Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more

Try Some Android Lollipop Applications on Your Device

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been officially announced and lucky users of Google Nexus 5 … more

AutoCon Manages Your Connections to Perserve Battery Life

As we’ve talked about in the past, battery life is still somewhat of a sore … more

How to Unlock and Root a Nexus Device – XDA TV

It is official–Google has released the Nexus 6 and the Nexus 9. The Nexus family … more
Post Reply

Rooting your Motorolla Droid running 2.2.1 write-up

OP Ben's

27th December 2010, 12:59 AM   |  #1  
Ben's's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Oregon
Thanks Meter: 56
 
295 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
The OTA 2.2.1 update made things complicated for Droid users who want to root and download non market apps. After several days, countless hours and trial and error, this is my little write up on how I rooted a Motorolla Droid running 2.2.1 Build # FRG83D.

z4root no longer works and neither does the ability to download non market apps with 2.2.1. This is the easiest way to do it although there are other longer processes to root your phone which may have not been used on a 2.2.1 Moto Droid. I did a factory reset before I started but that is optional, let's begin.

*** Disclaimer ***
Please make a Nandroid or backup before this just incase.

1. Go to Motorolla's site and downloaded the Motorola 4.8.0 Driver with MotoConnect here. This program automatically downloads the driver your computer needs. This is a MUST. Lots of websites’ and write-ups forget or are vague on this easy step and it makes for a headache. Once downloaded, click on “Update Drivers” and click start. (You can download the driver file and wait for your Hardware Manager to pop up and go that route or just take the easy way and do this)

2. Download the latest version of Superoneclick and follow its directions on how to install it, you can find it here.

3. Connect your phone with your PC via USB. Make sure that USB debugging is ON. I removed my SD card to be on the safe side but if you choose not to, make sure you do not mount the SD card.

4. Open the Superoneclick program after un-zipping it, in Administrator mode. Follow the directions, there is even a video on how to do it. After your phone is rooted, click on " Allow non market apps ". Superuser should now be installed on your phone in your app's list.

*** The newest version of Superoneclick install BusyBox along with Superuser. Open your app drawer and look for these two. If both are there, you are done! If not, continue to step #5. ***


5. Disconnect your phone from your computer and restart your phone. It's not needed but, it's best to start with a fresh restart.

6. Go into your market from your phone, download Busybox ( free app ) and run it. Once installed, make sure within the app it states that your phone is rooted and the latest version of Busybox is displayed.

7. Restart your phone, this step is a must.

Your phone now has root access. You can download non market apps as well. I use Titanium Backup to remove bloat and such but you can use your favorite file manager.

Why the OTA 2.2.1 made things disfunctional, I don't know but this is my little solution and hope it helps.
Last edited by Ben's; 6th February 2011 at 10:37 PM. Reason: miss spell
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Ben's For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2011, 10:31 PM   |  #2  
Ben's's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Oregon
Thanks Meter: 56
 
295 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
I am going to give this a nice healthy bump since I have seen a couple Root confusion threads. I will be more then happy to answer any questions.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ben's For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th February 2011, 11:04 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
THANKS
Thank you so much!!!!!!!
16th February 2011, 03:19 AM   |  #4  
skandranon314's Avatar
Senior Member
Portland, Oregon
Thanks Meter: 47
 
513 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Working on a Droid 1 for the first time. This is just the info I needed! Thank you sir!
16th February 2011, 07:30 PM   |  #5  
Ben's's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Oregon
Thanks Meter: 56
 
295 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Not a problem! I actually find that a stock ROMed, rooted and cleaned up Droid 1 is just as quick as the ROMs available to download if not quicker.
18th February 2011, 03:25 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Thanks!
Hi,
Wanted to say thanks! Your write up was concise, straightforward and easy to understand... The app worked just like it said it would and rooted my Droid (the original) 2.2.1 FRG83D like a charm!

The Tutorial was a god send as that clarified what to expect and how to react if something went "brown & lumpy".

Thanks and now off to make a backup before learning the other fun stuff!
19th February 2011, 05:58 AM   |  #7  
indie1138's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Tried this, downloaded the driver PC sees the phone, check
DL and run superone click, Check
no busybox, download and install, says rooted, check

here's the problem, can't get into recovery can't do a nand before or after rooting. seems recovery can't see the sdcrad.

Quote:

I tried to root my Droid 1 (2.2.1 FR83d) with super one click. Everything seemed to work. I got super user access, TI backup runs (mostly)

From Rom manager I installed Clockwork it said everything work but no recovery mode access (yellow triangle) After reading up here it was suggested to flash SPrecovery and then back to clockwork so I did that bot SP and clock work appeared to run fine but still no recovery mode.

Setcpu seems to be working superuser is working but I cannot make a backup of the phone (nand, ROM manager recovery both fail) TI can't uninstall factory apps, and dose not make a complete backup just apps and restores dose not do a complete restore.

It seems I have half a rooted phone. Any ideas on how to fix this?

19th February 2011, 09:55 AM   |  #8  
A2Aegis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Just rooted my OG Droid. Thanks for the guide!

Edit: Just noticed that BusyBox didn't install with SuperOneClick, and that it is failing to install with the BusyBox installer app.

Edit: Okay, BusyBox installed. Backup created, ready for some ROMs!
Last edited by A2Aegis; 19th February 2011 at 12:44 PM.
20th February 2011, 02:32 AM   |  #9  
Ben's's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Oregon
Thanks Meter: 56
 
295 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by A2Aegis

Just rooted my OG Droid. Thanks for the guide!

Edit: Just noticed that BusyBox didn't install with SuperOneClick, and that it is failing to install with the BusyBox installer app.

Edit: Okay, BusyBox installed. Backup created, ready for some ROMs!

The new version of superoneclick should install busy box if not get busybox from the market.

How did you get busy box to finally install? What solved the problem?


Sent from my DROIDX using XDA App
Last edited by Ben's; 20th February 2011 at 02:34 AM.
20th February 2011, 03:37 AM   |  #10  
A2Aegis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben's

The new version of superoneclick should install busy box if not get busybox from the market.

How did you get busy box to finally install? What solved the problem?


Sent from my DROIDX using XDA App

For some reason my SU settings didn't pop up, and that caused the install to fail. The 2nd time around, it asked me for permission and it worked.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes