FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Guide: Mass Restoring Apps With Titanium Backup And Your Phone

394 posts
Thanks Meter: 18
 
By tokyomonster, Senior Member on 4th December 2010, 07:43 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Not content with installing apps one by one, I decided to see if Titanium Backup would work..and alas! It does!

Pre-Reqs:

1. Rooted NookColor: http://nookdevs.com/NookColor_Rooting
2. BusyBox: http://nookdevs.com/NookColor_Installing_Busybox
3. SU/Superuser.apk: http://nookdevs.com/NookColor_Instal..._Superuser_app
Titanium Backup installed on the phone: http://www.appbrain.com/app/titanium...TitaniumBackup (I recommend the paid version!)


Steps:

Open up Titanium Backup on your rooted Android phone, and backup the apps you'd like to transfer
Use Astro to backup Titanium Backup(Oddly wasn't able to do this through Titanium Backup itself?)
Use adb/astro to install Titanium Backup on the Nook, after BusyBox and SU have been installed
Transfer the 'TitaniumBackup' directory on your phones SD card to your nooks
Run Titanium Backup on your Nook, and go to batch restore, and then restore missing apps. I chose to restore the apps only, and not data.

Let it do it's thing, and you should be set Just did this with about 50 apps, and it seems to have worked.
 
 
4th December 2010, 11:56 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 284
 
More
you know, i was planning on trying this but never got to it. i'm glad you've already found out it can be done.
5th December 2010, 12:48 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 284
 
More
also, this is the easiest way to get busy box installed.
5th December 2010, 06:05 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by madsquabbles

also, this is the easiest way to get busy box installed.

i wish, ive got busybox in the xbin folder but i get permission denied when installing
5th December 2010, 06:09 AM |#5  
devis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
I was trying to use Titanium to back up whatever I have in my NC but no go.... it would always stay at 0%. Any ideas? I'm rooted and SU-ed.
5th December 2010, 11:54 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I cannot get pass step 7. It said "bad mode"
5th December 2010, 12:03 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
A better way to install Busybox. Just install it from Titanium backup.
5th December 2010, 02:57 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
if you get the "bad mode" error, just use root explorer and copy busybox to the /system folder anthen install using the code in instruction # 11. then your good to go. thats how i got around it.


also i used a terminal emulator on the NC itself
5th December 2010, 02:58 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 284
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sminker

i wish, ive got busybox in the xbin folder but i get permission denied when installing

just click "problems?" and titanium will install busybox in the correct location for you.
5th December 2010, 03:19 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by madsquabbles

just click "problems?" and titanium will install busybox in the correct location for you.

wish i had known that
5th December 2010, 05:05 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
bad mode
the "bad mode" was due to the chmod wrong format, it is now corrected on the site.
bg

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes