Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[GUIDE] Get back to HTC Stock ROM (from anything) [UNDER CONSTRUCTION]

OP Diaoul

7th December 2010, 12:01 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Hi there,

This is a guide under construction that gather different ways to get (back) to HTC stock ROM from almost everything : branded ROM, custom ROM, ROOTed/S-OFFed/etc. DHD.

Whatever you do with your phone, I cannot be responsible for it. Don't blame me if you brick it. I'll try to keep this up to date.

How to read this ?
Colors :
This answer is known and working
This answer still needs some testing/feedback
This answer is probably wrong or untested, help me correcting it
Letters : This is a change of situation. Multiple case possible, choose your path and skip the others
Numbers : This is a step or a question, go through them one by one

Here we go for the GUIDE part :

I have never ROOTed/S-OFFed/Radio S-OFFed/CWMed my phone
In this case you have either a stock HTC ROM or a branded ROM (SFR/Vodaphone UK/T-Mobile/...)
1) How do I know that I have a branded ROM or an HTC stock ROM ?
HTC Stock ROMs are often up to date if you do all the OTAs so, update your phone OTA and check your version number, it should be the last one. Moreover, branded ROMs often have a custom boot screen (with awful logo) and custom (unremovable) apps.

1.A) I have DHD with stock ROM !
You have nothing to do in this thread then. Bye bye

1.B) Damn, I have a branded ROM...
Don't cry, we'll go through it together

1.B.1) Will RUUs work ?
Sometimes it will, sometimes it won't, the best thing to do is to try. The worst that could happen is... nothing.
Warning : At this point, if RUU works, you'll have a stock ROM on your HTC and you won't be able to go back to your branded ROM (except for T-Mobile phones as a RUU is available for them). No turning back ! Anyway, that shouldn't be a problem for warranty as RUUs are "public and official".

1.B.2) Why RUUs wouldn't work ?
HTC allow brands to put their own custom firmware that we call here a "branded ROM". Those include brand promotional items such as specific apps and boot screen. Plus, they have their specific OTA that could be on a very different schedule than official ones (from HTC). For this reason and to avoid county-specific (chineese) to be converted in WWE phones, HTC RUUs check for a specific number in your phone called CID. This CID tells if you can use RUUs and if yes, wich one (WWE, chineese, etc.)

1.B.3.a) RUU worked !
Lucky boy, we're done with you. Bye bye

1.B.3.b) RUU didn't work...
Please, hold you're tears, we're still not done here. (More to come)

1.B.3.b.1) Now you have a few solutions
The zip trick :This is a method that uses a test RUU (that doesn't check for the CID). Then you fake it replacing the test ROM by the one of your choice (here an official one). This method is described here but not tested on branded phone. This may not allow OTAs (need feedback).
ROOT & Radio S-OFF/SuperCID/Unlock your phone :By changing the Radio with this guide you will be allowed to flash all RUUs. No revert tool so far to restore the Radio but this is coming soon.

The F.A.Q. part :
1) Is that possible to find a stock ROM extracted from RUU without any cooking and flash it with CWM ?
Yes
2) Where can I find the zip to use with CWM ?
Here (link needed)
Glossary :
CWM or CM : ClockworkMod

Random stuff :
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=835595 : Maybe a way to flash a RUU without changing the CID ? Need confirmation
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=841890 : Same here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...=4#edit9551194 : Working exemple without goldcard ?


Working on this thread... Any help is welcome
Please submit your questions/answers in this thread, i'll add them.
If giving answers, please, also give a source or guide (link) if possible and the color (green or orange, no red accepted as red cannot be trusted)
Last edited by Diaoul; 7th December 2010 at 10:37 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Diaoul For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th December 2010, 12:01 PM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
for later use
7th December 2010, 12:02 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
same as above
7th December 2010, 12:28 PM   |  #4  
jkoljo's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Tampere
Thanks Meter: 2,529
 
3,378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
I can confirm that with Radio S-OFF it is possible to flash a RUU and get OTAs work. Everything will go back to stock except the Radio S-OFF, which will remain. If the device had also a bootloader S-OFF (ENG hboot), it will be replaced with the stock one.

If a device has only bootloader S-OFF, flashing a RUU is not recommended, as it will fail at version checking (because of no SuperCID). Eng bootloader has a higher version number than stock bootloader, and without Radio S-OFF the system will not allow downgrading.
7th December 2010, 12:42 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkoljo

I can confirm that with Radio S-OFF it is possible to flash a RUU and get OTAs work. Everything will go back to stock except the Radio S-OFF, which will remain. If the device had also a bootloader S-OFF (ENG hboot), it will be replaced with the stock one.

If a device has only bootloader S-OFF, flashing a RUU is not recommended, as it will fail at version checking (because of no SuperCID). Eng bootloader has a higher version number than stock bootloader, and without Radio S-OFF the system will not allow downgrading.

Is there a way to flash back the Radio S-OFF to the original one ? As far as I know, Radio S-OFF creates a backup of the partition it changes but I didn't see any tool that can change back this partition.
Edit: Seems I'm not the only one asking this question : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...1&postcount=64

Also, when you say "not recommended" it's because it'll always fail or it has a little chance to fail ?
If you are S-OFF (not radio) there is no way to flash RUU again ? What about extracting the ROM from the RUU and flashing it with CWM ? same problem ?

Thanks
Last edited by Diaoul; 7th December 2010 at 12:46 PM.
7th December 2010, 12:58 PM   |  #6  
jkoljo's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Tampere
Thanks Meter: 2,529
 
3,378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
As stated in my Radio S-OFF thread somewhere in the last few pages (forum search is recommended), tools for Radio S-OFF removal are coming, but you just have to wait a bit longer. The backup that has been made is vital for the process, so do not lose it!

Not recommended, as it will most likely (probably always) fail. Without Radio S-OFF RUU is indeed not possible, unless you manually flash back the original bootloader using the original way of getting it in there (wpthis.ko + dd image). You would have to be in the stock ROM for that to work. Extracting a ROM should be possible, but I am not a ROM chef, so do not believe me
The Following User Says Thank You to jkoljo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th December 2010, 01:15 PM   |  #7  
ivolol's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 72
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
See my thread here for how to extract the rom.zip [i.e: update.zip] out of an RUU. RUU will write practically all partitions, but won't overwrite a radio-set S-OFF (i.e done through radio, not through hboot)
7th December 2010, 01:43 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivolol

See my thread here for how to extract the rom.zip [i.e: update.zip] out of an RUU. RUU will write practically all partitions, but won't overwrite a radio-set S-OFF (i.e done through radio, not through hboot)

Thanks, will add this to the FAQ/GUIDE
7th December 2010, 02:56 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivolol

See my thread here for how to extract the rom.zip [i.e: update.zip] out of an RUU. RUU will write practically all partitions, but won't overwrite a radio-set S-OFF (i.e done through radio, not through hboot)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivolol

note: This is mainly for stock phones, for vendor-derived ones (e.g Vodafone DHDs in Australia) you will also need a goldcard.

I understood that it'll wipe everything except Radio S-OFF but what if this is done (method A or B) with a vendor-derived DHD ? Will that work ? Why wouldn't it ? Will OTAs be possible ?
7th December 2010, 08:55 PM   |  #10  
M_T_M's Avatar
Seņor Moderator - uoy llort ot tnaem si eltit sihT
Flag Texas
Thanks Meter: 5,564
 
17,897 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Thread re-open. Follow the OP's rules and suggestions please.

Cheers,

M_T_M
Last edited by M_T_M; 7th December 2010 at 09:33 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
faq, flash, revert, stock
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes