HTC M9 S-OFF In Less Than 24 Hours – No ETA On Release

HTC devices are no stranger to XDA’s Senior Recognized Developers … more

April Fools Round Up: The Year of Nostalgia

April Fools Day is once again upon us and as usual, tech companies everywhere have not … more

Android 5.1 OTA for Nexus Round-Up

The beginning of April is dominated by April Fools. There are jokes and pranks everywhere, which are … more

Official Lollipop for LG G2 Captured

LG is rolling out the Lollipop update for the LG G2. KDZ images for both 16 GB and 32 GB variants … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Need help for my bricked Captivate

9th December 2010, 01:47 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
I believe I just bricked my captivate by flashing Congnition 2.3b6 ROM. I've already tried all methods mentioned in this forum (key combinations, usb jig...) but no way can put my phone into download mode. Now my phone has become a brick, no boot, only black screen no matter what I do to it. I think the only way to recover it is JTAG.

So I need help from someone (better in CA) who have RIFF Box (or some other JTAG devices) and have some experiences on rescue a dead Captivate. If you can help me recover it, I'm glad to pay for your help.

PM me if you can do it. Thanks a lot!
9th December 2010, 02:27 AM |#2  
norcal einstein's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 36
 
302 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Have you confirmed that your JIG is working properly? (~300kohms of resistance) And that you aren't touching any exposed metal on the JIG when using it? (since that will change the resistance)
9th December 2010, 02:57 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
I'm not sure because I don't have a solder in hand so I have to twist the wires together. But I'm sure my hand has no way to touch the exposed part because I'm wearing latex gloves when pluggin it in.
I heard that it is really easy to brick the captivate if you flash cognition without reverting to JF6. Maybe I use the wrong PDA file in accident when I flash JF6 with odin before flashing the Cognition.

Still looking for some help from a riff-box user....
9th December 2010, 03:41 AM |#4  
goob1284's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
707 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Search odin3 I believe its jh6. Its a one click. Make sure you have all the drivers. And don't use the stock 2.2 those suck. Get a froyo rom. Anyways put your phone into download mode. Take out battery plug in the usb open the odin3. Press volume up and down and power. Insert the battery and release the power button. let the drivers install and a com 4 or com 5 doesn't matter what number it is after the com. Press download now. works like a charm.

Sent from my GT-I9000M using XDA App

Sent from my GT-I9000M using XDA App
9th December 2010, 04:05 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
yes, it should be jh6. I've downloaded that one-click package but right now there is not any response when I connect my phone with computer and no way to enter download mode as I described before. I believe JTAG is the only choice for me. So anybody know someone who can provide these kind of services? I appreciate for your help.
9th December 2010, 02:18 PM |#6  
goob1284's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
707 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Did you try this button combo?

Sent from my GT-I9000M using XDA App
9th December 2010, 03:55 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Got a similar situation was flashin back to stock my sis phone and odin was almost done and went to a blue screen aftrer thirty mins pulled batt and now dead wtf

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes