Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[GUIDE] Step by Step ROM Firmware Upgrade & Migration to Froyo 2.2 [JL2] Bell I9000M

OP AllGamer

28th November 2010, 10:58 AM   |  #1  
AllGamer's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,580
 
11,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More

[WARNING!] Do Not flash Any ROM until you can get the 3 buttons DOWNLOAD MODE working

[CAUTION!] Make sure you know what your doing before you flash any ROM. It is your own fault if you kill your phone.


By following this Guide you Agree with all of the above and consequences that follow

Before you begin...

Make a full backup of everything with Titanium Backup
Make a full backup with CW ROM Manager
Mount your SD card
Manually drag/drop the CW ROM backup and Titanium Backup from the phone to your PC
If you have CoPilot, make sure to snatch the whole copilot directory from the internal SD to your PC... it'll save you the trouble to have to re-configure & re-download the maps later

Now you can Have Fun & Happy Flashing!

Part 1

Choose your update method, you can Flash via the scary ODIN, or via the "safe" KIES.
Each will have its own set of conundrums & gotchas.

If ODIN, follow these steps:
If successful:
  • boot into Recovery Mode
  • wipe data
  • wipe cache
  • reboot back to normal
If WiFi:
  • Scan for WiFi connections
  • Select your preferred WiFi connection
  • Enter password
Else If APN:
  • Create new APN
  • Save and Exit APN
  • Enable APN
  • Download SuperOneClick from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=803682
  • run SuperOneClick
  • Select Root
  • Let it reboot
  • Sign in to you google account
  • Download Titanium Backup via Android Market
  • Run Titanium Backup
  • Restore ONLY!! USER APPS/DATA of your Backup from SD or DropBox, DO NOT RESTORE SYSTEM APPS/DATA
If KIES, follow these steps:
  • Install latest version of Kies (If not already installed)
  • Download Kies registry patch http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=835628
  • Select your model "BMC"
  • Start KIES
  • plug in the USB cable (pc to phone)
  • It should tell you there is a new firmware available
  • click on firmware update
  • follow KIES on screen instructions
  • Allow it to update
Note #1: If you get and error about KIES Server not available, just retry a few times until you get it, you might even need to wait a couple of hours for it to come back
Note #2: If KIES says something like JK4: "This device's version cannot be upgraded." use the registry patch to make KIES believe you have JG9 or JH2, and it will let you upgrade to JL2


If successful:
  • boot into Recovery Mode
  • wipe data
  • wipe cache
  • reboot back to normal
If WiFi:
  • Scan for WiFi connections
  • Select your preferred WiFi connection
  • Enter password
Else If APN:
  • Create new APN
  • Save and Exit APN
  • Enable APN
  • Download SuperOneClick from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=803682
  • run SuperOneClick
  • Select Root
  • Let it reboot
  • Sign in to you google account
  • Download Titanium Backup via Android Market
  • Run Titanium Backup
  • Restore ONLY!! USER APPS/DATA of your Backup from SD or DropBox, DO NOT RESTORE SYSTEM APPS/DATA

Part 2

Take advantage of the new features in Froyo 2.2
  • Install Move Apps to SD (many to choose from), as the name implies it lets you swap the installed apps from internal memory to SD card. Titanium Backup also has a buildin feature to mass move Apps 2 SD
  • Install TrafficStats, lets you monitor which App is using the internet

Troubleshooting & Known Bugs

Note 1: Titanium Backup
in newer versions of TB the batch option has been renamed to "Restore missing apps with data"
Then on the next screen you get to choose if you want to restore
user apps + data, or user apps only, or user data only

BUG: Titanium Backup might get stuck when doing loooooooong batch operations in Froyo, if you jump to another App or do something else and then come back, the status on the system tray will remain forever there, and will not end, you'll have to manually Kill it using any task manager app.

Note 2: External SD
in Eclair 2.1 the External SD was on /sdcard/sd/
in Froyo 2.2 the External SD has been moved to /sdcard/external_sd/
you'll have to manually update Apps that uses hard coded paths

Note 3: Restoring CoPilot
Let Titanium Backup finish the 400+ apps restore
Copy the Copilot folder you backed up earlier back to Internal SD from PC or External SD
Run Copilot,
The registration key should already be listed in the box
Hit Ok
It should say Activation Completed Successfully, with the thumbs up picture

Note 4: Re-install No LED
After restoring No Led from backup it kept complaining about it needing to be re-installed
Once you re-install it, everything works great as usual.

Note 5: News and Weather Genie Widget does not work on 2.2
It's NOT compatible with Froyo, it keeps force closing everytime you try to run it.
Good thing is, this App was totally optional, it was just a plug in for DeskClock which itself was a plug in for Alarm Clock PlusV2? (the best alarm app for android)

Note 6: Z4Root not showing on market for some people
if you are having trouble with market, the alternative is to download it from the topic
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=833953




Thanks to: TriC_101, ragin, Chainfire for JL2 tar ball, RyanZA, TitaniuBackup developer(s), and all the great people in XDA-Developers.com
Last edited by AllGamer; 25th December 2010 at 05:48 PM.
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to AllGamer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th November 2010, 06:04 PM   |  #2  
snapper.fishes's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 281
 
1,611 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Surely this should be in the development section?
28th November 2010, 06:39 PM   |  #3  
yiannisthegreek's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 198
 
1,875 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Thanks Allgamer... I asked this question yesterday in the Q and A section and now you have made a fantastic list of steps.

Not sure if my question inspired you to do this but THANKS FOR IT!!!

Sent from my GT-I9000M using XDA App
28th November 2010, 07:01 PM   |  #4  
AllGamer's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,580
 
11,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Froyo Quick Review
Froyo is Awesome!

After upgrading to 2.2, i found a whole bunch of apps which was no longer necessary, as many of the status/features i wanted already came build in, or allowed other apps which i already had installed before to work even better

by unlocking some of its feature that was only accessible on 2.2, but disabled on 2.1

the JK3 came with all the Broadware from Bell, had to uninstall a bunch of them

Overall the phone now runs really really smooth, specially when Installing Apps on Android Market and doing other stuff, it no longer hangs for a few sec until it finishes the install

back in 2.1 the phone was working great, but everytime an App is installed via Market, it will hang abit until it's done installing, and sometimes it gets very annoying when you have like 20 apps updates to install

still need to test the GPS using Google Maps / Track to see if it made any improvement on the accuracy.

no changes to CoPilot, it still work just perfect as usual
Last edited by AllGamer; 28th November 2010 at 07:06 PM.
28th November 2010, 07:46 PM   |  #5  
yiannisthegreek's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 198
 
1,875 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
@Allgamer,

What doy ou mean exactly by the following?...


If WiFi:
•Scan for WiFi connections
•Select your preferred WiFi connection
•Enter password

Else If APN:
•Create new APN
•Save and Exit APN
•Enable APN


Are these things that get messed up when you flash to JK3 that need to be fixed?
28th November 2010, 07:48 PM   |  #6  
AllGamer's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,580
 
11,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
no no, those are just steps to go Online to the Internet and access Android Market for the rest of the steps

Quote:
Originally Posted by yiannisthegreek

@Allgamer,

What doy ou mean exactly by the following?...


If WiFi:
•Scan for WiFi connections
•Select your preferred WiFi connection
•Enter password

Else If APN:
•Create new APN
•Save and Exit APN
•Enable APN


Are these things that get messed up when you flash to JK3 that need to be fixed?

28th November 2010, 08:47 PM   |  #7  
yiannisthegreek's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 198
 
1,875 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllGamer

no no, those are just steps to go Online to the Internet and access Android Market for the rest of the steps

Ahhhhh... Ok... I get it... I think... LOL!!! Can you answer these for me as well?...

I am currently rooted. Do I have to "unroot" before I flash?

Also... I am having trouble with the patcher so... Is all you have to enter under "product code" is BMC? Also... Do you have to switch the spoof from False to True and then before running Kies do you have rto click on "read Registry"?

I installed the patcher and everytime I run it I get two error boxes stating that the file path is not specified and that it has not been set as an object, etc...

Can you help me on these steps and can you tell me... How did YOU flash? ODIN or Kies (Registry Patch)?
Last edited by yiannisthegreek; 28th November 2010 at 09:26 PM.
28th November 2010, 08:56 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2005
Is there anyway of just extracting the CSC and MODEM from the Tar file ?
28th November 2010, 10:17 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Lost@ Android Market
Thanks Meter: 5
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yiannisthegreek

Ahhhhh... Ok... I get it... I think... LOL!!! Can you answer these for me as well?...

I am currently rooted. Do I have to "unroot" before I flash?

Also... I am having trouble with the patcher so... Is all you have to enter under "product code" is BMC? Also... Do you have to switch the spoof from False to True and then before running Kies do you have rto click on "read Registry"?

I installed the patcher and everytime I run it I get two error boxes stating that the file path is not specified and that it has not been set as an object, etc...

Can you help me on these steps and can you tell me... How did YOU flash? ODIN or Kies (Registry Patch)?

No need to unroot
You have to set Spoofer to true, Select BMC and click WRITE registry.
Do you have .net framework installed?
Last edited by Videonut; 28th November 2010 at 10:21 PM.
28th November 2010, 11:11 PM   |  #10  
xZeDgEx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 13
 
294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Thumbs up
Less than 10 min, now on Froyo. Thanks!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
jk3, jk4
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes