Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Weird issue with Froyo ringtones (DK17 ANY rom)

OP trobertson

29th November 2010, 12:52 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I have noticed that after removing the stock apps that are normally safe to remove, mp3 ringtones start causing force closes (when trying to save settings). This is also happening to me on both quantum and viper. I did a trial and error and it seems the problem may be tied to drm o.O. How is this possible if that file was safe to remove in 2.1? I could also be wrong about the problematic apk, the problem takes a little while to manifest itself so I can't tell 100% for sure which apk breaks it.
29th November 2010, 12:59 AM   |  #2  
DiNoise's Avatar
Senior Member
NorCal
Thanks Meter: 17
 
188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
I think it is DRM, I had problems with it in 2.1 so I decided not to remove it but just kill the process when I reboot.
29th November 2010, 01:01 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I never had a problem in 2.1. It seems removing the the service apk is okay though ). Seems the culprit is indeed DrmUA.apk. All the devs should note this.
29th November 2010, 01:04 AM   |  #4  
Aluminous's Avatar
Member
Flag Seoul
Thanks Meter: 20
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
More
I've encountered this same problem, only it started before DK17 (~DK05 I think). No problems removing DRM APKs on 2.1, but on 2.2 mp3 ringtones caused forcecloses. Even opening the same file with the music player (not in the settings app) forceclosed. The problem went away when I reinstalled the SisoDrmProvider apk, the DrmUA one didn't seem to be necessary, nor did it seem necessary to have any drm services running.

I wonder if froyo handles data for removed application differently than eclair... On eclair, I heard of some people being able to remove the DRM APKs as long as they didn't clear the data (I always forgot), perhaps froyo deletes the data when the DRM APKs are removed?
Last edited by Aluminous; 29th November 2010 at 01:08 AM.
30th November 2010, 11:13 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
So DrmUA isn't neccesary for you, but SisoDrmProvider is? Weird.. I'm on stock (with my own modifications of course) and i removed siso but not drmua and have had no problems. Very very strange.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes