Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[TUT] - Enabling JIT on the Mini

OP Manny-

8th December 2010, 01:38 PM   |  #1  
Manny-'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bradford - Mobile: HTC Evo 3D
Thanks Meter: 282
 
471 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
Method 1 was removed due to method 2 being much more effective:

Method 2

1. download this http://bit.ly/JiT-toggle

2. use z4root to root your phone. install Titanium backup and see if busybox is activated, if not, click Problems?.

3. Extract the zip JiT-toggle-0.1.zip in your computer.

4. Use root explorer to copy your build.prop to sdcard, and then to the computer.

5. Copy it to JiT-toggle-0.1/vmlibs_stock and to vmlibsv2 too.

6. Open the one in vmlibsv2 with notepad++ (I say notepad++ because it displays the lines properly, but you may be able to do it with the stock notepad).

7. Do the following:

replace
Code:
Code:
DEVICE_PROVISIONED=1
with
Code:
Code:
#DEVICE_PROVISIONED=1
dalvik.vm.heapsize=30m
and then replace
Code:
Code:
kernel.log=default
with
Code:
Code:
#kernel.log=default
debug.sf.hw=1
then at then end of the file, add
Code:
Code:
dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit
8. Save the file.

9. Rename the folder named "JiT-toggle-0.1" to "jit" and copy it to the sdcard.

10. Open cmd and write:

Code:
adb shell
su
cd /sdcard/jit
sh enable_jit.sh

11. It will reboot.

12. You have now jit enabled
_________________________________

You can check if jit is enabled by following these steps:

1. With the phone connected, open a cmd window.

2. Type:

adb shell
dalvikvm -k

A whole bunch of text will appear, you are interested in the last lines, if you have jit it should say:

Configured with: debugger profiler jit show_exception=1

If instead of "jit" you read something that starts with "h", then you failed and still don't have jit enabled.

thanks go to:
loger8
mclarenvj
Last edited by Manny-; 15th December 2010 at 11:21 AM. Reason: Addition made to the tut.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to Manny- For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th December 2010, 03:01 PM   |  #2  
Lef.teris's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 119
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
What i gain with Jit enable?
8th December 2010, 04:11 PM   |  #3  
Manny-'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bradford - Mobile: HTC Evo 3D
Thanks Meter: 282
 
471 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
It will speed up the device, this may help if anyone wants more info:

Quote:
Quote:

All Android devices could be getting a noticeable performance boost later this year. We have seen companies like Myriad pushing their Dalvik Turbo compiler which they claim offers “3x faster applications, richer game graphics and better battery life to Android”.

Myriad is working with carriers and handset makers to incorporate their software into their Android builds, but it looks Google might beat them to it.

Google has assembled their own team of engineers that is working on a Dalvik JIT Compiler for Android. JITstands for “just in time” compilation, and allows software to run faster by “compiling bytecode into native machine code at runtime which substantially increases performance”. I’m not going to pretend that I’m an expert on JIT, so I’ll defer to Wikipedia if you want the full scoop.

As some of you already know, JIT is in the Android repository and working right now. I’ve loaded the latest kernel that supports (correction: JIT has nothing to do with the kernel version, but some custom roms include both) it on my Nexus One and saw my benchmark scores go up 250-300%.

The Following User Says Thank You to Manny- For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th December 2010, 09:36 PM   |  #4  
Termodonte's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
495 points with quadrant. where I can see some serious improvements?
8th December 2010, 10:09 PM   |  #5  
owain94's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Contributor
Flag The Hague
Thanks Meter: 6,061
 
3,535 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Termodonte

495 points with quadrant. where I can see some serious improvements?

495 with jit?
Think you have made a mistake coz thats way to low for x10 mini with JIT
And confirmed this works on mini pro

You forgot you need to edit the 'heapsize' in build.prop to 30
Then jit will work better :)

Sent from my U20i using XDA App
8th December 2010, 10:23 PM   |  #6  
Termodonte's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I tried to run the test again and the result was 565. YEA!
8th December 2010, 10:31 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Not working with me.

Tried it twice, the 2nd with heapsize=30 and I get MFLOPS 4.306.

531 on Quadrant.
Last edited by X-static; 8th December 2010 at 10:35 PM.
8th December 2010, 10:38 PM   |  #8  
Termodonte's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by X-static

Not working with me.

Tried it twice, the 2nd with heapsize=30 and I get MFLOPS 4.306.

531 on Quadrant.

are you using linpack app?

4395 mflops with 24 heapsize
Last edited by Termodonte; 8th December 2010 at 10:41 PM.
8th December 2010, 10:41 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Yes. Linpack for the MFLOPS test.

Should be around 7/8 with jit.
Last edited by X-static; 8th December 2010 at 10:46 PM.
8th December 2010, 10:50 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 51
 
279 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
There is actually another way of doing this, worked 100% to me. Would be great you could put it as method2, for people who are scared of typing too much in console.

1. download this http://bit.ly/JiT-toggle

2. use z4root to root your phone. install Titanium backup and see if busybox is activated, if not, click Problems?.

3. Extract the zip JiT-toggle-0.1.zip in your computer.

4. Use root explorer to copy your build.prop to sdcard, and then to the computer.

5. Copy it to JiT-toggle-0.1/vmlibs_stock and to vmlibsv2 too.

6. Open the one in vmlibsv2 with notepad++ (I say notepad++ because it displays the lines properly, but you may be able to do it with the stoc notepad).

7. Look for these lines and put EXACTLY like this:

#DEVICE_PROVISIONED=1
dalvik.vm.heapsize=30m
#kernel.log=default
debug.sf.hw=1

8. Add this at the end:
dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit

9. Save the file.

10. Rename the folder named "JiT-toggle-0.1" to "jit" and copy it to the sdcard.

11. Open cmd and write:

Code:
adb shell
su
cd /sdcard/jit
sh enable_jit.sh
12. It will reboot.

13. You have now jit enabled

PD: You can also deactivate jit with this, disable_jit.sh instead of enable_jit.sh.
Last edited by loger8; 8th December 2010 at 11:07 PM.

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to loger8 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
adb, jit, root, tut, x10 mini
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes