5,597,313 Members 36,152 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

T-Mobile stock firmware!

Tip us?
 
maniac3389
Old
#31  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 101
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimatic View Post
I downloaded the T-Mobile_Stock.zip file. I tried to use the File[Download] option to grap the file but it does not show in the PDA section nor the Phone/CSC sections either. It wants .tar files Am I missing something? Can you clarify?
Did you unzip it? There should be a tar file inside of the zip, that's what goes in PDA.

Sent from my SGH-I987 using XDA App
 
slimatic
Old
#32  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by maniac3389 View Post
Did you unzip it? There should be a tar file inside of the zip, that's what goes in PDA.

Sent from my SGH-I987 using XDA App
Did not find the tar file. Contents were:

dbdata.rfs
modem.bin
cache.rfs
factoryfs.rfs
zImage
param.lfs
 
maniac3389
Old
#33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 101
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimatic View Post
Did not find the tar file. Contents were:

dbdata.rfs
modem.bin
cache.rfs
factoryfs.rfs
zImage
param.lfs
It sounds like somehow you unzipped then untarred it. If I remember correctly, the tar was inside of the zip. Those files listed are the contents of the tar archive.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App
 
slimatic
Old
#34  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by maniac3389 View Post
It sounds like somehow you unzipped then untarred it. If I remember correctly, the tar was inside of the zip. Those files listed are the contents of the tar archive.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App
Nope. I think the original file must have changed. I followed the download link to the parent directory and also found these in there:

Parent directory: files.deodexed.com/ModADroid-Galaxy-Tablet/T-Mobile/

ATT_Stock.zip 01-Dec-2010 08:43 214456k
P1000-JM6.tar 01-Dec-2010 01:09 326676k
T-Mobile_Stock.zip 29-Nov-2010 20:12 234356k

It might have been repackaged. Is P100-JM6 the tar you are referring to?
 
slimatic
Old
#35  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Aug 2009
I downloaded the file again and unziped it. It worked this time around. Back to stock!
 
msewidan
Old
#36  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 38
Join Date: Nov 2010
Roothammer,
I unlocked my network using the old method that "corrupted" my imei and serial. And of course didn't back up If I flash your tmobile firmware, would that fix them back? Thanks alot for your help, you dont know me but I learned a lot from you.

Thanks

Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA App
 
Volker1
Old
#37  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 259
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by msewidan View Post
I unlocked my network using the old method that "corrupted" my imei and serial. And of course didn't back up
Awesome! What could possibly go wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by msewidan View Post
If I flash your tmobile firmware, would that fix them back?
No, the firmware files never include the efs partition since that is different for each phone. No nv_data file on anyone else's tab has your IMEI in it, duh.
 
martin0641
Old
#38  
martin0641's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 111
Join Date: Jul 2010
Since the IMEI is also on the back of the tab with a little white sticker is there not a way to put it back?

Also, I thought the IMEI was usually stored in hardware and software, does changing the software value really replicate to the tower?

Sent from fone...
 
rotohammer
Old
#39  
rotohammer's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1065
Posts: 1,378
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by martin0641 View Post
Since the IMEI is also on the back of the tab with a little white sticker is there not a way to put it back?
Yes, if you know the encryption algorithm and key used to encrypt the IMEI in the nv_data.bin file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin0641 View Post
Also, I thought the IMEI was usually stored in hardware and software, does changing the software value really replicate to the tower?
Anecdotal evidence suggests yes, as anyone with a corrupted IMEI could get internet access using a phone/internet service SIM card for around 30 minutes, then was blocked. As soon as they restored their original nv_data.bin file, they became instantly blocked from the internet.
-Rotohammer
T879 Note on T-Mobile
Do not quote my entire first post in a reply!
 
Kikouyou
Old
#40  
Kikouyou's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 290
Join Date: Sep 2006
Anyone getting a pop-up with "Error 1002a" after flashing this FW?
This pop-up stays on top of all apps and only goes with reboot

Thanks
Galaxy N7000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes