Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,580 Members 40,685 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] Step by Step ROM Firmware Upgrade & Migration to Froyo 2.2 [JL2] Bell I9000M

Tip us?
 
AllGamer
Old
(Last edited by AllGamer; 25th December 2010 at 04:48 PM.)
#1  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 1575
Posts: 11,521
Join Date: May 2008
Location: buried under loads of work IRL

 
DONATE TO ME
Arrow [GUIDE] Step by Step ROM Firmware Upgrade & Migration to Froyo 2.2 [JL2] Bell I9000M


[WARNING!] Do Not flash Any ROM until you can get the 3 buttons DOWNLOAD MODE working

[CAUTION!] Make sure you know what your doing before you flash any ROM. It is your own fault if you kill your phone.


By following this Guide you Agree with all of the above and consequences that follow

Before you begin...

Make a full backup of everything with Titanium Backup
Make a full backup with CW ROM Manager
Mount your SD card
Manually drag/drop the CW ROM backup and Titanium Backup from the phone to your PC
If you have CoPilot, make sure to snatch the whole copilot directory from the internal SD to your PC... it'll save you the trouble to have to re-configure & re-download the maps later

Now you can Have Fun & Happy Flashing!

Part 1

Choose your update method, you can Flash via the scary ODIN, or via the "safe" KIES.
Each will have its own set of conundrums & gotchas.

If ODIN, follow these steps:
If successful:
  • boot into Recovery Mode
  • wipe data
  • wipe cache
  • reboot back to normal
If WiFi:
  • Scan for WiFi connections
  • Select your preferred WiFi connection
  • Enter password
Else If APN:
  • Create new APN
  • Save and Exit APN
  • Enable APN
  • Download SuperOneClick from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=803682
  • run SuperOneClick
  • Select Root
  • Let it reboot
  • Sign in to you google account
  • Download Titanium Backup via Android Market
  • Run Titanium Backup
  • Restore ONLY!! USER APPS/DATA of your Backup from SD or DropBox, DO NOT RESTORE SYSTEM APPS/DATA
If KIES, follow these steps:
  • Install latest version of Kies (If not already installed)
  • Download Kies registry patch http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=835628
  • Select your model "BMC"
  • Start KIES
  • plug in the USB cable (pc to phone)
  • It should tell you there is a new firmware available
  • click on firmware update
  • follow KIES on screen instructions
  • Allow it to update
Note #1: If you get and error about KIES Server not available, just retry a few times until you get it, you might even need to wait a couple of hours for it to come back
Note #2: If KIES says something like JK4: "This device's version cannot be upgraded." use the registry patch to make KIES believe you have JG9 or JH2, and it will let you upgrade to JL2


If successful:
  • boot into Recovery Mode
  • wipe data
  • wipe cache
  • reboot back to normal
If WiFi:
  • Scan for WiFi connections
  • Select your preferred WiFi connection
  • Enter password
Else If APN:
  • Create new APN
  • Save and Exit APN
  • Enable APN
  • Download SuperOneClick from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=803682
  • run SuperOneClick
  • Select Root
  • Let it reboot
  • Sign in to you google account
  • Download Titanium Backup via Android Market
  • Run Titanium Backup
  • Restore ONLY!! USER APPS/DATA of your Backup from SD or DropBox, DO NOT RESTORE SYSTEM APPS/DATA

Part 2

Take advantage of the new features in Froyo 2.2
  • Install Move Apps to SD (many to choose from), as the name implies it lets you swap the installed apps from internal memory to SD card. Titanium Backup also has a buildin feature to mass move Apps 2 SD
  • Install TrafficStats, lets you monitor which App is using the internet

Troubleshooting & Known Bugs

Note 1: Titanium Backup
in newer versions of TB the batch option has been renamed to "Restore missing apps with data"
Then on the next screen you get to choose if you want to restore
user apps + data, or user apps only, or user data only

BUG: Titanium Backup might get stuck when doing loooooooong batch operations in Froyo, if you jump to another App or do something else and then come back, the status on the system tray will remain forever there, and will not end, you'll have to manually Kill it using any task manager app.

Note 2: External SD
in Eclair 2.1 the External SD was on /sdcard/sd/
in Froyo 2.2 the External SD has been moved to /sdcard/external_sd/
you'll have to manually update Apps that uses hard coded paths

Note 3: Restoring CoPilot
Let Titanium Backup finish the 400+ apps restore
Copy the Copilot folder you backed up earlier back to Internal SD from PC or External SD
Run Copilot,
The registration key should already be listed in the box
Hit Ok
It should say Activation Completed Successfully, with the thumbs up picture

Note 4: Re-install No LED
After restoring No Led from backup it kept complaining about it needing to be re-installed
Once you re-install it, everything works great as usual.

Note 5: News and Weather Genie Widget does not work on 2.2
It's NOT compatible with Froyo, it keeps force closing everytime you try to run it.
Good thing is, this App was totally optional, it was just a plug in for DeskClock which itself was a plug in for Alarm Clock PlusV2? (the best alarm app for android)

Note 6: Z4Root not showing on market for some people
if you are having trouble with market, the alternative is to download it from the topic
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=833953




Thanks to: TriC_101, ragin, Chainfire for JL2 tar ball, RyanZA, TitaniuBackup developer(s), and all the great people in XDA-Developers.com

Donation is appreciated but not required, a cup of Coffee would suffice

Samsung i9000m: on CM10
Samsung Nexus S: on JB 4.2.2
Samsung Galaxy S II SGH-T989: on CM10
Samsung Galaxy NOTE SGH-i717r: on CM10
Samsung Galaxy NOTE 3 SM-N900W8: stock 4.3
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to AllGamer For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
snapper.fishes
Old
#2  
snapper.fishes's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 280
Posts: 1,602
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Surely this should be in the development section?
 
yiannisthegreek
Old
#3  
yiannisthegreek's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 198
Posts: 1,875
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
Thanks Allgamer... I asked this question yesterday in the Q and A section and now you have made a fantastic list of steps.

Not sure if my question inspired you to do this but THANKS FOR IT!!!

Sent from my GT-I9000M using XDA App


 


Current Devices:

Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy Note II (N7100) - 16G

Secondary Device: None at this time

Tablet: None at this time

Prior Devices:

Android - SGS, Nexus S, Infuse 4G, SGSII, Galaxy Nexus (x2), Galaxy Note, SGSIII

WM / WP7 - Omnia (still own), HD7, Lumia 900

Tablets - Xoom, Galaxy Tab 10.1
 
AllGamer
Old
(Last edited by AllGamer; 28th November 2010 at 06:06 PM.)
#4  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 1575
Posts: 11,521
Join Date: May 2008
Location: buried under loads of work IRL

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Froyo Quick Review

Froyo is Awesome!

After upgrading to 2.2, i found a whole bunch of apps which was no longer necessary, as many of the status/features i wanted already came build in, or allowed other apps which i already had installed before to work even better

by unlocking some of its feature that was only accessible on 2.2, but disabled on 2.1

the JK3 came with all the Broadware from Bell, had to uninstall a bunch of them

Overall the phone now runs really really smooth, specially when Installing Apps on Android Market and doing other stuff, it no longer hangs for a few sec until it finishes the install

back in 2.1 the phone was working great, but everytime an App is installed via Market, it will hang abit until it's done installing, and sometimes it gets very annoying when you have like 20 apps updates to install

still need to test the GPS using Google Maps / Track to see if it made any improvement on the accuracy.

no changes to CoPilot, it still work just perfect as usual

Donation is appreciated but not required, a cup of Coffee would suffice

Samsung i9000m: on CM10
Samsung Nexus S: on JB 4.2.2
Samsung Galaxy S II SGH-T989: on CM10
Samsung Galaxy NOTE SGH-i717r: on CM10
Samsung Galaxy NOTE 3 SM-N900W8: stock 4.3
 
yiannisthegreek
Old
#5  
yiannisthegreek's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 198
Posts: 1,875
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
@Allgamer,

What doy ou mean exactly by the following?...


If WiFi:
•Scan for WiFi connections
•Select your preferred WiFi connection
•Enter password

Else If APN:
•Create new APN
•Save and Exit APN
•Enable APN


Are these things that get messed up when you flash to JK3 that need to be fixed?
 
AllGamer
Old
#6  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 1575
Posts: 11,521
Join Date: May 2008
Location: buried under loads of work IRL

 
DONATE TO ME
no no, those are just steps to go Online to the Internet and access Android Market for the rest of the steps

Quote:
Originally Posted by yiannisthegreek View Post
@Allgamer,

What doy ou mean exactly by the following?...


If WiFi:
•Scan for WiFi connections
•Select your preferred WiFi connection
•Enter password

Else If APN:
•Create new APN
•Save and Exit APN
•Enable APN


Are these things that get messed up when you flash to JK3 that need to be fixed?

Donation is appreciated but not required, a cup of Coffee would suffice

Samsung i9000m: on CM10
Samsung Nexus S: on JB 4.2.2
Samsung Galaxy S II SGH-T989: on CM10
Samsung Galaxy NOTE SGH-i717r: on CM10
Samsung Galaxy NOTE 3 SM-N900W8: stock 4.3
 
yiannisthegreek
Old
(Last edited by yiannisthegreek; 28th November 2010 at 08:26 PM.)
#7  
yiannisthegreek's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 198
Posts: 1,875
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllGamer View Post
no no, those are just steps to go Online to the Internet and access Android Market for the rest of the steps
Ahhhhh... Ok... I get it... I think... LOL!!! Can you answer these for me as well?...

I am currently rooted. Do I have to "unroot" before I flash?

Also... I am having trouble with the patcher so... Is all you have to enter under "product code" is BMC? Also... Do you have to switch the spoof from False to True and then before running Kies do you have rto click on "read Registry"?

I installed the patcher and everytime I run it I get two error boxes stating that the file path is not specified and that it has not been set as an object, etc...

Can you help me on these steps and can you tell me... How did YOU flash? ODIN or Kies (Registry Patch)?
 
evilgabbie
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 96
Join Date: Aug 2005
Is there anyway of just extracting the CSC and MODEM from the Tar file ?
 
Videonut
Old
(Last edited by Videonut; 28th November 2010 at 09:21 PM.)
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 162
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lost@ Android Market
Quote:
Originally Posted by yiannisthegreek View Post
Ahhhhh... Ok... I get it... I think... LOL!!! Can you answer these for me as well?...

I am currently rooted. Do I have to "unroot" before I flash?

Also... I am having trouble with the patcher so... Is all you have to enter under "product code" is BMC? Also... Do you have to switch the spoof from False to True and then before running Kies do you have rto click on "read Registry"?

I installed the patcher and everytime I run it I get two error boxes stating that the file path is not specified and that it has not been set as an object, etc...

Can you help me on these steps and can you tell me... How did YOU flash? ODIN or Kies (Registry Patch)?
No need to unroot
You have to set Spoofer to true, Select BMC and click WRITE registry.
Do you have .net framework installed?
 
xZeDgEx
Old
#10  
xZeDgEx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 294
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Calgary
Less than 10 min, now on Froyo. Thanks!

Tags
jk3, jk4
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes