5,597,707 Members 34,650 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: Which modem gives you the best results? (signal, gps, speed)
AOJP3 84 8.85%
BVJP3 61 6.43%
DTJP3 53 5.58%
UGJL2 751 79.14%
Voters: 949. You may not vote on this poll

[Modems] - (Froyo & Gingerbread) - WCDMA 850 enabled

Tip us?
 
simple man
Old
(Last edited by simple man; 27th January 2012 at 12:22 PM.)
#2681  
simple man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 713
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Missouri
The most versatile seems to be JK4, I like JW2. It depends on your location, the best thing to do is download a bunch and try em all. Just make sure to use I9000 modem/radio w/I9000 rom, and I897 modem/radio w/I897 Rom.

Sent from my I897 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to simple man For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
simple man
Old
(Last edited by simple man; 27th January 2012 at 12:21 PM.)
#2682  
simple man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 713
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Missouri
Edit.... modem/radio needs to match the rom ie... I9000 rom use i9000 modem/radio etc...otherwise people on the other end of the call will here static.

Sent from my I897 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to simple man For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
coolpepe
Old
#2683  
coolpepe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 346
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: KULLU-MANALI
Quote:
Originally Posted by simple man View Post
Edit.... modem/radio needs to match the kernel ie... I9000 kernel use i9000 modem/radio etc...otherwise people on the other end of the call will here static.

Sent from my I897 using Tapatalk
Thanks a ton mate for the quick reply will download and give them a try and see which one suits my phone. By the way i live in India and am on AIRTEL.
ROM: [KK][4.4.2][LINARO/SABERMOD] Omni Rom [NIGHTLY BUILDS]
 
simple man
Old
(Last edited by simple man; 27th January 2012 at 12:24 PM.)
#2684  
simple man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 713
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Missouri
No problem, I'm not sure which would br best in India, I flashed about 10 different modems where I get the absolute worst signal, to see which one worked the best.

Sent from my I897 using Tapatalk
 
pwneman
Old
#2685  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 580
Posts: 1,071
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnutty View Post
How is the cell reception when doing this? I'd be curious to try this out. Is out just simply grabbing the radio file and repacking?

Sent from my SGH-I897
Cell reception is pretty good. Yea, that's what I did. Rename to modem.bin and drag and drop into an existing modem package. Although I can't get it to install anymore in CWM. I get a bad zip error . Weird...It did work at one point, but not after flashing to stock and reflashing ics (
IF I HAVE HELPED YOU IN ANY WAY, PLEASE THANK ME --->DONATE!

SimplyAOKP ICS 4.0.4 ~ ODEXED

SimplyStockV2.0 KK4/ICS THEMED ODEXED ~ SAMMY STABLE 2.3.5

Nexus S Modems for Galaxy S Devices

Upcoming Phone:
Something Awesome

Current Phone: Samsung Captivate
Current ROM: CyanogenMod 10 JellyBean BETA 4

Previous Phone/s:
Samsung Impression (god of non smartphones).


~Rakesh Kadamati
 
The Communicator
Old
#2686  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 58
Join Date: Mar 2011
I got a problem, I swapped my atrix with a friend of mine. It was on cognition 3 when I received it and it's running on a vibrant radio (T959JL3). I want to change the radio to the one for the captivate but flashing the radio doesnt work. I tried flashing UGL2, UGKG3, and UCKB1. When I check the baseband version under settings it never changes, still the vibrant radio. What can I do to change it? I've ran cm7 nightlies and am currently on cm9 pre alpha and no problems with cellular signal and data. Is this a case where I shouldn't fix something that isn't broken? Thanks!


Device: SGH-i897
Rom: CM10.2 Nightlies
Kernel: GearKernel 1.0.8c
Radio: UGKG3
Mfg Batch: 1101
Back from the dead
Ondemand
SioPlus
LiveOC 108%

Device: GT-i9003
Rom: [Alpha 1][4.3] Slim Bean build.1-Stable-909 (16-Sep-2013)
Kernel: Stock
Radio: DDL1
Ondemand
Cfq


9300i>E72>IP2>IP3GS>HD2>Nexus One>HTC Glacier>MB860>GT-i9003+SGH-i897+IP4s

There is no spoon
 
shoman94
Old
#2687  
shoman94's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 11747
Posts: 8,330
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maine

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Communicator View Post
I got a problem, I swapped my atrix with a friend of mine. It was on cognition 3 when I received it and it's running on a vibrant radio (T959JL3). I want to change the radio to the one for the captivate but flashing the radio doesnt work. I tried flashing UGL2, UGKG3, and UCKB1. When I check the baseband version under settings it never changes, still the vibrant radio. What can I do to change it? I've ran cm7 nightlies and am currently on cm9 pre alpha and no problems with cellular signal and data. Is this a case where I shouldn't fix something that isn't broken? Thanks!
Are you flashing cm7 modems?

Sent from my sgs2 using Tapatalk.
<a href=http://forum.xda-developers.com/signaturepics/sigpic1670609_1.gif target=_blank rel=nofollow >http://forum.xda-developers.com/sign...c1670609_1.gif</a>
IRC: freenode|#shostock


Asus Transformer Prime[32gb]
Stock-JellyBean

Asus Transformer[16gb]
ICS RevolutionHD
 
The Communicator
Old
#2688  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 58
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Are you flashing cm7 modems?

Sent from my sgs2 using Tapatalk.
I dont know if they're particularly for cm7, I just flash the radio(.zip)s for gingerbread roms. I tried switching radios while on cm7, I thought they should have worked while on cm7 since it's a gingerbread rom.


Device: SGH-i897
Rom: CM10.2 Nightlies
Kernel: GearKernel 1.0.8c
Radio: UGKG3
Mfg Batch: 1101
Back from the dead
Ondemand
SioPlus
LiveOC 108%

Device: GT-i9003
Rom: [Alpha 1][4.3] Slim Bean build.1-Stable-909 (16-Sep-2013)
Kernel: Stock
Radio: DDL1
Ondemand
Cfq


9300i>E72>IP2>IP3GS>HD2>Nexus One>HTC Glacier>MB860>GT-i9003+SGH-i897+IP4s

There is no spoon
 
shoman94
Old
(Last edited by shoman94; 30th January 2012 at 04:42 PM.)
#2689  
shoman94's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 11747
Posts: 8,330
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Maine

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Communicator View Post
I dont know if they're particularly for cm7, I just flash the radio(.zip)s for gingerbread roms. I tried switching radios while on cm7, I thought they should have worked while on cm7 since it's a gingerbread rom.
No they have to be packaged for cm7. The flash script is different.


Sent from my sgs2 using Tapatalk.
<a href=http://forum.xda-developers.com/signaturepics/sigpic1670609_1.gif target=_blank rel=nofollow >http://forum.xda-developers.com/sign...c1670609_1.gif</a>
IRC: freenode|#shostock


Asus Transformer Prime[32gb]
Stock-JellyBean

Asus Transformer[16gb]
ICS RevolutionHD
 
The Communicator
Old
#2690  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 58
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
No they have to be packaged for cm7. The flash script is different.


Sent from my sgs2 using Tapatalk.
Ohh I had no idea that was the case. So to change radios I have to flash back to stock or a rom that's based on an official build right? Or is there a way to package the radio for cm7


Device: SGH-i897
Rom: CM10.2 Nightlies
Kernel: GearKernel 1.0.8c
Radio: UGKG3
Mfg Batch: 1101
Back from the dead
Ondemand
SioPlus
LiveOC 108%

Device: GT-i9003
Rom: [Alpha 1][4.3] Slim Bean build.1-Stable-909 (16-Sep-2013)
Kernel: Stock
Radio: DDL1
Ondemand
Cfq


9300i>E72>IP2>IP3GS>HD2>Nexus One>HTC Glacier>MB860>GT-i9003+SGH-i897+IP4s

There is no spoon

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes