Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,698 Members 49,781 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[TUT] - Enabling JIT on the Mini

Tip us?
 
Manny-
Old
(Last edited by Manny-; 15th December 2010 at 10:21 AM.) Reason: Addition made to the tut.
#1  
Manny-'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 282
Posts: 471
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bradford - Mobile: HTC Evo 3D

 
DONATE TO ME
Post [TUT] - Enabling JIT on the Mini

Method 1 was removed due to method 2 being much more effective:

Method 2

1. download this http://bit.ly/JiT-toggle

2. use z4root to root your phone. install Titanium backup and see if busybox is activated, if not, click Problems?.

3. Extract the zip JiT-toggle-0.1.zip in your computer.

4. Use root explorer to copy your build.prop to sdcard, and then to the computer.

5. Copy it to JiT-toggle-0.1/vmlibs_stock and to vmlibsv2 too.

6. Open the one in vmlibsv2 with notepad++ (I say notepad++ because it displays the lines properly, but you may be able to do it with the stock notepad).

7. Do the following:

replace
Code:
Code:
DEVICE_PROVISIONED=1
with
Code:
Code:
#DEVICE_PROVISIONED=1
dalvik.vm.heapsize=30m
and then replace
Code:
Code:
kernel.log=default
with
Code:
Code:
#kernel.log=default
debug.sf.hw=1
then at then end of the file, add
Code:
Code:
dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit
8. Save the file.

9. Rename the folder named "JiT-toggle-0.1" to "jit" and copy it to the sdcard.

10. Open cmd and write:

Code:
adb shell
su
cd /sdcard/jit
sh enable_jit.sh

11. It will reboot.

12. You have now jit enabled
_________________________________

You can check if jit is enabled by following these steps:

1. With the phone connected, open a cmd window.

2. Type:

adb shell
dalvikvm -k

A whole bunch of text will appear, you are interested in the last lines, if you have jit it should say:

Configured with: debugger profiler jit show_exception=1

If instead of "jit" you read something that starts with "h", then you failed and still don't have jit enabled.

thanks go to:
loger8
mclarenvj
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to Manny- For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Lef.teris
Old
#2  
Lef.teris's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 119
Posts: 129
Join Date: Apr 2009
What i gain with Jit enable?
 
Manny-
Old
#3  
Manny-'s Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 282
Posts: 471
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bradford - Mobile: HTC Evo 3D

 
DONATE TO ME
It will speed up the device, this may help if anyone wants more info:

Quote:
Quote:
All Android devices could be getting a noticeable performance boost later this year. We have seen companies like Myriad pushing their Dalvik Turbo compiler which they claim offers “3x faster applications, richer game graphics and better battery life to Android”.

Myriad is working with carriers and handset makers to incorporate their software into their Android builds, but it looks Google might beat them to it.

Google has assembled their own team of engineers that is working on a Dalvik JIT Compiler for Android. JITstands for “just in time” compilation, and allows software to run faster by “compiling bytecode into native machine code at runtime which substantially increases performance”. I’m not going to pretend that I’m an expert on JIT, so I’ll defer to Wikipedia if you want the full scoop.

As some of you already know, JIT is in the Android repository and working right now. I’ve loaded the latest kernel that supports (correction: JIT has nothing to do with the kernel version, but some custom roms include both) it on my Nexus One and saw my benchmark scores go up 250-300%.
The Following User Says Thank You to Manny- For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Termodonte
Old
#4  
Termodonte's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 35
Join Date: Sep 2010
495 points with quadrant. where I can see some serious improvements?
 
owain94
Old
#5  
owain94's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Contributor
Thanks Meter 6060
Posts: 3,532
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The Hague
Quote:
Originally Posted by Termodonte View Post
495 points with quadrant. where I can see some serious improvements?
495 with jit?
Think you have made a mistake coz thats way to low for x10 mini with JIT
And confirmed this works on mini pro

You forgot you need to edit the 'heapsize' in build.prop to 30
Then jit will work better :)

Sent from my U20i using XDA App
My pm is NOT tech support. Those messages are redirect to the trash can



If my post helped you please click the Thanks buttton
 
Termodonte
Old
#6  
Termodonte's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 35
Join Date: Sep 2010
I tried to run the test again and the result was 565. YEA!
 
X-static
Old
(Last edited by X-static; 8th December 2010 at 09:35 PM.)
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 36
Join Date: Sep 2010
Not working with me.

Tried it twice, the 2nd with heapsize=30 and I get MFLOPS 4.306.

531 on Quadrant.
 
Termodonte
Old
(Last edited by Termodonte; 8th December 2010 at 09:41 PM.)
#8  
Termodonte's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 35
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by X-static View Post
Not working with me.

Tried it twice, the 2nd with heapsize=30 and I get MFLOPS 4.306.

531 on Quadrant.
are you using linpack app?

4395 mflops with 24 heapsize
 
X-static
Old
(Last edited by X-static; 8th December 2010 at 09:46 PM.)
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 36
Join Date: Sep 2010
Yes. Linpack for the MFLOPS test.

Should be around 7/8 with jit.
 
loger8
Old
(Last edited by loger8; 8th December 2010 at 10:07 PM.)
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 279
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Madrid

 
DONATE TO ME
There is actually another way of doing this, worked 100% to me. Would be great you could put it as method2, for people who are scared of typing too much in console.

1. download this http://bit.ly/JiT-toggle

2. use z4root to root your phone. install Titanium backup and see if busybox is activated, if not, click Problems?.

3. Extract the zip JiT-toggle-0.1.zip in your computer.

4. Use root explorer to copy your build.prop to sdcard, and then to the computer.

5. Copy it to JiT-toggle-0.1/vmlibs_stock and to vmlibsv2 too.

6. Open the one in vmlibsv2 with notepad++ (I say notepad++ because it displays the lines properly, but you may be able to do it with the stoc notepad).

7. Look for these lines and put EXACTLY like this:

#DEVICE_PROVISIONED=1
dalvik.vm.heapsize=30m
#kernel.log=default
debug.sf.hw=1

8. Add this at the end:
dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit

9. Save the file.

10. Rename the folder named "JiT-toggle-0.1" to "jit" and copy it to the sdcard.

11. Open cmd and write:

Code:
adb shell
su
cd /sdcard/jit
sh enable_jit.sh
12. It will reboot.

13. You have now jit enabled

PD: You can also deactivate jit with this, disable_jit.sh instead of enable_jit.sh.

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to loger8 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
adb, jit, root, tut, x10 mini
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes