Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

New Market app

OP devis

18th December 2010, 12:59 AM   |  #1  
devis's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 14
 
395 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2005
Any brave souls tried the new Market today?
The Following User Says Thank You to devis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th December 2010, 01:37 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Yes, I just tried it. It works! and it fixes the button problem in 2.2.6.

I first tried one that did not work, but I've attached the one I did get to work. Just copy into /system/app, rename to Vending.apk, and change permissions.

Enjoy!
Attached Files
File Type: apk com.android.vending.apk - [Click for QR Code] (2.02 MB, 2952 views)
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Xhorder For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th December 2010, 02:19 AM   |  #3  
Thibor69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Scottsdale - AZ
Thanks Meter: 170
 
720 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xhorder

Yes, I just tried it. It works! and it fixes the button problem in 2.2.6.

I first tried one that did not work, but I've attached the one I did get to work. Just copy into /system/app, rename to Vending.apk, and change permissions.

Enjoy!


Would this work ?

adb shell mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 /system
adb shell cp /system/app/Vending.apk /system/app/oldVending.apk
adb push Vending.apk /system/app
adb reboot
Last edited by Thibor69; 18th December 2010 at 02:46 AM.
18th December 2010, 03:38 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Or, you can just download and install it like any other apply. It'll install over the old Market no problem. It Indore you that it's a system apply, but works anyway.

Sent from my Nook Color
18th December 2010, 03:49 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by golfprorm

Or, you can just download and install it like any other apply. It'll install over the old Market no problem. It Indore you that it's a system apply, but works anyway.

Sent from my Nook Color

that didn't work for me... YMMV of course.
18th December 2010, 06:53 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Anyone have the old Market (Vending.apk)? I stupidly replaced it with the above and broke it. Much obliged.
18th December 2010, 06:53 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thibor69

Would this work ?

adb shell mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 /system
adb shell cp /system/app/Vending.apk /system/app/oldVending.apk
adb push Vending.apk /system/app
adb reboot

Worked for me
18th December 2010, 08:41 AM   |  #8  
ahfunaki's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
277 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
I was able to install it via the .apk...
18th December 2010, 07:55 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Fort Lewis, WA
Thanks Meter: 30
 
175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
Kept getting error message about cp: not found
Skipped the renaming step and it worked perfect, rejected both drives first and it worked like a charm.

FW 1.0.0 / Launcherpro
18th December 2010, 08:03 PM   |  #10  
wpnyc2009's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manhattan
Thanks Meter: 15
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Works great! Any updated Gmail success yet?


Sent from my LogicPD Zoom2 using Tapatalk

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes