Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[DEV][DEAD] DVB USB stick support for Live TV

OP chrulri

13th December 2010, 02:18 PM   |  #1  
chrulri's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 275
 
896 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
ATTENTION

This project is currently dead, for more information have a look at http://code.google.com/p/archos-gen8-dvb/

SUCCESSOR IS ONLINE, check it out at http://github.com/chrulri/droidtv


-- old content:
Quote:

As the Archos 101IT has a full size USB port, why shouldn't we plug a dvb-t stick in and watch tv? (without internet!)

For more information see Roadmap

Any comments / suggestions?

Testers:


Links:
Videos:

Last edited by chrulri; 1st May 2012 at 11:39 AM. Reason: dead project
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to chrulri For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th December 2010, 03:51 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
i would volunteer to test it on my A32IT (have dvb-t stick and USB-adapter)
13th December 2010, 04:10 PM   |  #3  
chrulri's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 275
 
896 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
thank you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by raminator

(have dvb-t stick and USB-adapter)

which one do you have?
13th December 2010, 04:21 PM   |  #4  
cajl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag near PARIS (94)
Thanks Meter: 167
 
838 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
me too
on Archos 10.1, 7.0 and 4.3
13th December 2010, 06:17 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chulri

thank you!


which one do you have?

terratec cynergy xte or something like that...4 years old
The Following User Says Thank You to raminator For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th December 2010, 05:27 PM   |  #6  
chrulri's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 275
 
896 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
After analyzing the archos froyo source package I've found out that they already have a package for the linuxtv-dvb-apps project but disabled it This makes building a lot easier, as I don't have to write my own configs and makefiles

I updated it to the newest HEAD checkout of linuxtv-dvb-apps and then I've wrote some script which make the build process so much easier (unpack one tar archive, copy the froyo release package into same folder and run a script..)

I'm currently testing the build process and try to minimalize it (for fixing and upgrading, in the end I only have to build it once)

edit: update in OP
Last edited by chrulri; 14th December 2010 at 05:46 PM.
15th December 2010, 12:52 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
would a micro usb host cable work to connect a hauppage 950q? Not sure if there's enough power.

edit: talking about the a70
15th December 2010, 01:03 PM   |  #8  
chrulri's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 275
 
896 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
I don't know if power could be an issue at all.
Is the HVR-950Q supported by linux kernel?
15th December 2010, 01:05 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
you can count me as a tester...

have a bunch of different dvb-t sticks and a dvb-s2 usb and have some experience in LinuxTV especially with vdr.
17th December 2010, 10:09 AM   |  #10  
usrname's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
very interesting. would like to test with my A101IT and Cinergy Hybrid T XE.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, archos, dvb, live tv
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes