sale. Before I gave it to him I rooted it and installed the Google Market. It works like a champ! He uses it everyday, primarily for games and watching YouTube.

I so want to install a better ROM! It's running stock right now. So I'm looking.

BTW... I'd strongly suggest Kmart for this tablet purchase. 90-day return policy, no questions asked. And you can get a 2-year replacement warranty for $14.
 
lschroeder
Old
#625  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 371
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Video over wifi froyo vs eclair

Quote:
Originally Posted by havic View Post
So has anyone noticed that with the froyo mod you don't need to modify the wifi settings to connect to a tether. It will allow for the connection without it.Another thing is that there was some info about not being able to play video I can't get you tube to work with the normal app but I can stream video using a program called orb. Works very well with a good wifi connection.
Did you try the orb video with android eclair 2.1? My orb live tv and video drop out with android 2.1 on my rooted gapp 7015. My orb is an older version running on XP 2.8 single core Athlon computer. I can not use the current version of orb because the XP Athlon cpu is too weak.

I can get my HAVA (sling box like) to work in 2.1 when I stream a SD at low quality over my wifi g network although it takes a long time to buffer. By the way I also have Pogo Plug.

Pogo Plug and orb will stream music fine in 2.1 but the video mp4 starts and shortly stops.

I have been thinking about installing froyo but currently convert my Beyond TV files with VideoRedo TVSuite, removing the padding and/or commercials, to mp4 and use the eclair video players for playback. I could use froyo over wifi instead.
 
jtgoody
Old
#626  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by lschroeder View Post
Did you try the orb video with android eclair 2.1? My orb live tv and video drop out with android 2.1 on my rooted gapp 7015. My orb is an older version running on XP 2.8 single core Athlon computer. I can not use the current version of orb because the XP Athlon cpu is too weak.

I can get my HAVA (sling box like) to work in 2.1 when I stream a SD at low quality over my wifi g network although it takes a long time to buffer. By the way I also have Pogo Plug.

Pogo Plug and orb will stream music fine in 2.1 but the video mp4 starts and shortly stops.

I have been thinking about installing froyo but currently convert my Beyond TV files with VideoRedo TVSuite, removing the padding and/or commercials, to mp4 and use the eclair video players for playback. I could use froyo over wifi instead.
How did you get your hava working? I am using testtube on my lg ally. Testtube dosent show up in the market on my kyros. I pulled the apk off my phone and installed it on the kyros. it runs but when searching for a connection it can not find the hava(the settings are identical for the ally which works fine). I know i must be missing something here to get my hava working on the kyros would be amazing.
 
lschroeder
Old
#627  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 371
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtgoody View Post
How did you get your hava working? I am using testtube on my lg ally. Testtube dosent show up in the market on my kyros. I pulled the apk off my phone and installed it on the kyros. it runs but when searching for a connection it can not find the hava(the settings are identical for the ally which works fine). I know i must be missing something here to get my hava working on the kyros would be amazing.
Use the market to get VulkanoPlayer,apk. Moonsoon new player for Vulkano box that works on their legacy HAVA boxes.

I used the xscope trial web browser from 7015 to install the beta version of VulkanPlayer.apk from the link below. It works slightly better for me than the market version. Both barely syncs, always seems to want to be Optimizing..., this is using an SD channel with Live streaming quality set to Low.

http://monsoonftp.com/web/VulkanoPlayer.apk
 
symbiiote
Old
#628  
symbiiote's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 212
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New York City
is there a good working froyo for the kyros yet? and also, when i flash my recovery and boot into it it works but after i restart and try to boot into it it goes to the stock recovery....why?
Current Stuffs:
Samsung Galaxy Note III SM-N900 Rooted.
Dell Venue 8 PRO
Acer Iconia A1-830

If i help you out and you feel like giving please give back =]
Amazon Wishlist
 
teamw
Old
#629  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2010
I am a novice in this mod business, but did get my 7015 rooted and loaded with Marketplace using procedures explained here. Downloaded and installed the free Dish Remote Access streaming video ap to connect to my 922 sling server. It won't load - flashes a black screen with a dish header before returning immediately to home.

Could someone please see if this ap will load on a machine with cyanogen mod installed. If anyone has Dish and can try connecting, so much the better. But just knowing it will load will be sufficient for me to try to do the mod. Don't want to try it otherwise, because I will be returning the 7015 if the Dish ap will not work, and I don't want to brick it - which is a 50-50 prospect with my lack of knowledge.

Thanks
 
stoned99
Old
#630  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 419
Join Date: Aug 2010
Some bad news. The device started again to display graphics. Poped it open, removed the white ribbon, connected it again, still the same problem. I have no doubt that the problem resides in there since when I completely remove the ribbon, the screen went all white and when I plugged it back in the colors started to show.

Unfortunately there must be something wrong with the ribbon or the other side of the connector (side of the touchscreen) but I can't unscrew the screws since I need to have "super duper extra tiny" screwdriver but I don't. Anyway, I also had problems with the unit not turning on recently or not charging so I decided to ship the unit back to Coby to repair both problems. Let's hope they don't argue that because it is rooted and has the market on it, it voids the warranty. I wish I could have remove it first but without a display it's not an easy job.

I should get it back in 6 to 8 weeks.

My wife will really miss it since she's in maternity leave and was using it as a ebook reader and to play Solitaire

The only good thing I can see about having to wait 8 weeks is we might have some more improvements to it and making a fully working CyanogenMod

Tags
coby, kyros
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes