Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,988 Members 45,251 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM] EzGingerbread (Dream and Sapphire) stable-v1.0 2011-12-04

Tip us?
 
arceles
Old
#3271  
arceles's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 117
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezterry View Post
Since rom manager uses flash_image to re-flash recovery (see /data/data/com.koushikdutta.rommanager/files/ )

Something sounds like user error here, since if flash_image really couldn't flash anything you could not reinstall your old recovery.

(I understand its not built into the rom by default thus you need a static build of your own.. I know sometimes flash_image fails.. but erase_image and retrying usually corrects that after the phone boots more.. I know these low level flash applications must be run as root. I know cwm and ra recoveries have flash_image built in thus you could do this from recovery via adb. I know if you are using cmtd there may be some oddness with the size of the cache partitions in/out of recovery.)

This is even without properly asking is before touching recovery asking yourself: do you want to touch recovery? Since recovery is what you use to recover a bad system.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
To be honest I just wanted to flash the 5x version of clockwork recovery, no, I'm no using Custom MTDs, just your vanilla rom, that, by the way, is the fastest thing I have seen on my G1.

I followed the guide that I mentioned you, following step by step (I used Better Terminal Emulator for copying it to system and apply the 777 permisions)

Still the only thing that it worked is the ROM Manager, I'm curious thought, if it uses the same flash_image I don't see why it would fail my method...


Current:
Rooted Xperia Z2 + PHA-2 + XBA-H3 + SBH-52 = Pure Audio Awesomeness.

Sold:
Xperia Ultra / RAZRi

Alarm Clock:
German G1 - InfinityRom
 
mahroze
Old
#3272  
mahroze's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 193
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lahore
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvall View Post
Been discussed many times. Either make a new fonts.sqf with the ones you want, or delete it and put the fonts where they usually go
is there a guide on how to make fonts.sqf coz to be honest i dont knw what that is thanks in advance
 
Scrip
Old
#3273  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 119
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by arceles View Post
To be honest I just wanted to flash the 5x version of clockwork recovery, no, I'm no using Custom MTDs, just your vanilla rom, that, by the way, is the fastest thing I have seen on my G1.

I followed the guide that I mentioned you, following step by step (I used Better Terminal Emulator for copying it to system and apply the 777 permisions)

Still the only thing that it worked is the ROM Manager, I'm curious thought, if it uses the same flash_image I don't see why it would fail my method...
Better Terminal Emulator is not better
if you want a real terminal emulator try ConnectBot

777 ? wtf?
777 is rwxrwxrwx
at the most flash_image should be 755 (rwxr-xr-x)
but since you need root to use it 700 (rwx------) is better

the 5x cmr doesn't work for the dream
Yes the thread says it works perfect but also says it doesn't work on the dream yet, so not so perfect
also the instructions for flashing are wrong
the OP instructs the user to
  • adb remount
    which makes system rw, which has nothing to do with recovery
  • adb su
    which is a pointless step since a/ not needed as you are already root b/it runs su then exits
so you are following two guides which are written by people who don't really understand what they are doing

so the question is
did flash_image really fail?
probably not since you are flashing a recovery which is known to not work with a G1

If flash_image did fail, it is most likely a memory problem
two ways around that
  1. via adb shell stop android with
    Code:
    stop zygote
    do the flash_image recovery recovery.img
    either reboot or start zygote
  2. write an init.d script to flash recovery on boot for example
    Code:
    #!/system/bin/sh
    test -e /cache/recovery.img || exit 1
    flash_image recovery /cache/recovery.img  > /cache/flash_img.log
    rm /cache/recovery.img

You don't need clockwork 5x
apparently 2x crashes windows so either upgrade to a real OS or install RA-1.7 and keep a clean /sdcard (no scroll or dir navigation with in RA)
The Following User Says Thank You to Scrip For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
arceles
Old
#3274  
arceles's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 117
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrip View Post
Better Terminal Emulator is not better
if you want a real terminal emulator try ConnectBot

777 ? wtf?
777 is rwxrwxrwx
at the most flash_image should be 755 (rwxr-xr-x)
but since you need root to use it 700 (rwx------) is better

the 5x cmr doesn't work for the dream
Yes the thread says it works perfect but also says it doesn't work on the dream yet, so not so perfect
also the instructions for flashing are wrong
the OP instructs the user to
  • adb remount
    which makes system rw, which has nothing to do with recovery
  • adb su
    which is a pointless step since a/ not needed as you are already root b/it runs su then exits
so you are following two guides which are written by people who don't really understand what they are doing

so the question is
did flash_image really fail?
probably not since you are flashing a recovery which is known to not work with a G1

If flash_image did fail, it is most likely a memory problem
two ways around that
  1. via adb shell stop android with
    Code:
    stop zygote
    do the flash_image recovery recovery.img
    either reboot or start zygote
  2. write an init.d script to flash recovery on boot for example
    Code:
    #!/system/bin/sh
    test -e /cache/recovery.img || exit 1
    flash_image recovery /cache/recovery.img  > /cache/flash_img.log
    rm /cache/recovery.img

You don't need clockwork 5x
apparently 2x crashes windows so either upgrade to a real OS or install RA-1.7 and keep a clean /sdcard (no scroll or dir navigation with in RA)
1.- 777 works for me, so no need to change to 700.
2.- Yes normally I remit myself to follow guides, my G1 is not exactly my main phone but I like to experiment, I have JTAG so no problem.
3.- yes, once flash_image performed the flash it just stayed there doing nothing, the command prompt only shown that I entered the command correctly but didn't did anything else.
4.- Just because you say that I don't need cloworkmod 5x doesn't mean that I will even listen to you, BTW, I run debian and windows 7, sorry, windows 7 still owns as my main os, you go and play whit whatever you understand for a "real os" I'll "play" (literally) with mine.
Go and flame anyone else please.


Current:
Rooted Xperia Z2 + PHA-2 + XBA-H3 + SBH-52 = Pure Audio Awesomeness.

Sold:
Xperia Ultra / RAZRi

Alarm Clock:
German G1 - InfinityRom
 
hrk
Old
#3275  
hrk's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1014
Posts: 1,059
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rome

 
DONATE TO ME
Scrip you can't win against stupidity, quit fighting it and leave people in their frying pan (for crying out loud).

My apps: "No-frills" CPU Control, Ghostly SMS, DCIM Helper & DCIM compliant Camera, Tile Map Editor

HTC Desire Z (Vision) [VISION PVT SHIP S-OFF][HBOOT-0.84.2000][RADIO-26.13.04.19_M]
Recovery: 4EXT TOUCH 1.0.0.5 RC3
ROM: CyanogenMod 7.2 -> Andromadus CM10.1-nightly

HTC Dream (G1) [DREAM PVT 32B SHIP S-ON][HBOOT-1.33.0013d][RADIO-2.22.28.25]
Recovery: RA-dream-v1.7.0-cyan
ROM: ADS_Magpie Gingerbread (2.3.7) based on ezGingerbread and Firerat's magpie

Motorola Defy (MB526 Red Lense): CyanogenMod 11-nightly by Quarx

Samsung Galaxy Mini (GT-S5570): CyanogenMod 10.1RC/nightly by AndroidArmV6 team

Samsung Nexus S (crespo): CyanogenMod 10.2.1
 
col300
Old
#3276  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 16
Join Date: Oct 2009
Hi,

Does anyone know where the caller blacklist is located in this rom?

cheers,
 
kilovar40
Old
#3277  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 25
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kelowna
Default Roaming Indicator

I am using an unlocked 32A Sapphire (originally Rogers) with the latest EzGingerbread on Virgin Mobile Canada.

The "roaming" indicator is permanently on even though the correct Virgin APN is selected and I have a Virgin SIM. Everything works correctly, except for the roaming indication. When I uncheck the "Allow Roaming" setting I lose all functionality.

When I previously experimented with other ROMS (stock Rogers ROM and with carz12's CM7) there was no sign of roaming.

Clearly the ROM thinks I am roaming, but I am not.

Any ideas why this might be?
 
demkantor
Old
#3278  
demkantor's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2672
Posts: 5,653
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: mpls
Did you change radios? I think once you move away from the 3x radios on a rogers phone data slows. Not 100% but that's a starting place

Sent from my HTC Vision using xda premium
 
tvall
Old
(Last edited by tvall; 15th May 2012 at 07:05 PM.)
#3279  
tvall's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 799
Posts: 2,184
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Springfield
Just bumping the thread so noobs can find this awesome rom easier..

Sent from my VM670 using Tapatalk 2
my work
optimus v:
iho magpie

dream/sapphire:
DREAMTeam Froyo, United ICS, and tvall's cm7

misc:
the first chromecast system image without bootloader updates or auto updating - obsolete

If you'd like to donate to me, i accept bitcoins and electronics
BTC - 1titsVyrUw8pGEDF6Jqdh56cZjBRYAQjQ
The Following User Says Thank You to tvall For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Infinimint
Old
#3280  
Infinimint's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 297
Posts: 652
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fredericksburg, VA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvall View Post
Just bumping the thread so noobs can find this awesome rom easier..

Sent from my VM670 using Tapatalk 2
Hahaha I was actually thinking about doing the same thing yesterday, along with the 2708 thread xD

Tags
android, gingerbread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes