Post Reply

[APP] Renamed Gingerbread Keyboard - updated 2010-12-28

OP hotaru

16th December 2010, 01:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Account currently disabled
Kent, OH
Thanks Meter: 239
 
519 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
this is the gingerbread keyboard, with a different package name so you can install it alongside the normal android keyboard on android 2.1+. it works on non-rooted devices. it includes BG, CS, CZ, DA, DE, EN, ES, FI, FR, IT, NB, NL, PL, PT, RU, SL, and SV dictionaries.
before installing, i recommend removing dictionaries for any languages you aren't going to use and re-signing it.
if you have another dictionary you want added to this, let me know. if you don't have a dictionary for me to include, don't expect me to track one down.

the small keyboard problem and haptic feedback on motorola and samsung devices should be fixed now.
the problem with replacing words has been fixed.

any posts reporting problems with it that do not include all of the following will be ignored:
  • a description of the problem
  • the name of your device
  • the name and version of your rom, and what type of rom it is (aosp, cyanogen, sense, touchwiz, etc)
  • logcat output

known issues:
  • the list of languages comes from the android system, and some roms return a very short list.
  • voice input does not (yet) work on android 2.1.

if you had problems with the old version, try this one and if the problems still exist, see above about reporting them.
Attached Files
File Type: apk gbkb-en.apk - [Click for QR Code] (1.03 MB, 57238 views)
File Type: apk gbkb.apk - [Click for QR Code] (7.29 MB, 51552 views)
Last edited by orb3000; 10th October 2011 at 10:28 PM. Reason: TAG!
The Following 183 Users Say Thank You to hotaru For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th December 2010, 04:18 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
It had a small glitch,.similar to the droid x keyboard that was released, the & symbol shows up as amp;

Sent from my ADR6300 using XDA App
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to kick069 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th December 2010, 05:00 PM   |  #3  
OP Account currently disabled
Kent, OH
Thanks Meter: 239
 
519 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kick069

It had a small glitch,.similar to the droid x keyboard that was released, the & symbol shows up as amp;

Sent from my ADR6300 using XDA App

i noticed that and uploaded a fixed version earlier this morning.
The Following User Says Thank You to hotaru For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th December 2010, 05:29 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 588
 
2,084 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Force closes on my x10... I assume its not for 2.1 phones...

Sent from my x32 using the licking write method....man I am thirsty now!
The Following User Says Thank You to PollPixx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th December 2010, 08:04 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Good work! It's fixed now.

Sent from my ADR6300 using XDA App
16th December 2010, 08:25 PM   |  #6  
OP Account currently disabled
Kent, OH
Thanks Meter: 239
 
519 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PollPixx

Force closes on my x10... I assume its not for 2.1 phones...

it's only for 2.2 or newer.
16th December 2010, 10:35 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
It works find on my galaxy 3. Good job
17th December 2010, 02:47 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Antioch
Thanks Meter: 112
 
604 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Is it possible to get this working on 2.1 phones ??
17th December 2010, 04:00 AM   |  #9  
OP Account currently disabled
Kent, OH
Thanks Meter: 239
 
519 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironlood

Is it possible to get this working on 2.1 phones ??

yes, it is. and i just added a version that works on 2.1.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hotaru For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th December 2010, 04:18 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Montreal
Thanks Meter: 11
 
353 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
2.1 version works but its so small... takes like a quarter of my screen... feels like on screen blackberry.

The Following User Says Thank You to k4r1m For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gingerbread, gingerbread keyboard, keyboard, latin ime, latinime, xt720
Previous Thread Next Thread