Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

How to install recovery?

28th November 2010, 06:09 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
who can tell me how to install recovery by terminal, cause i don't know how to use adb shell,.
when i input the adb shell to cmd, it is always showing "erro, device not found", but i have installed the usb drivers.
hope someone can help me!!!
thanks
28th November 2010, 09:01 PM   |  #2  
eigokyoukan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 308
 
705 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Are you making sure to set USB Debug Mode?

Settings>Applications>Development>Check "USB Debugging"

Make sure you are set to charge only, not USB Disk Mode.

Also make sure you have rooted first. I used Z4Root from the Market.

Just a couple basic things to check... I do not know of a way personally to do it through the terminal, I used ADB.
The Following User Says Thank You to eigokyoukan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th November 2010, 01:51 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel_liu

who can tell me how to install recovery by terminal, cause i don't know how to use adb shell,.
when i input the adb shell to cmd, it is always showing "erro, device not found", but i have installed the usb drivers.
hope someone can help me!!!
thanks

Put recovery-RA-GNM-thunderg-1.1.0.img and flash_image on the sdcard. Then open the terminal (you can use terminal emulator, from market) and give the following commands:

$ su

# mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock1 /system

# cat /mnt/sdcard/flash_image > /system/bin/flash_image

# chmod 755 /system/bin/flash_image

# flash_image recovery /mnt/sdcard/recovery-RA-GNM-thunderg-1.1.0.img

# reboot recovery
29th November 2010, 02:11 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Thanks very much,
i have solved the problem with the termiral,
but now i want to know if the hongkong version can flash the rom of v10c and other custom rom?
30th November 2010, 03:37 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Hello,

I've tried to install recovery but when my phone reboot I've got
Code:
Fastboot mode started 
udc_start()
Somebody can help me ?

thx

ps: sorry for my poor english
30th November 2010, 04:29 PM   |  #6  
The_ERROR's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ostrava (mostly)
Thanks Meter: 361
 
587 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lgaut

Hello,

I've tried to install recovery but when my phone reboot I've got

Code:
Fastboot mode started 
udc_start()
Somebody can help me ?

thx

ps: sorry for my poor english

Is it everything what you got?
30th November 2010, 04:32 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Yes, when i start my phone, i use key : vol_down + home + power, and juste after LG splashscreen, black screen with this code
30th November 2010, 05:15 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
It looks like you got into fastboot mode. Try flashing the recovery image using fastboot. If it doesn't work, enter emergency mode and flash the original firmware with kdz updater.
30th November 2010, 06:38 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
When i try
Code:
fastboot.exe flash boot recovery-RA-GNM-thunderg-1.1.0.img
I've this message :
Code:
sending 'boot' (4910 KB)... OKAY
writing 'boot'... FAILED (remote: flash write failure)
30th November 2010, 07:09 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lgaut

When i try

Code:
fastboot.exe flash boot recovery-RA-GNM-thunderg-1.1.0.img
I've this message :
Code:
sending 'boot' (4910 KB)... OKAY
writing 'boot'... FAILED (remote: flash write failure)


The image recovery-RA-GNM-thunderg-1.1.0.img has to be flashed on the recovery partition, not on the boot partition. The right command is:

fastboot.exe flash recovery recovery-RA-GNM-thunderg-1.1.0.img

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes