FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

[APP] XBMC remote modified for Gtab

172 posts
Thanks Meter: 12
 
By WickedStyx, Senior Member on 18th December 2010, 01:11 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
EDIT: Official version on the market has been updated to support tablets.

I modified the official XBMC remote app so it scales properly on the Gtab. You now get a huge ass 10" remote control

beta 1.1:
- Fixed force close when Official XBMC Remote app not installed. You need to uninstall the old version sorry.

beta 1:
- Remote control scales to full screen in portait and landscape.
- Status bar displayed when using remote control (so you can use soft back, menu, home buttons).
- Playback controls on "Now Playing" view scales to screen width.

Todo:
- Gesture remote full screen
- Layout fixes for Library view
- Landscape view for library, now playing, etc

Credits to Team XBMC for the original app.

Disclaimer: This app will probably cause your device to explode so don't use it.



Attached Files
File Type: apk XBMC Remote gtab beta1.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (5.80 MB, 973 views)
Last edited by WickedStyx; 22nd January 2011 at 04:28 AM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to WickedStyx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
18th December 2010, 03:09 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I installed this but when I try running the app I get a forced close.
The Following User Says Thank You to Avenger069 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th December 2010, 03:23 PM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I installed it, replacing the official xbmc App. It fired up and connected to our xbmc hosts. Wife walked by, saw the scaled out remote control buttons and laughed.

Cool beans and thanks.
18th December 2010, 03:58 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Follow up:

I started with a clean VEGAn ROM.

Installed your XBMC remote and was getting the forced close after trying to run the app. I then installed the official app from the market and the forced close for your app went away. I then uninstalled the official app and the forced close for your app returned.

shredness: Do you have both apps installed (official plus this one)?
18th December 2010, 06:09 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Yes, I installed this over the official.
18th December 2010, 09:11 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
I did change the app at the last minute so it wouldn't replace the official app. Must have missed something. I'll fix when I get a chance.

EDIT:
This is fixed. You need to uninstall the old version of my app first sorry.

Sent from my VEGAn-TAB-v1.0.0b3 using Tapatalk
Last edited by WickedStyx; 18th December 2010 at 10:49 PM.
18th December 2010, 09:12 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shredness

I installed it, replacing the official xbmc App. It fired up and connected to our xbmc hosts. Wife walked by, saw the scaled out remote control buttons and laughed.

Cool beans and thanks.

Haha the remote could do with a redesign for our screens. Suggestions welcome

Sent from my VEGAn-TAB-v1.0.0b3 using Tapatalk
Last edited by WickedStyx; 18th December 2010 at 10:56 PM.
19th December 2010, 03:54 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 88
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WickedStyx

Haha the remote could do with a redesign for our screens. Suggestions welcome

I'd love volume up/down/mute buttons
23rd December 2010, 01:39 PM |#9  
Hal0053's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Awesome! Thanks for all your hard work!
23rd December 2010, 10:23 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bittrix

I'd love volume up/down/mute buttons

You can use the physical volume up/down buttons to change XBMC's volume but I'll add on screen buttons when I'm back home after Christmas. I'm thinking about adding a gmote style touchpad since there's so much space to work with.
2nd January 2011, 08:16 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Smile Used Your mod on Dell Streak
Happened to be playing around with the official XBMC Remote app and it worked, except it wasn't scaling properly. I came across your mod decided to give a go and it works at least as well as the official app. Everything is scaled a lot better. About the only issues I observed on the Streak is the movie posters does not fix that very large dvd frame and the slider to filter movies...actors...files...whatever, looks a little cramped.

Thanks guys...will be following this closely.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes