Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,962 Members 40,598 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[DEV][DEAD] DVB USB stick support for Live TV

Tip us?
 
chrulri
Old
(Last edited by chrulri; 1st May 2012 at 10:39 AM.) Reason: dead project
#1  
chrulri's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 275
Posts: 896
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Lightbulb [DEV][DEAD] DVB USB stick support for Live TV

ATTENTION

This project is currently dead, for more information have a look at http://code.google.com/p/archos-gen8-dvb/

SUCCESSOR IS ONLINE, check it out at http://github.com/chrulri/droidtv


-- old content:
Quote:
As the Archos 101IT has a full size USB port, why shouldn't we plug a dvb-t stick in and watch tv? (without internet!)

For more information see Roadmap

Any comments / suggestions?

Testers:
Links:
Videos:
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to chrulri For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
raminator
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 13
Join Date: Nov 2009
i would volunteer to test it on my A32IT (have dvb-t stick and USB-adapter)
 
chrulri
Old
#3  
chrulri's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 275
Posts: 896
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
thank you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by raminator View Post
(have dvb-t stick and USB-adapter)
which one do you have?
 
cajl
Old
#4  
cajl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 167
Posts: 838
Join Date: May 2008
Location: near PARIS (94)

 
DONATE TO ME
me too
on Archos 10.1, 7.0 and 4.3
The old man of Archos
All Archos from JUKEBOX 6000 to GEN XX
see that
http://www.jbmm.fr/2010/10/23/ma-folie-archosienne/
THANKS for your THANKS
 
raminator
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 13
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by chulri View Post
thank you!


which one do you have?
terratec cynergy xte or something like that...4 years old
The Following User Says Thank You to raminator For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chrulri
Old
(Last edited by chrulri; 14th December 2010 at 04:46 PM.)
#6  
chrulri's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 275
Posts: 896
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
After analyzing the archos froyo source package I've found out that they already have a package for the linuxtv-dvb-apps project but disabled it This makes building a lot easier, as I don't have to write my own configs and makefiles

I updated it to the newest HEAD checkout of linuxtv-dvb-apps and then I've wrote some script which make the build process so much easier (unpack one tar archive, copy the froyo release package into same folder and run a script..)

I'm currently testing the build process and try to minimalize it (for fixing and upgrading, in the end I only have to build it once)

edit: update in OP
 
fullthrottleenergy
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jun 2009
would a micro usb host cable work to connect a hauppage 950q? Not sure if there's enough power.

edit: talking about the a70
 
chrulri
Old
#8  
chrulri's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 275
Posts: 896
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
I don't know if power could be an issue at all.
Is the HVR-950Q supported by linux kernel?
 
MGUS
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Mar 2005
you can count me as a tester...

have a bunch of different dvb-t sticks and a dvb-s2 usb and have some experience in LinuxTV especially with vdr.
 
usrname
Old
#10  
usrname's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 248
Join Date: Aug 2007
very interesting. would like to test with my A101IT and Cinergy Hybrid T XE.

Tags
android, archos, dvb, live tv
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes