Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,344 Members 46,946 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[FIX] AdHoc Wifi support on the NC!

Tip us?
 
cicada
Old
(Last edited by cicada; 10th December 2010 at 11:28 PM.)
#1  
cicada's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 149
Posts: 171
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denver, CO

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [FIX] AdHoc Wifi support on the NC!

Great news everyone! </farnsworth>

ADHOC Wifi Support for Nook Color (stock)!

[EDIT] There appears to be an issue reconnecting when wifi sleeps and comes back on. Researching a permanent fix, in the meantime go to settings -> Wireless and toggle wifi off/on to correct it


This fix will allow you to connect to ADHOC wireless networks ( such as to a laptop or with wifi-tether on an android phone )

Like most other fixes, this requires your nook to be rooted and usb adb working, please follow the guides here and/or at the nook dev wiki first!:

Rooting: http://nookdevs.com/NookColor_Rooting
USB-ADB: http://nookdevs.com/NookColor_USB_ADB



HOWTO enable ADHOC tethering:

1. Download and unzip the attached zip file below, this should give you a wpa_supplicant-adhocfix file

2. *DISABLE WIFI ON YOUR NC*

3. Make a backup of your current wpa_supplicant:
Code:
adb pull /system/bin/wpa_supplicant  wpa_supplicant.backup

4. Remount the /system partition RW:
Code:
adb shell mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 /system
5. Push the new wpa_supplicant:
Code:
adb push wpa_supplicant.adhocfix /system/bin/wpa_supplicant
6. Fix permissions:
Code:
adb shell chmod 755 /system/bin/wpa_supplicant
7. Remount the /system partition RO:
Code:
adb shell mount -o remount,ro /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 /system
8. Enable WIFI on your NC, you should now be able to see ADHOC networks in the list! ( they'll be displayed with a (*) prefix )


[edit] Credit where credit's due, this was taken from a wpa_supplicant IBSS patch I found via a Google search, if anyone knows the party responsible, let me know so I can credit them properly!

http://szym.net/android/


This is compiled against TI's Omapedia Eclair sources ( http://omappedia.org ) - since this is a different framework than the B&N stock build, I can't guarantee this will work, won't brick your device, etc. Use at your own risk!

If you encounter any problems, please use this thread to let us all know.


That's all there is to it, enjoy!
Attached Files
File Type: zip wpa_supplicant-ncadhoc.zip - [Click for QR Code] (132.8 KB, 7224 views)
The Following 33 Users Say Thank You to cicada For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rfbarr
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Dec 2010
I can confirm that this will allow you to connect you Nook Color to an adhoc network created by a Jailbroken iPhone 4 and MyWi.
 
ort84
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 89
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Miami
Works great! Thanks!
 
GTOMEX09
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 23
Join Date: Feb 2009
WHOEVER made this fix....THANK YOU! This was the biggest thing I was missing on my NC! Works great!
 
Bimboy
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 491
Join Date: Dec 2006
Cool you figured this out! For some reason, I've been able to use the adhoc network on my Androidized HTC Leo (HD2) since the first time I tried, even before rooting.
Retired: ATT Tilt (Kaiser), ATT Fuze (Raph110), HTC HD2 (Leo - T-Mo US), Samsung Galaxy S 4G, Samsung Galaxy S II Hercules, Samsung Galaxy S III
Nook Color - Rooted & OC 1.2 Ghz
ATT Samsung Galaxy S 4 - awaiting MF3 solutions
 
jamdev
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Oct 2008
Sent from my Rooted Nook Color using XDA App and iPhone MyWi adhoc connection.

You guys ROCK!!!!!!!!!!
 
johnopsec
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 155
Join Date: Dec 2010
Works great with my Droid now. Thanks!
 
edison
Old
(Last edited by edison; 10th December 2010 at 10:55 PM.) Reason: Would help if I could read.
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 55
Join Date: Jul 2007
Confirmed working with Mobile Wi-Fi Router on my VZW Touch Pro2.

Many thanks! Another big step!
 
sapienta
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 132
Join Date: Mar 2007
Work perfectly on my motorola droid 1 using Wireless tether or Barnacle. Thanks for sharing this with us
 
boret
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Nov 2010
Works great with AT&T Samsung Captivate and android-wifi-tether ver. 2.0.5-pre15.

Thank you very much!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes