FORUMS

Moto X Style, Moto X Play and Moto G Forums Are Here!

The latest family members of the new generation of Motorola devices are … more

Galaxy Unpacked: What is Samsung Going to Unveil?

Amidst all the hype of the OnePlus 2 and the rain of Moto 2015 news, Samsung tried … more

Arrow Launcher: Good Effort Without Direction

Microsoft’s Android expansion has been well received on the productivity front, but … more

Two New Moto X and New Moto G – Specs & Details

Today’s Moto event just ended and now we have a clear look at all of … more

[Q] Back Button Stuck [Solution!]

12 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By lagghshield, Junior Member on 11th December 2010, 08:23 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi all,

I have a GT-I9000M from bell and I just recently upgrading to froyo(jk4) through kies. My phone has never been rooted/lag-fixed, unlocked and flashed before. After upgrading to froyo I have a problem with the back button being "stuck".

This does not happen all the time but occasionally at random it does and is very annoying since I am used to pressing the back button instead of the home button.

Here are the symptoms:
When I press the back button, it would appear to be stuck. The light for the back button is off(and i can't press it anymore), menu key is still light up. I can't press the menu key, I can press the home button but that just takes a screenshot because of the back key still stuck. Another thing is when I press the power button ONCE, the screen closes and then immediately turns back on.

The only way to make it "unstuck" is to press the power button since it "shuts" off the touch buttons. Even then when once I press the back button again it will get stuck. The back button will start working properly after some time randomly. I cannot relate this problem to any specific applications or actions I do. It seems to happen randomly.

I've done a factory reset before I upgraded. Did an additional two factory resets after the upgrade because of this problem and formatted my sd but the problem still persists.

What can I do to fix this problem if can be?

Thanks

EDIT: Thanks to BlackDino for the solution!
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackDino

Ok, goto your dialer and type the following:
*#*#2663#*#*
Then click Touch key FW update.

Let me know if this fixes the issue for you too,
I had the same issue and after doing this I haven't seen the problem in a number of days.
This may or may not work, I have found this menu on my own and don't know if it will solve anything

EDIT2: Thanks to Kewjoe to pointing out if you're not on a i9000m rom!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kewjoe

Had to flash JL2 back, redo this and get the proper firmware for the i9000m. My buttons are back


So to be clear, do not run this command from a non-i9000m ROM or you will lose your buttons!

Last edited by lagghshield; 12th January 2011 at 05:17 PM.
 
 
13th December 2010, 06:21 AM |#2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Well since I couldn't find any solution, I flashed back to stock jh2 but the problem still persists... I updated through kies again to jk4 but same thing. This is really annoying now. Any ideas? =/
13th December 2010, 06:41 AM |#3  
BlackDino's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,349
 
Donate to Me
More
Ok, goto your dialer and type the following:
*#*#2663#*#*
Then click Touch key FW update.

Let me know if this fixes the issue for you too,
I had the same issue and after doing this I haven't seen the problem in a number of days.
This may or may not work, I have found this menu on my own and don't know if it will solve anything
Last edited by BlackDino; 13th December 2010 at 06:45 AM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to BlackDino For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th December 2010, 12:28 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I'll let you know if it fixes it!

Thank you!
13th December 2010, 04:18 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackDino

Ok, goto your dialer and type the following:
*#*#2663#*#*
Then click Touch key FW update.

Let me know if this fixes the issue for you too,
I had the same issue and after doing this I haven't seen the problem in a number of days.
This may or may not work, I have found this menu on my own and don't know if it will solve anything

I am having the same problem. Never had this problem at all with 2.1. I am also going to try your suggestion and report back.
Thank you,
13th December 2010, 05:40 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
So far so good. Usually by now the problem would come back. So I can confirm it works for now! Also, the touch keys seem to be a lot more responsive than before.

Thanks BlackDino!
14th December 2010, 04:16 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
The problem seems fixed for me too.
Thank you.
16th December 2010, 03:26 AM |#8  
BlackDino's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,349
 
Donate to Me
More
Glad this fixes the issues for everyone!
16th December 2010, 06:47 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Had the exact same problem and this fixes the problem for me too. Thanks!
29th December 2010, 02:39 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
This actually "Broke" my back and menu buttons. I'm on Darkyy's 7.5 Rom with Speedmod Kernal K12F 512hz (JL2 Modem). I assume it probably tried to download a FW for an international i9000 and it wasn't compatible with my i9000m hardware. *shrug*.

Trying a factory reset to see if i can get my buttons back.
29th December 2010, 03:01 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Had to flash JL2 back, redo this and get the proper firmware for the i9000m. My buttons are back


So to be clear, do not run this command from a non-i9000m ROM or you will lose your buttons!
The Following User Says Thank You to Kewjoe For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes