Post Reply

Ubuntu on A101

23rd December 2010, 12:30 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Ive managed to run Ubuntu Netbook Remix on the A101 in SDE.
By run i mean i see GDM, because the driver for the touchscreen seems not to be working.
What ive did was, i took an image from here: http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-net...10.10/release/ and copied everything from the data partition to a new .img file. Also ive copied the modules from the angstrom rootfs.img.
Then just copied over my rootfs.img over the angstrom one and booted.

There seems to be lots of issues, mainly, i guess, because the init script in the initrd should do something, the one from angstrom doesnt.
Also the kernel-log says it cant read the /proc/ filesystem.

I uploaded my rootfs img to rapidshare for you to try for yourselfes, maybe someone can pick up from here and build a really working kernel+initramfs.

http://rapidshare.com/users/KVLF41
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to gomork For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th December 2010, 01:38 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
I know it's not working out of the box but it's still pretty cool! IBy netbook remix you mean the new Unity UI correct>
26th December 2010, 11:30 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Yes, but as i could not login,i havent seen if the windowmanager works correctly.
The Following User Says Thank You to gomork For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th December 2010, 06:46 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gomork

Ive managed to run Ubuntu Netbook Remix on the A101 in SDE.
By run i mean i see GDM, because the driver for the touchscreen seems not to be working.

Kudos! - You could just try to plug in a usb mouse/keyboard into the usb port - it's usb host (mouse and keyboard work in android)
27th December 2010, 07:03 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Norrköping
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
I'd love to see some more action with this. A mouse+keyboard should at elast get you access to the desktop and thus, terminal. From there, enabling the touch screen should be within arms reach.

To experiment for myself, could you write together a fool proof (noob proof) guide to get to where you're at?
27th December 2010, 08:15 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by casimir007

Kudos! - You could just try to plug in a usb mouse/keyboard into the usb port - it's usb host (mouse and keyboard work in android)

i tried that, but it did not work. But that might be because the only Device i have here to test is some wireless usb mouse, which might need some other drivers.

Im currently working on an image with the xserver-xorg-input-evtouch driver built-in. I hope that gets the touchscreen working in X11.

To get started:
Get some Ubuntu.
Install rootstock using: sudo apt-get install rootstock.
Run rootstock:
sudo rootstock --fqdn archos-ubuntu --login ubuntu --password ubuntu --keepimage --imagesize 2G --seed ubuntu-netbook

That one generates an .img file you can copy over your existing rootfs.img.
31st December 2010, 10:53 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
hi,

I'm very interested to get ubuntu working on archos 101

I've tried your instructions to build an image but it stops after:
...
Setting up software-center (3.0.4) ...
No protocol specified
/usr/lib/pymodules/python2.6/gtk-2.0/gtk/__init__.py:57: GtkWarning: could not open display
warnings.warn(str(e), _gtk.Warning)
WARNING:root:Failed to setup dbus (ignoring)
Setting up xul-ext-ubufox (0.9~rc2-0ubuntu5) ...
Setting up ubufox (0.9~rc2-0ubuntu5) ...
Processing triggers for python-central ...
Setting up xserver-xorg-core (2:1.9.0-0ubuntu7) ...
Setting up gamin (0.1.10-1ubuntu3) ...
Setting up firefox-branding (3.6.10+build1+nobinonly-0ubuntu3) ...
Setting up mono-2.0-gac (2.6.7-3ubuntu1) ...
Setting up mono-gac (2.6.7-3ubuntu1) ...
* Installing 3 assemblies from libappindicator0.1-cil into Mono

i had to ctrl+c, because i tas going no where for about an hour.
I guess it needs display ? ..but i don't know how to solve this
31st December 2010, 03:16 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Maybe you could try with an imagesize of 3G or another release like karmic.
31st December 2010, 04:46 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
i did, my first try was with 2Gb, but didn't finish because it went out of space
then I've tried with 3Gb and stoped as i wrote
31st December 2010, 09:17 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
I had that problem too once.. Just trying again might work rootstock seems to be a bit buggy.

A little update: usb-mice work, when the modules are copied in /lib/modules in the image, but only when no computer is connected on the mini-usb port, that was the problem in the first place.

Wlan driver extracted from stock archos android can be loaded too, but i didnt manage to get the firmware to load yet.

Ps: a happy new year to all of you.

Sent from my U20i using XDA App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes