Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] integrated GPS on both Rogers and AT&T Focus

OP fastmhc

28th November 2010, 03:10 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Does both Rogers and AT&T Samsung Focus have a built in GPS (don't need a data plan)? Ever site I've looked at for the specs gives conflicting information.
28th November 2010, 04:10 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 14
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastmhc

Does both Rogers and AT&T Samsung Focus have a built in GPS (don't need a data plan)? Ever site I've looked at for the specs gives conflicting information.

As I understand, my focus at&t has built in GPS that can be used with and without a data plan. It just depends what GPS software you are using for instance any GPS software that uses realtime updates or online maps requires data to be used while GPS is enabled...some 3rd party software use stored on device offline maps that would not require a data plan. As for specific programs that use online and offline maps I don't know. I use a data plan so I don't have to worry about that stuff.

This is my understanding so if anyone has better insight be my guest
28th November 2010, 03:58 PM   |  #3  
wildbilll's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St. Louis
Thanks Meter: 14
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
All WP7 phones have a GPS, just like they all have a camera, three front buttons, a gravity sensor, proximity sensor, ambient light sensor and a compass. There are free GPS apps that are on the Marketplace that will allow you to see the GPS does work.
In time, there will be standalone gps navigation apps for sale on the Marketplace, it just takes a little patience.
Last edited by wildbilll; 28th November 2010 at 04:36 PM.
28th November 2010, 05:53 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
I just don't want assisted GPS (A-GPS). I want an integrated GPS chip. All phones dont' have a built in GPS (I think older iphones). I currently have a Samsung i8910 and it has an integrated GPS. I bought Garmin software to use the GPS maps and when I am overseas I just need to buy the maps for that region to access the maps. If you have A-GPS you have to buy a data plan from that country's carrier and using their network, you access the internet (google maps) to get your maps. I hope that is clear??
28th November 2010, 06:10 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 208
 
2,597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
You totally misunderstood what A-GPS is.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App
28th November 2010, 06:22 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Maybe I don't? this is a quote for the wiki page for GPS navigation for phones
" Some phones with GPS capability work by assisted GPS (A-GPS) only, and do not function when out of range of their carrier's cell towers. "
28th November 2010, 07:52 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag Victoria
Thanks Meter: 4
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
WP7's have A-GPS. They use both radio towers and satellites to obtain a fix on your location.
So yes, once a proper mapping application is released, you can travel to other countries without needing a data plan.
28th November 2010, 07:59 PM   |  #8  
Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 0
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
From wiki, sums it up pretty well i would say:

""Standalone" or "Autonomous" GPS operation use radio signals from satellites alone. A-GPS additionally uses network resources to locate and utilize the satellites faster as well as better in poor signal conditions."

Source:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assisted_GPS
28th November 2010, 09:37 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 208
 
2,597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastmhc

Maybe I don't? this is a quote for the wiki page for GPS navigation for phones
" Some phones with GPS capability work by assisted GPS (A-GPS) only, and do not function when out of range of their carrier's cell towers. "

Most of today's cell phone GPS chips can work either in standalone mode or Assited mode. A(ssited)-GPS helps to speed up your initial satellite lock by downloading satellite information from network. If you have no data connection, the chip will fall back to standalone mode. With A-GPS properly working, you can achive first lock within 10 seconds. Without it, you may have to wait for couple minutes for your first lock. After the initial lock these GPS chips work autonomously unless you use MS-Assited A-GPS mode. With the power of today's Smartphone, there is zero reason for using MS-Assisted mode unless you're using it in E911 situations.

It is ultimately the navigation software you choose determines whether or not you need cell data connection. Currently standalone navigation software on WP7 is quite limited or non-existent. If that is important to you, you may want to look for other Smartphones like iPhone or Android phones. Your old WM software won't work in WP7.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes