FORUMS

Mysterious GG1 Google Device Stops by FCC. Glass v2?

As the year progresses, we draw further away from Google’s annual I/O … more

Material and Material Dark Hit Samsung’s Theme Store

The latest version of Touchwiz, launched alongside the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge, … more

Swappa’s New App Helps You Value Your Device

There comes a sad time in everyone’s life where you must part ways with your … more

Xiaomi Sold 34.7 Million Phones In 6 Months

2015 has been a phenomenal year for Xiaomi so far. With a stellar rise in 2014, 2015 saw … more

 View Poll Results: How is your Bell I9000M?

Internal SD Dead - UGJG9/UGJH2 Firmware/No Lagfix
 
21 Vote(s)
3.41%
Internal SD Dead - UGJG9/UGJH2 Firmware/With Lagfix
 
13 Vote(s)
2.11%
Internal SD Dead - Other 2.1 Firmware/No Lagfix
 
6 Vote(s)
0.97%
Internal SD Dead - Other 2.1 Firmware/With Lagfix
 
2 Vote(s)
0.32%
Internal SD Dead - 2.2 Froyo Firmware/No Lagfix
 
253 Vote(s)
41.07%
Internal SD Dead - 2.2 Froyo Firmware/With Lagfix
 
81 Vote(s)
13.15%
Still Working - 2.1 Firmware/No Lagfix
 
21 Vote(s)
3.41%
Still Working - 2.1 Firmware/With Lagfix
 
6 Vote(s)
0.97%
Still Working - 2.2 Froyo Firmware/No Lagfix
 
152 Vote(s)
24.68%
Still Working - 2.2 Froyo Firmware/With Lagfix
 
61 Vote(s)
9.90%

(New After JK4 Froyo) POLL:Bell I9000M Internal SD Failures

132 posts
Thanks Meter: 27
 
By An Droid, Senior Member on 10th December 2010, 11:34 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I think we need a new Poll for anyone that needs to change their answer after upgrading to JK4...Perhaps give JK4 a few days to make sure it's running smoothly before voting...

(Thanks Electroz for the original Poll!)
Last edited by An Droid; 11th December 2010 at 12:50 AM. Reason: Clarification & Thanks
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to An Droid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
11th December 2010, 12:53 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Flag Abbotsford, BC
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thumbs down
I got to experience 5 minutes of froyo before multiple force closes and then dead. It went into a reboot loop never getting past the white i9000m logo.

Updated with Kies (latest version--no registry mod)
I was stock JH2.
No lagfix ever installed
I've never flashed any rom.

Sorry guys, Kies is not safer...

Now I have to convince Bell to honor the warranty...
Last edited by trinitonesounds; 5th January 2011 at 09:39 AM.
11th December 2010, 02:03 AM |#3  
dm-digital's Avatar
Member
Flag Orangeville
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I don't think there are any issues with Kies or Odin for flashing. I've flashed many times, sometimes 4 times in one day and I've never had any issues. There does seem to be the usual SD issues but I also think there is a USB communications issue. There have been many reports of data corruption while writing to internal/external SD with large files. I personally had an issue pulling large files off of internal/external SD. I think if this problem occurs while flashing new firmware it could cause some corruption that could be noticeable right away or after a bit of use. The partitioning on this device seems to be more sensitive than others and a hiccup while flashing could cause some major issues.
11th December 2010, 02:08 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by trinitonesounds

I got to experience 5 minutes of froyo before multiple force closes and then dead. It went into a reboot loop never getting past the white i9000m logo.

Updated with Kies (latest version--no registry mod)
I was stock JH2.
No lagfix ever installed
I've never flashed any rom.

Sorry guys, Kies is not safer...

Now I have to convince Bell to honor the warranty even though I'm on Rogers...

They don't care.

I went today and they just took it and didn't ask anything that sounds like they cared about if I am not with Bells.

I gave them my bro's phone number and info since he is with Bell, just to avoid any problems.

Just don't say something like the phone is "unlocked" lol...the phone is dead so they won't find out anyways if you don't tell them. They won't ask either.

Just tell them that you upgraded through kies and it got the problem.
11th December 2010, 02:09 AM |#5  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,592
 
Donate to Me
More
it's a hardware defect, if it dies it dies

after all the evidence we've seen (all the reports by our members)

if it's good it will work regardless of what firmware you use, and regardless of the way you flash the firmware

the lag fixes and froyo just accelerates the problem and makes it more evident sooner than later

which is good in a way, it's better to find out before your warranty runs out
11th December 2010, 03:07 AM |#6  
evil-doer's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ontario
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
ok im pretty sure mine is a full brick. maybe you can tell me.

less than 24 hours after updating to 2.2 i started getting all of these errors in various programs, so i rebooted the phone, but after it plays the little intro thingy the screen just goes black and thats it. cant do anything else. i tried a factory reset and still the same thing. so is that it?

also. i bought this phone at best buy, but network unlocked it to use on rogers. should i be contacting samsung directly about a replacement/fix? anyone here done that? im REALLY scared that are gonna give me a phone that i am unable to network unlock.

thanks for any info.
11th December 2010, 03:10 AM |#7  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,592
 
Donate to Me
More
some one welcome me to the club of defund Bell Internal SD

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=867157
11th December 2010, 03:23 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
@evil-doer

I am in the exact same boat as you! I bought from Best Buy, then unlocked to use on Rogers. Last night, I updated to official Froyo through Kies, and then it just died on me today (many app force closes and then just drop dead). When I get into recovery mode, it says can't mount the SD card.

I think I will just go to a Bell Store tomorrow and see what happens. I will let you know how it goes. Please let me know how yours go too. Thanks.
Last edited by hotdoggie; 11th December 2010 at 03:53 AM.
11th December 2010, 03:52 AM |#9  
Member
Flag Toronto, ON
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Mines a goner too

Same issue, have a forced app closure, shut the phone off and it wouldn't start up anymore. Just flashes the Galaxy S GT-I9000M white logo non-stop now.

I can put it into download mode and load up 2.1 (stock) and get to the coloured Galaxy S logo, but then it just goes to a black screen. In recovery mode, it shows stuff about not being able to mount the SD on E:\. I'd assume that's the internal flash?

Luckily I haven't had it for >30 days (on Virgin Mobile) so I'm hoping I can just exchange it and be on my way. I have to call them though apparently since I bought it online.
11th December 2010, 04:46 AM |#10  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag buried under loads of work IRL
Thanks Meter: 1,592
 
Donate to Me
More
i did not have Force Close, the phone just got really really hot during batch restore of TitaniumBackup
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes