FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

T-Mobile stock firmware!

1,380 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,067
 
By rotohammer, Senior Member on 30th November 2010, 02:41 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
2nd December 2010, 06:40 PM |#31  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimatic

I downloaded the T-Mobile_Stock.zip file. I tried to use the File[Download] option to grap the file but it does not show in the PDA section nor the Phone/CSC sections either. It wants .tar files Am I missing something? Can you clarify?

Did you unzip it? There should be a tar file inside of the zip, that's what goes in PDA.

Sent from my SGH-I987 using XDA App
 
 
2nd December 2010, 07:09 PM |#32  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maniac3389

Did you unzip it? There should be a tar file inside of the zip, that's what goes in PDA.

Sent from my SGH-I987 using XDA App

Did not find the tar file. Contents were:

dbdata.rfs
modem.bin
cache.rfs
factoryfs.rfs
zImage
param.lfs
2nd December 2010, 07:31 PM |#33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimatic

Did not find the tar file. Contents were:

dbdata.rfs
modem.bin
cache.rfs
factoryfs.rfs
zImage
param.lfs

It sounds like somehow you unzipped then untarred it. If I remember correctly, the tar was inside of the zip. Those files listed are the contents of the tar archive.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App
2nd December 2010, 07:36 PM |#34  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maniac3389

It sounds like somehow you unzipped then untarred it. If I remember correctly, the tar was inside of the zip. Those files listed are the contents of the tar archive.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App

Nope. I think the original file must have changed. I followed the download link to the parent directory and also found these in there:

Parent directory: files.deodexed.com/ModADroid-Galaxy-Tablet/T-Mobile/

ATT_Stock.zip 01-Dec-2010 08:43 214456k
P1000-JM6.tar 01-Dec-2010 01:09 326676k
T-Mobile_Stock.zip 29-Nov-2010 20:12 234356k

It might have been repackaged. Is P100-JM6 the tar you are referring to?
2nd December 2010, 08:52 PM |#35  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I downloaded the file again and unziped it. It worked this time around. Back to stock!
2nd December 2010, 10:59 PM |#36  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Roothammer,
I unlocked my network using the old method that "corrupted" my imei and serial. And of course didn't back up If I flash your tmobile firmware, would that fix them back? Thanks alot for your help, you dont know me but I learned a lot from you.

Thanks

Sent from my GT-P1000 using XDA App
3rd December 2010, 12:43 PM |#37  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by msewidan

I unlocked my network using the old method that "corrupted" my imei and serial. And of course didn't back up

Awesome! What could possibly go wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by msewidan

If I flash your tmobile firmware, would that fix them back?

No, the firmware files never include the efs partition since that is different for each phone. No nv_data file on anyone else's tab has your IMEI in it, duh.
3rd December 2010, 01:48 PM |#38  
martin0641's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Since the IMEI is also on the back of the tab with a little white sticker is there not a way to put it back?

Also, I thought the IMEI was usually stored in hardware and software, does changing the software value really replicate to the tower?

Sent from fone...
3rd December 2010, 08:22 PM |#39  
rotohammer's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 1,067
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by martin0641

Since the IMEI is also on the back of the tab with a little white sticker is there not a way to put it back?

Yes, if you know the encryption algorithm and key used to encrypt the IMEI in the nv_data.bin file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin0641

Also, I thought the IMEI was usually stored in hardware and software, does changing the software value really replicate to the tower?

Anecdotal evidence suggests yes, as anyone with a corrupted IMEI could get internet access using a phone/internet service SIM card for around 30 minutes, then was blocked. As soon as they restored their original nv_data.bin file, they became instantly blocked from the internet.
4th December 2010, 12:25 AM |#40  
Kikouyou's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Anyone getting a pop-up with "Error 1002a" after flashing this FW?
This pop-up stays on top of all apps and only goes with reboot

Thanks
4th December 2010, 12:44 AM |#41  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
ironically i restored this firmware just so i can return it back to t-mobile, and they didn't even turn it on barely looked at it and refunded my money lol..

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes