FORUMS

Introducing Voices of XDA: Have Your Ideas Heard

By far the greatest assets we have at XDA-Developers are you, the developers, the eager … more

Unofficial Xposed For Lollipop Touchwiz With Flashable Zip

XDA Recognized Developer arter97 has released an unofficial build … more

YotaPhone 2 Pre-Order, Xperia Z1 Price Cut – XDA TV

Android Wear 5.1.1 OTA downloads are now available. That and much more news is … more

[FTF] Sony Xperia Z Lollipop Release

Sony rolled out a Lollipop update for Xperia Z just yesterday. If you still haven’t gotten … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Guide: Mass Restoring Apps With Titanium Backup And Your Phone

4th December 2010, 07:43 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Houston
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Not content with installing apps one by one, I decided to see if Titanium Backup would work..and alas! It does!

Pre-Reqs:

1. Rooted NookColor: http://nookdevs.com/NookColor_Rooting
2. BusyBox: http://nookdevs.com/NookColor_Installing_Busybox
3. SU/Superuser.apk: http://nookdevs.com/NookColor_Instal..._Superuser_app
Titanium Backup installed on the phone: http://www.appbrain.com/app/titanium...TitaniumBackup (I recommend the paid version!)


Steps:

Open up Titanium Backup on your rooted Android phone, and backup the apps you'd like to transfer
Use Astro to backup Titanium Backup(Oddly wasn't able to do this through Titanium Backup itself?)
Use adb/astro to install Titanium Backup on the Nook, after BusyBox and SU have been installed
Transfer the 'TitaniumBackup' directory on your phones SD card to your nooks
Run Titanium Backup on your Nook, and go to batch restore, and then restore missing apps. I chose to restore the apps only, and not data.

Let it do it's thing, and you should be set Just did this with about 50 apps, and it seems to have worked.
 
 
4th December 2010, 11:56 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 268
 
More
you know, i was planning on trying this but never got to it. i'm glad you've already found out it can be done.
5th December 2010, 12:48 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 268
 
More
also, this is the easiest way to get busy box installed.
5th December 2010, 06:05 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by madsquabbles

also, this is the easiest way to get busy box installed.

i wish, ive got busybox in the xbin folder but i get permission denied when installing
5th December 2010, 06:09 AM |#5  
devis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
I was trying to use Titanium to back up whatever I have in my NC but no go.... it would always stay at 0%. Any ideas? I'm rooted and SU-ed.
5th December 2010, 11:54 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I cannot get pass step 7. It said "bad mode"
5th December 2010, 12:03 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
A better way to install Busybox. Just install it from Titanium backup.
5th December 2010, 02:57 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
if you get the "bad mode" error, just use root explorer and copy busybox to the /system folder anthen install using the code in instruction # 11. then your good to go. thats how i got around it.


also i used a terminal emulator on the NC itself
5th December 2010, 02:58 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 268
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sminker

i wish, ive got busybox in the xbin folder but i get permission denied when installing

just click "problems?" and titanium will install busybox in the correct location for you.
5th December 2010, 03:19 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by madsquabbles

just click "problems?" and titanium will install busybox in the correct location for you.

wish i had known that
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes