5,593,793 Members 44,637 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[WP7DT] RemoteExecute

Tip us?
 
l3v5y
Old
(Last edited by l3v5y; 4th January 2011 at 04:40 PM.)
#1  
l3v5y's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 7,390
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bristol

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [WP7DT] RemoteExecute

Right, I've been digging around with the Windows Phone Developer Tools, and have been working on a few things.

The first tool I'm releasing is RemoteExecute, it lets you run any program that's already on the device, supplying a path and any parameters. (e.g. \Windows\RegionCPL.exe)

It's currently only connecting to the first WP7 device it finds (not emulators) but it could connect to any device/emulator if I bothered to code an interface for it.

There's very little error handling, because this has sort of been whipped up in a hurry...

Anyway, it may or may not need a developer unlocked device (I don't know, I've only got unlocked ones) and it doesn't let you deploy anything at all. And you might need the real WP7 Developer Tools, but I can't test that.

Source code may be available if anyone wants it, but I'll need to clean it up a little...

Enjoy, and Merry Christmas!

Update
Requires a developer unlocked device (Chevron should work for this purpose)
Attached Files
File Type: zip l3v5y.WP7DT.RemoteExecute.zip - [Click for QR Code] (39.3 KB, 622 views)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to l3v5y For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
l3v5y
Old
(Last edited by l3v5y; 25th December 2010 at 08:41 PM.)
#2  
l3v5y's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 7,390
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bristol

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Programs to launch...

This is a list of some of the EXEs and what they do (bear in mind there are over 100 in \Windows, I'm not going through all of them!)
\Windows\Settings3.exe - Settings app
\Windows\ShortMsg.exe - SMS
\Windows\WebSearch.exe - Bing
\Windows\WiFiUXSplash.exe - WiFi setings
\Windows\ZipView.exe - Open ZipViewer, with no browsing function, needs ZIP passed via command line
\Windows\OMHub.exe - Office hub

Like on WM6.X, Office apps are PPT.exe, PXL.exe and PWORD.exe, but they need to be launched with command line parameters to open files, as they no longer have a browser built in.

Things that don't work:
\Windows\AutoDataConfig.exe - "Additional information: This program is blocked by group policy. For more information, contact your system administrator."
The Following User Says Thank You to l3v5y For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
obelix
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 58
Join Date: Nov 2004
I like the idea of running apps from the desktop. Unfortunately when I run l3v5y.WP7DT.RemoteExecute.exe and provide a path like \windows\settings3.exe the app crashes:

Description
Faulting Application Path: C:\Native access\l3v5y.WP7DT.RemoteExecute\l3v5y.WP7DT.Remot eExecute.exe

Problem signature
Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: l3v5y.wp7dt.remoteexecute.exe
Problem Signature 02: 1.0.0.0
Problem Signature 03: 4d164edf
Problem Signature 04: l3v5y.WP7DT.SmartDevice.Connectivity
Problem Signature 05: 1.0.0.0
Problem Signature 06: 4d164e96
Problem Signature 07: 113
Problem Signature 08: 36
Problem Signature 09: TEEK34PJDMM4HDZEPFRMOBGOA4O3JUV0
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.4
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Have you seen crashes like this? I just have a Samsung connected, and the Zune software running.
 
ceesheim
Old
#4  
ceesheim's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 1858
Posts: 3,063
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Germany

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by obelix View Post
I like the idea of running apps from the desktop. Unfortunately when I run l3v5y.WP7DT.RemoteExecute.exe and provide a path like \windows\settings3.exe the app crashes:
for me it also crashes no mater what path I use it always crash .
I have a hd7.



the hottest geek girl in the world SassiBoB, SassyBoB, Sassy BoB, sassibob

Iron Fist !!!

XDA-Developers is all about Developers
 
l3v5y
Old
#5  
l3v5y's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 7,390
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bristol

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceesheim View Post
for me it also crashes no mater what path I use it always crash .
I have a hd7.
Quote:
Originally Posted by obelix View Post
I like the idea of running apps from the desktop. Unfortunately when I run l3v5y.WP7DT.RemoteExecute.exe and provide a path like \windows\settings3.exe the app crashes:

Code:
Description
Faulting Application Path:	C:\Native access\l3v5y.WP7DT.RemoteExecute\l3v5y.WP7DT.RemoteExecute.exe

Problem signature
Problem Event Name:	CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01:	l3v5y.wp7dt.remoteexecute.exe
Problem Signature 02:	1.0.0.0
Problem Signature 03:	4d164edf
Problem Signature 04:	l3v5y.WP7DT.SmartDevice.Connectivity
Problem Signature 05:	1.0.0.0
Problem Signature 06:	4d164e96
Problem Signature 07:	113
Problem Signature 08:	36
Problem Signature 09:	TEEK34PJDMM4HDZEPFRMOBGOA4O3JUV0
OS Version:	6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.4
Locale ID:	1033
Additional Information 1:	0a9e
Additional Information 2:	0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3:	0a9e
Additional Information 4:	0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Have you seen crashes like this? I just have a Samsung connected, and the Zune software running.
Can I check if either of you have the WP7 Developer Toolkit installed?
 
contable
Old
#6  
contable's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 885
Posts: 1,589
Join Date: Oct 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by l3v5y View Post
This is a list of some of the EXEs and what they do (bear in mind there are over 100 in \Windows, I'm not going through all of them!)
\Windows\Settings3.exe - Settings app
\Windows\ShortMsg.exe - SMS
\Windows\WebSearch.exe - Bing
\Windows\WiFiUXSplash.exe - WiFi setings
\Windows\ZipView.exe - Open ZipViewer, with no browsing function, needs ZIP passed via command line
\Windows\OMHub.exe - Office hub

Like on WM6.X, Office apps are PPT.exe, PXL.exe and PWORD.exe, but they need to be launched with command line parameters to open files, as they no longer have a browser built in.

Things that don't work:
\Windows\AutoDataConfig.exe - "Additional information: This program is blocked by group policy. For more information, contact your system administrator."
Does anybody know which .exe launches the Bluetooth settings ?

Since I left WM 6.5 Im really missing a Bluetooth and WiFi Toggle on my startscreen...


Thanks in advance


contable
 
obelix
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 58
Join Date: Nov 2004
By developer toolkit, do you mean the official Windows Phone Developer Tools? If so yes I have that installed but not any other kits.
 
Toddsa
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2007
I am curious how do you execute a process on the devic, are you connecting to a device side winsock server over USB and calling CreateProcess?
 
l3v5y
Old
#9  
l3v5y's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 7,390
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bristol

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddsa View Post
I am curious how do you execute a process on the devic, are you connecting to a device side winsock server over USB and calling CreateProcess?
I'm using the same libraries as Microsoft use for XAP installation and general communication with the phone (other than Zune media).

I'll post some code/explanations and things when I've got my desktop with me again.

Essentially, it's similar to this, but there are some significant changes between the VS2008+WM6.X model and the VS2010+WP7 one.
 
Toddsa
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2007
If the ability to create a process exists in the public API you may be able to copy a native application to the device and start it using that public API. You could then create an RPC mechanism in your application like RAPI as 6.x devices had. RAPI was just a Winsock client \ server application. I wonder if it is possible to create and deploy a Telnet and FTP server to the device using those public connectivity API.

RAPI is documented on MSDN but since I am under 8 posts I can not include a URL here.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

How to Hack An Android App (Don’t Try This at Home) – XDA Developer TV

Listen, don’t cheat in your games. So don’t … more

Windows Phone 8.1 Developer Preview Now Available!

About two weeks ago at the BUILD conference in San Francisco, Microsoft unveiled Windows … more

Prevent Unwanted Butt Dialing with Smart Pocket Guard

You may recall that back in August of last year, we took a look atAir SwiperbyXDA … more