Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,583 Members 39,775 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

New Market

Tip us?
 
Yriel40k
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 81
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default New Market

Somebody tried to install the new market?http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=868767
Would be nice, if somebody try. I cant get it worked. Apk install fails und zip too.
 
jlove
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 123
Join Date: Jul 2008
just tried, the normal apk, and the update.zip

( com.android.vending_2.2.6.apk ) and ( Vending-2.2.6-signed-testkeys.update.zip )

doesnt work for me :/
 
zvieratko
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 94
Posts: 348
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Prague
No luck there either, force closes everytime no matter how installed (update, install, plain apk replace...). Logcat says the app is lacking GAPPS access permission (permission to access gapps account). Guess it's some API mismatch?

it supposedly works when updated ->2.1.2 -> 2.2.6. Haven't tried yet...
 
etoy
Old
#4  
etoy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 514
Posts: 1,534
Join Date: Dec 2009
i succeded to run it on my milestone with CM6.1..but only for a few seconds. i cleared the data on old market app,then wiped the cache and put the new market as Vending.apk in \system\app. it started and i had some seconds to try it out..then it FC'd and did not start anymore. nice GUI tho! hope someone will fix it soon.
 
Chad_Petree
Old
#5  
Chad_Petree's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 163
Posts: 2,354
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berlin
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlove View Post
just tried, the normal apk, and the update.zip

( com.android.vending_2.2.6.apk ) and ( Vending-2.2.6-signed-testkeys.update.zip )

doesnt work for me :/
same thing happened to me, tried both the zip and the apk and NO LUCK
 
Fekish
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 746
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Limassol
i managed to install it but then i get continously force closes and cannot get into the market anymore!
The Following User Says Thank You to Fekish For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DannyDroid
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 213
Posts: 946
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dorset
Your best bet is to wipe pretty much everything and to inject is straight away.

Or just wait a week or so.
The Following User Says Thank You to DannyDroid For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chigro
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 28
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto
I used appbrain to uninstall the Market update, then I successfully installed an app before market auto-updated and resumed its regular force close programming.

Crappy workaround, but it gets the job done.

Using TelusLite v4
The Following User Says Thank You to chigro For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chigro
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 28
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by chigro View Post
I used appbrain to uninstall the Market update, then I successfully installed an app before market auto-updated and resumed its regular force close programming.

Crappy workaround, but it gets the job done.

Using TelusLite v4
Upon further testing, the trick is to open up the newly installed app before market updates. I do this by keeping the notification window open while the app downloads, and then clicking on the app as soon as it is finished downloading. Soon after, market will auto update and forceclose.

Reminds me of the old nintendo timing.

Sent from my Milestone using XDA App
Device: Nexus 4
Rom: ParanoidAndroid 3.60
Kernel: Linaro franco.Kernel - r155 | 3.4.49+ gcc 4.8.1 -O3
Radio: 0.27
Provider: Bell Mobility
The Following User Says Thank You to chigro For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ph0z3
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 573
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kansas City
just got the new market without using that apk... got it from normal updates...

its UUGGLLLYYYY... i hate it.

looks like a wanna-be xBox live dashboard.

downloads are slow as hell too... i want my old market back!

The Following User Says Thank You to Ph0z3 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes