Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[SCRIPT - 2/7/11] NookColor Auto Config (Windows) 1.0.0, 1.0.1 & 1.1.0

OP xboxexpert

18th December 2010, 05:49 AM   |  #1  
xboxexpert's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nanuet NY
Thanks Meter: 1,150
 
958 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
Shout out to Mistar Muffin for his script for other OS's. I've added my knowledge of DOS and some extra stuff. Enjoy guys it works perfectly. I've tested this thing fully it works....again it works. Run it over your messed up Nook and it should fix it. LOL, hopefully!

Prerequisites; Super user and adb working or auto-nookered! Enjoy I've tested this on Nooks DIRECTLY OUT OF THE BOX and with Nooks that have been partially modded.

Recommendations? Yea if you don't like the fact that I edited the volume buttons I've taken it out of the autonook.bat and added it to a separate batch file.

Features 1.0.0:
Code:
* Creates .Android Folder & adb_usb.ini *
* Installs Busybox *
* Updates settings.db *
* Disables OTA Updates *
* Enables Multitouch In Apps *
* Converts Volume Buttons (Back, Menu) *
* Installs Live Wallpapers *
* Installs Email *
* Enables Location Service *
* Installs YouTube! *
* Installs DroidX Keyboard *
* Replaces Boot Animation with DroidX *
* Installs Framework and Gapps *
* Modifies system fingerprint *
* Modifies packages.xml *
* Fixes Permissions *
* Installs Applications *
- REBOOTS NOOK COLOR -
* Fixes Broken YouTube *
Features 1.0.1:
Code:
* Creates .Android Folder & adb_usb.ini *
* Fixes YouTube just incase its broken *
* Converts Volume Buttons (Back, Menu) *
* Updates settings.db *
* Replaces Boot Animation with DroidX *
* Uninstalls Softkeys & Installs Launcher Pro *
* Installs Applications *
Features 1.1.0:
Code:
* Creates .Android Folder & adb_usb.ini *
* Fixes YouTube just incase its broken *
* Converts Volume Buttons (Back, Menu) *
* Installs SQLite3 *
* Blocks Future B&N Updates *
* Replaces Boot Animation with DroidX *
* Uninstalls Softkeys & Installs Launcher Pro *
* Installs Applications *
Things to do:
Update Android Market

Download:
Auto Configure Script 1.0.0
Auto Configure Script 1.0.1
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=EGCZAHNP

P.S - If you break your Nook I'm not going to take any responsibility. This will not format your system32 or deltree your windows folder...just enjoy!



Need to get back to stock?
WARNING: Make sure your battery is CHARGED before attempting!

Code:
adb pull /rom/devconf/BootCnt
echo -n -e "\x08\x00\x00\x00" > BootCnt
adb push .\BootCnt /rom/devconf/BootCnt
adb reboot
There is a batch file that runs the above code included its called (factoryreset.bat)

This will set the boot count to 8 and reboot your device sending it into Factory Reset mode. Once your factory reset is complete you can force shutdown (by holding power for 15 seconds) and hold then hold the "n" button and "Volume +" while powering the unit on to reset your data. After this is done its like you just pulled the nook out of the box for the first time.

Remove your SD Card and turn on your Nook Color, register your device and plug in the USB cord. Go DOWNLOAD the 1.0.1 update and save it to your "MYNOOKCOLOR" drive's root folder. Reboot your device should start to update your nook to 1.0.1!

Now that your Nook Color is on 1.0.1 firmware you want to root it with Auto-Nooter you can follow this thread to do so.

Enjoy
Last edited by xboxexpert; 7th February 2011 at 10:36 PM.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to xboxexpert For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th December 2010, 06:18 AM   |  #2  
donballz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Didn't need the whole script, but I modded my volume buttons with your files and code. Thats a great feature. Thanks!
Last edited by donballz; 20th December 2010 at 04:54 AM.
18th December 2010, 06:24 AM   |  #3  
Bandage's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tulsa, OK
Thanks Meter: 801
 
1,732 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by donballz

Can you document what this does and why I should care?

Most importantly: In what way did you mod the volume buttons? Thanks.

Eh...read the title of the code he posted. Do believe he modified the buttons to act as back / menu.
18th December 2010, 06:32 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
681 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
A...colorful post ;)

"DIRECTLY OUT OF THE BOX" so it works on...unrooted Nooks ?

After two spontaneous resets yesterday I'm ready to try anything at this point, especially since I can't get mine to update to 1.01 with the manual method...

...which raises the question, does this work with 1.01 ?
18th December 2010, 07:19 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
681 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
1. "DIRECTLY OUT OF THE BOX" - no, still needs nooter for ADB, makes sense
2. Does not work with 1.01+nooter - it hangs on boot at the Adobe screen, like the original script and autonooter I understand.
Will have to do it the manual way or maybe keep some of the automation, must say the script is well documented ;)

So I did the 8 finger salute and it flashed itself to...1.0.0 ! So after clearing the memory I am now running the script, currently installing the apps...

Seems to have worked pretty well, I did have a problem with the menu button not working until YouTube got fixed by the script, so I got around that problem by commenting on a video at which point it asked me for my log in info.

Now updating to Maps 5.00!

Hopefully the OTA killing in the script will prevent an update to 1.01...
Last edited by webvan; 18th December 2010 at 07:58 AM.
18th December 2010, 02:27 PM   |  #6  
xboxexpert's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nanuet NY
Thanks Meter: 1,150
 
958 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
post Maps 5 and ill update my script accordingly
18th December 2010, 02:54 PM   |  #7  
xboxexpert's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nanuet NY
Thanks Meter: 1,150
 
958 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
should work on 1.0.1, any testers?
18th December 2010, 06:58 PM   |  #8  
cabbieBot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
465 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Whoa.....it installs flash?

Sent from my LogicPD Zoom2 using XDA App
18th December 2010, 07:12 PM   |  #9  
xboxexpert's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nanuet NY
Thanks Meter: 1,150
 
958 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
Yup flash for 2.1
18th December 2010, 07:17 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
681 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxexpert

should work on 1.0.1, any testers?

Nope, like I said above it doesn't, fortunately a "factory reset" took my NC back to 1.0.0 so I was able to run it and no "spontaneous resets" so far, must have been something in Autonooter.

Not sure how to get the MAP 5 apk, would Titanium do that ?

The Following User Says Thank You to webvan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes