Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,466 Members 51,172 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Gapps for Archos

Tip us?
 
Dreetje
Old
(Last edited by Dreetje; 6th December 2010 at 02:49 PM.) Reason: Updated it with the notes posted on Archosfans.com
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 15
Join Date: Dec 2006
Cool Gapps for Archos

Hi all,

Well for everyone who want's to have the Google apps like:
  • Android market
  • Youtube
  • Gmail
  • etc.

Here is a link to a share where the gapps4archos can be downloaded.
http://code.google.com/p/archos-apps...downloads/list

INSTALL INSTRUCTIONS:
WARNING: You cannot install this appInstaller if you installed gApps4Archos or any other gApps installer. Anytime you switch appInstaller programs, you MUST reset your device back to stock. If you've NEVER installed ANY market/gApps installer, then your good... no need to reset.

NOTE: If you've ONLY used my appInstaller, then you can REMOVE the old files using my app and re-install the apps at the same time, then REBOOT.

1) Download - http://code.google.com/p/archos-apps...downloads/list

2) Copy download to your device via USB (if you didnt download directly using your Archos)

3) Use 'Files' app to locate gAppsInstaller, then execute/install it

4) Choose install packaged apps or choose to install your own packaged 'apps.zip' file located on the internal drive (not sdcard)

4a) There maybe a short delay after you tap an install button (its installing and you'll be notified when its done, about 5-10 seconds)

5) REBOOT!!

6) Follow the Market FIX instructions below


MARKET FIX:
This will get you most missing apps from the market, except some "protect market apps"

Setting-->Manage Applications-->All-->Market (Clear Cache then 'Force Stop' -- DO NOT clear data)
Setting-->Manage Applications-->All-->Google Services Framework (Clear data then 'Force Stop')
REBOOT again


Market Fix video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7l-ny...ayer_embedded#!

If you do this correctly you will find most missing apps like 'Copilot Live USA' in the Market. However, some apps will not show because they are "protected" Market apps. These include 'NY Times'. Google search "android protected market apps" if your not familar.

NOTE: The latest version of GMAIL and Youtube can be downloaded in the market...

Thanks to our friends from the archosfans.com forum
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dreetje For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
supagforce
Old
(Last edited by supagforce; 6th December 2010 at 03:01 PM.)
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 47
Join Date: Jun 2008
Thankyou for this, I have seen how much work you have put into it. Tried gAppsInstaller_v3.apk this morning and seems to be working well, no FC's etc so far...


(edit)Oppss ment to say thankyou Kenyu73 for the app and thanks Dreetje for posting, thought you was Kenyu under a different name...
 
Dreetje
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 15
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by supagforce View Post
Thankyou for this, I have seen how much work you have put into it. Tried gAppsInstaller_v3.apk this morning and seems to be working well, no FC's etc so far...
Well i didn't made it, Kenyu73 did make it :) It makes my device complete, really love the Archos device!
 
Hexidecimal
Old
(Last edited by Hexidecimal; 7th December 2010 at 01:18 AM.)
#4  
Hexidecimal's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 55
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Thanks! I've looked at these instructions a dozen times on ArchosFans and always missed that market was clear cache not clear data and never figured out why it didn't work right for me. With the latest gapps I'm now seeing most everything. Awesome guide!

Edit: For some reason when I use this installer however, TweetDeck will not run properly. It always Force Closes once I've signed into my account and I cannot fix it. This is one of my favorite apps. If someone could figure this out I would appreciate it.

Edit 2: This installer causes a ton of apps not to launch in my experience thus far. TweetDeck as mentioned, Moblox, Angry Birds, they all just FC or hang endlessly. I'd still recommended the other installer with the same steps outlined in this post.
 
g00ner
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 11
Join Date: Nov 2008
Stupid question but does "reset your device back to stock" mean anything else than a reboot? Like an Android reset or something?
 
r3v0Lut10n
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 331
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by g00ner View Post
Stupid question but does "reset your device back to stock" mean anything else than a reboot? Like an Android reset or something?
from recovery or from menu, not reboot
 
r3v0Lut10n
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 331
Join Date: Nov 2009
thanks for the advise on market acces update, now finally updated gmail apk
 
BGMArchos
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 9
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
I have the Google Marketplace up and running and for the most part it works wonderfully. My biggest issue are protected applications I use on my HTC EVO aren't showing up and some of these application I really use / enjoy. Some of these are:

1) BatteryView
2) Battery Watch
3) Splash ID!
4) Monster App Pro (I'm using the non-Pro right now)

I've been trying to add the "Market Access" application to the mix to help me with this issue, but thus far can't get z4root to work. Oh, it says it was successful, but none of the programs that need root can get it from the Super User application.

I can live without these protected applications, they are simply nice to have -- except Splash ID!, which IMHO, is necessary to protect my development personal, professional, and development information. I was able to get a work around for Splash ID, for which I'm thankful.

Bert Moshier
 
MidwestDrummer
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 107
Join Date: Dec 2006
Excuse my ignorance, but how is this at all new? There's been a gapps hack available for every Archos device for quite some time now. It's always been readily available on ArchosFans.com.
 
Domen Lo
Old
#10  
Domen Lo's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 22
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ljubljana
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidwestDrummer View Post
Excuse my ignorance, but how is this at all new? There's been a gapps hack available for every Archos device for quite some time now. It's always been readily available on ArchosFans.com.
It's a different version which allows for more flexibility, especially for updating the two most useful core apps.

Tags
archos, gapps4archos, market, tablet
Thread Tools
Display Modes