5,603,646 Members 36,909 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Disable Cell Standby (increase battery life)

Tip us?
 
raydog153
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 88
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default Disable Cell Standby (increase battery life)

I noticed that I had a lot of battery usage from 'Cell Standy' so I put together this update that removes the phone apks that have to deal with the phone system, which doesn't exist on this device. I have only tested this on CM6.1b4 rom. It only deletes 4 apks. Afterwards you won't see cell standby in the battery usage. Use at own risk, and backup system first.

On a side note, I followed this thread as well to reduce redraw lag for the home screen, seems much faster now: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/bug...sonite801.html
Attached Files
File Type: zip RemoveCellStandby.zip - [Click for QR Code] (723 Bytes, 3665 views)
Moto DROID 1 BuglessBeast by Pete w/Froyo 2.2
VS GTablet Vegan B3
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to raydog153 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
it2steve
Old
#2  
it2steve's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 698
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: DFW, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by raydog153 View Post
I noticed that I had a lot of battery usage from 'Cell Standy' so I put together this update that removes the phone apks that have to deal with the phone system, which doesn't exist on this device. I have only tested this on CM6.1b4 rom. It only deletes 4 apks. Afterwards you won't see cell standby in the battery usage. Use at own risk, and backup system first.

On a side note, I followed this thread as well to reduce redraw lag for the home screen, seems much faster now: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/bug...sonite801.html
Thanks for the shortcut... For those of us that 'may' already have removed some of the .apk's, could you list which ones you have removed in this?
 
h4x0rjdag
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 66
Join Date: Jan 2010
i dont have this usage. tnt doesnt come with that because vs knew they didn't add cellular resources anyways. but i could be wrong. but i have no usage with that title. however 12% is used by (blank) no name
 
rothnic
Old
#4  
rothnic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 278
Posts: 810
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by h4x0rjdag View Post
i dont have this usage. tnt doesnt come with that because vs knew they didn't add cellular resources anyways. but i could be wrong. but i have no usage with that title. however 12% is used by (blank) no name
Right. CM is made for phones only so far, and Zpad versions do have a radio. So, that is what this would be useful for.

Thanks for putting this together, I'll have to check it out.
 
it2steve
Old
#5  
it2steve's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 698
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: DFW, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Rothnic.. Please let us know what you find out.... It would probably be just as easy to remove the apk's with root explorer, unless there's something else?

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
..... helping make the world an 'android friendly' place
 
raydog153
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 88
Join Date: Nov 2007
Yes it would be just as easy to remove with root explorer, I just wanted to experiment with creating an update for my own learning as well. The apk's are Phone, Mms, VioceDialer, and TelephonyProvider.
Moto DROID 1 BuglessBeast by Pete w/Froyo 2.2
VS GTablet Vegan B3
 
h4x0rjdag
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 66
Join Date: Jan 2010
i'm curious, when i try to install google voice it won't let me becuase it tries to pull voicemail settings. if i were to slap that services on my TnT would it let me install ? lol
 
raydog153
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 88
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by h4x0rjdag View Post
i'm curious, when i try to install google voice it won't let me becuase it tries to pull voicemail settings. if i were to slap that services on my TnT would it let me install ? lol
I have google voice installed, but can't configure it, hangs on the voicemail even thou I tell it to skip voicemail. I don't have that apk installed either, not sure if I removed it manually. I believe other people have been able to get it configured, but not working still.
Moto DROID 1 BuglessBeast by Pete w/Froyo 2.2
VS GTablet Vegan B3
 
madhouze
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 82
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by raydog153 View Post
I have google voice installed, but can't configure it, hangs on the voicemail even thou I tell it to skip voicemail. I don't have that apk installed either, not sure if I removed it manually. I believe other people have been able to get it configured, but not working still.
I've used Titanium backup to backup GV from my EVO4G and then transferred the files to my CM6.1b4 gTablet and restored it there. Works perfectly...

Although... for some reason I cannot call out using GV
 
rothnic
Old
#10  
rothnic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 278
Posts: 810
Join Date: Aug 2010
Works on Zpad, (only Phone an Telephony present). I added a link here for the the patch on the zpad page.

The Following User Says Thank You to rothnic For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

When Using GitHub, Don’t Skimp on Commit History

GitHub has become the epicenter of most open source development work that is posted … more

Verizon Droid DNA to Receive 4.4.2 KitKat + Sense 5.5 OTA This Thursday

The HTC Droid DNAis Verizon’s close cousin to the JapaneseHTC … more

Lucid Browser is Small, Lightweight, and Open Source

If there is one application category that certainly isn’t lacking in Android,and … more