Samsung Unpacked Coverage: All About the S6

more

Samsung Galaxy S6 Cameras

more

The Battery Behind the Samsung S6 and S6 Edge

more

Samsung S6 and S6 Edge Performance

more
Post Reply

adb reboot download tutorial(Windows)

OP D-FUSE

11th December 2010, 04:31 AM   |  #1  
D-FUSE's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Panama City(Got to love the beach)
Thanks Meter: 2,930
 
4,034 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Okay this is four newbie that can't get there phone into download mode,or if your phone is stuck on the a&tt screen or whatever reason you need to go into download mode

1st thing you are going to need android-sdk if you do not have. You need to put all the files on your C: drive in a folder called android-sdk.There is the link to the sdk site.
http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

Step 1 go to setting then to Application I always select mass storage,but i guess ask on connection will work.Then in applications select Development,and them usb debugging.Then plug your phone into your computer

Step 2 open the start window in windows vista and 7 user type cmd into the search.XP you go to run and then type cmd.

Step 3 once inside cmd type cd\ enter.this will bring you to the c drive and should look like this.Now it should look like this.
C:/>

step 4 next type cd then (space) android-sdk\tools\ enter it should look like this.
C:\>cd android-sdk\tools\

Step 5 type adb (space) devices.Now it should look like this.
C:\android-sdk\tools>adb devices
* daemon not running. starting it now on port whatever *
* daemon started successfully *
whatever # your phone is device.
now if it doesn't say this you probably don't have the proper drivers install,but if your are rooted you should.I will include a zip folder anyways.

Step 6 adb (space) reboot (space) download enter.It should look like this.
C:\android-sdk\tools>adb reboot download
After hitting enter your phone will reboot into download mode.

Here is a link for the drivers.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/dbh299

Make sure that you have ADB in the tool folder if not here it is
Attached Files
File Type: zip adb.zip - [Click for QR Code] (717.7 KB, 927 views)
Last edited by D-FUSE; 17th December 2010 at 02:38 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to D-FUSE For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th December 2010, 05:37 AM   |  #2  
peachpuff's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 345
 
1,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Actually step 1 would be to enabled usb debugging in settings/applications/development section otherwise none of this will work.
Theres also the adb reboot recovery command.
The Following User Says Thank You to peachpuff For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th December 2010, 06:02 AM   |  #3  
D-FUSE's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Panama City(Got to love the beach)
Thanks Meter: 2,930
 
4,034 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by peachpuff

Actually step 1 would be to enabled usb debugging in settings/applications/development section otherwise none of this will work.
Theres also the adb reboot recovery command.

Thank dude I always have my phone in debugging i'll edit now
11th December 2010, 06:45 AM   |  #4  
flashman2002's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Derby/Wichita Kansas
Thanks Meter: 87
 
1,262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
From my experience if you flash a rom it will no longer have usb debugging enabled so if you get boot loop or something adb wont work. I know you don't specifybut I personally have not heard of a device being stuck unless the person was flashing.

This is my captivate. There are many like it buy this one is mine.
11th December 2010, 06:51 AM   |  #5  
norcal einstein's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 36
 
302 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
You might also consider adding the instructions for adding the tools folder to PATH for those that would use this frequently.
11th December 2010, 07:42 AM   |  #6  
D-FUSE's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Panama City(Got to love the beach)
Thanks Meter: 2,930
 
4,034 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashman2002

From my experience if you flash a rom it will no longer have usb debugging enabled so if you get boot loop or something adb wont work. I know you don't specifybut I personally have not heard of a device being stuck unless the person was flashing.

This is my captivate. There are many like it buy this one is mine.

I have had my phone,Plus my girls virbrant stuck on the att%t screen\t-mobile screen and this as worked for me.I have had a few boot loops, but that was cuz i was changing the framework-res.apk,but was able to go into download mode via the rom I was on. I will look into this and see if i need to update.
Last edited by D-FUSE; 12th December 2010 at 09:52 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes