Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

New Market

OP Yriel40k

13th December 2010, 03:19 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Somebody tried to install the new market?http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=868767
Would be nice, if somebody try. I cant get it worked. Apk install fails und zip too.
13th December 2010, 07:20 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
just tried, the normal apk, and the update.zip

( com.android.vending_2.2.6.apk ) and ( Vending-2.2.6-signed-testkeys.update.zip )

doesnt work for me :/
13th December 2010, 11:51 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 104
 
382 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
No luck there either, force closes everytime no matter how installed (update, install, plain apk replace...). Logcat says the app is lacking GAPPS access permission (permission to access gapps account). Guess it's some API mismatch?

it supposedly works when updated ->2.1.2 -> 2.2.6. Haven't tried yet...
14th December 2010, 12:32 AM   |  #4  
etoy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 517
 
1,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
i succeded to run it on my milestone with CM6.1..but only for a few seconds. i cleared the data on old market app,then wiped the cache and put the new market as Vending.apk in \system\app. it started and i had some seconds to try it out..then it FC'd and did not start anymore. nice GUI tho! hope someone will fix it soon.
14th December 2010, 01:27 AM   |  #5  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 189
 
2,403 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlove

just tried, the normal apk, and the update.zip

( com.android.vending_2.2.6.apk ) and ( Vending-2.2.6-signed-testkeys.update.zip )

doesnt work for me :/

same thing happened to me, tried both the zip and the apk and NO LUCK
14th December 2010, 07:59 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Limassol
Thanks Meter: 15
 
765 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
i managed to install it but then i get continously force closes and cannot get into the market anymore!
The Following User Says Thank You to Fekish For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th December 2010, 06:09 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Dorset
Thanks Meter: 214
 
948 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Your best bet is to wipe pretty much everything and to inject is straight away.

Or just wait a week or so.
The Following User Says Thank You to DannyDroid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th December 2010, 12:38 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 8
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
I used appbrain to uninstall the Market update, then I successfully installed an app before market auto-updated and resumed its regular force close programming.

Crappy workaround, but it gets the job done.

Using TelusLite v4
The Following User Says Thank You to chigro For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th December 2010, 02:40 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 8
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chigro

I used appbrain to uninstall the Market update, then I successfully installed an app before market auto-updated and resumed its regular force close programming.

Crappy workaround, but it gets the job done.

Using TelusLite v4

Upon further testing, the trick is to open up the newly installed app before market updates. I do this by keeping the notification window open while the app downloads, and then clicking on the app as soon as it is finished downloading. Soon after, market will auto update and forceclose.

Reminds me of the old nintendo timing.

Sent from my Milestone using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to chigro For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th December 2010, 07:31 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Kansas City
Thanks Meter: 40
 
573 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
just got the new market without using that apk... got it from normal updates...

its UUGGLLLYYYY... i hate it.

looks like a wanna-be xBox live dashboard.

downloads are slow as hell too... i want my old market back!

The Following User Says Thank You to Ph0z3 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes